We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It must depend on the room”
Review of Creekside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Creekside Inn
Ranked #19 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“It must depend on the room”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We booked two rooms, one for us and a double queen for the kids. The double queen room, number 4 was fine and good value. Our room next door, number 3 smelled horribly of damp. We asked if we could be moved and were offered room number 1. This smelled of damp masked by air freshener.

But overall the rooms are worn out, plumbing erratic...it took ages for cold water to come through, walls are thin.

I know this is meant to be budget but it is not THAT cheap. They need to up their game.

On the positive side it was clean and walking distance from the shops and restaurants of Cambria

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 1 to 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mackem193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    127
    54
    27
    18
See reviews for
61
176
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LAS VEGAS, NV
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two nights during a visit to the coast. Accommodations are not deluxe but they do the trick. Within walking distance to shops, bars, and food. We enjoyed our view of the creek in the back. As noted by others, be aware that there are stairs to half of the rooms and it is definitely a non-smoking property. Overall, a decent value for Cambria.

Room Tip: make sure you ask ahead for the lower level if you don't want to deal with luggage up the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUPERCOLOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Used to go here every year for the last 7 years. New owners are very nice but every year something new changes. Now they went down from 7 pet friendly rooms to only 4. Had reservations but was placed in the worst room possible. If you are a smoker you might as well quit as you no longer can smoke outside your room. They even put up signs that a $250 fine will be incurred. Not the friendly atmosphere that Cambria is known for. No mini fridge or microwave is available anymore. So bottom line, if you need a room to sleep its okay. If you plan to use it as a vacation base forget it. You can have the same amenities in your car! Will no longer stay there in the future. Such a shame. Used to be a perfect place for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

This inn is so pleasing to the eye with the yellow paint and ivy on the exterior. It's about a 10 minute walk into the main part of town but we had a car so we drove to dinner and it took no time. The room was comfortable for two people and the bed was very soft. Continental breakfast was really only pastries and fruit but it was better than nothing. We had a really pleasant stay here and would recommend it to anyone visiting Cambria.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jadeeladeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehachapi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We lugged a heavy suitcase upstairs along with the rest of our stuff, opened the door and discovered the room had not been cleaned since the last occupant had stayed & the office was closed. We called the emergency number and a nice gentleman promptly came and took us to another room. After he left I discovered the bathtub had not been cleaned as it had various types of hair in it, yes, you get my picture.... I had to clean it myself as there is no one on the premises after 9 PM. The beds were hard and uncomfortable so we tosed and turned all night. They are obviously the cheapest beds they could find. Both my husband and I woke up with back aches. When I went to the front desk in the morning for check out, the owner appologized for the dirty room we were orignally assigned to. I told her about the dirty bath tub in the next room we were given, that I had to clean it, and the fact that the beds were hard and terribly uncomfortable. She offered no appology for these two things. I really felt some discount should have been given in light of all of the inconvenience and the uncomfortable stay, but nothing was offered. Also, the carpet needed cleaning and conversations can be heard through the paper thin walls. WE WILL NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Evie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Cresenta, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We find this to be a fine place to stay in Cambria. This is our "in town" place, and is a short walk to the East Village area. Lots of shops, & great food all right there. We like the couple that runs it, they go out of their way to help. The whole place has been upgraded since they took over, and it is for the best. We like the upstairs on the creekside (#18) of the building, but we go to see the coast and spend money, so staying at the more expensive places along the beach is a waste, since were spend so little time in the hotel. Not fancy, but priced right and comfortable enough.

Room Tip: Any of the balcony rooms on the "creekside"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Cambria is a charming small town just far enough from the ocean that it is usually clear from the marine fog so you can enjoy wandering among the restaurants, shops and lovely gardens. The Creekside Inn is right in town so you can leave your car and walk around the village. There is a second newer village about a mile away so you might want to have the car for visiting there. The gardens around the Inn are so beautiful that you just don't want to drive past and find another hotel. The owner was so friendly and welcoming too so it is altogether a lovely spot to stay. The room was perfectly clean and well equipped and I spent a comfortable night on my way north along the Pacific Coast Highway. I will definitely be back in the Fall when I head south to the Baja again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n0madartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.0 mi away
Cambria Palms Motel
Cambria Palms Motel
#12 of 12 in Cambria
265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,831 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#7 of 12 in Cambria
261 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
799 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bluebird Inn
Bluebird Inn
#7 of 24 in Cambria
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creekside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creekside Inn

Property: Creekside Inn
Address: 2618 Main St, Cambria, CA 93428-3410
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Creekside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Creekside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creekside Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing