We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”
Review of Bluebird Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bluebird Inn
Ranked #7 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
La Grange, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The Bluebird is an older motel that has been updated and well maintained. The staff was quite pleasant from the opening booking on the phone through check in and check out. Located in the town, the motel has restaurants and shops within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atticus10S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    155
    56
    12
    7
See reviews for
65
170
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here a few times before and it remains an excellent place to stay while in Cambria. All the staff are friendly and helpful. Room is clean and comfortable. We have only stayed in the garden view rooms because the other rooms in the side buildings are already booked when we decide to make the trip. Do love the fireplace, balcony and large room.

The location is great, you can walk to several very good places to eat and the shops in the east part of town.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Yellow Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
465 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 450 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed in room 29 which was at the end of our building on the second floor. Check-in was pleasant and all the people we dealt with at the Inn were very personable and helpful. Room 29 is fairly small, however the inn has rooms of varying sizes including rooms with balconies overlooking a creek (currently dry) and beautiful gardens. Although we did not see bluebirds, hummingbirds were abundant in the gardens and it was a delight to sit on one of the many benches watch them as they moved around among the flowers.

Our room was quiet, clean and the bed was comfortable. The shower was a newer, good-sized enclosure. We felt the water pressure was poor, but perhaps it was a low flow head (think water conservation) rather than the pressure. On the plus side, the water temperature, once set, didn't fluctuate. The room heater may not have had a working thermostat or any thermostat at all as the temperature would continue to rise until we manually shut it down.

The Inn was within walking distance of a number of restaurants. The front desk provided a big three-ring binder of area restaurant menus to to help us decide where eat. Breakfast at the Bluebird is coffee and homemade coffee cake.

If we were to return to the area we would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Wonderful hotel close to downtown, beautiful creekside location, great and inviting staff. Clean, great quality. Highly recommend! My son said "I've never seen a hotel of such high quality!". Great little town. Try the ollallieberry pie!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDCFischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

My friend and I spent 1 night here on route from San Francisco to Los Angeles. We had booked a tour of Hearst Castle which is very close to Cambria. The little town is split into east and west village and the bluebird is at the eastern end. We stayed in October and the town was decorated with scarecrows - great community atmosphere.
The Bluebird Inn was exactly what we wanted. Central, reasonable price and free parking outside your door. The room was spacious and clean and definitely value for money. There wasn't any breakfast as such - just cake and coffee but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.
We ate in the Sow's Ear, which is down to the right when you come out of the motel, and the food was lovely. We sampled a few of the bars as well and really enjoyed our stay in Cambria.
We also went to see Nit Wit Ridge - which is a house made out of junk... worth going to have a look! The motel gave us directions and it's just a short drive.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug99ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Nice motel downtown Cambria CA. Very close to a couple of hiking trails that take you very nice views of the ocean. Our room overlooked a very nice garden and had a fireplace, very romantic. No breakfast included but coffee and cake instead

Room Tip: take the room with the fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Travelling from SF to LA, this is about half way. We found the concierge friendly, the rooms were clean and comfortable. Probably best sumarised as economical, no fridge in our room so if we were staying longer may have been an issue however if you are over nighting then there is no problem with this place. Plenty of restaurants down the road as well. Couple of minute walk.

Room Tip: Try and get one off the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
2.1 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.4 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,789 reviews
2.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#7 of 12 in Cambria
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cambria Palms Motel
Cambria Palms Motel
#12 of 12 in Cambria
265 reviews
1.2 mi away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
1.8 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebird Inn

Property: Bluebird Inn
Address: 1880 Main St, Cambria, CA 93428-3010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bluebird Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Owned ~ Quiet comfortable rooms in a unique garden-creekside setting with charming country decor; this is what we are. Our unique property has a variety of rooms ranging from our original cozy rooms to our new creekside/fireplace rooms and suites. Old fashioned hospitality and charming atmosphere in the heart of Cambria. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bluebird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebird Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing