We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hosteling for the adventurous, Cambria's best kept secret!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bridge Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cambria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bridge Street Inn
Ranked #11 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hosteling for the adventurous, Cambria's best kept secret!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Bridge Street Inn is a model for what the hosteling experience should be. The moment I walked in I didn't feel like I had a place to stay, I felt like I was being welcomed into a home. Great location, super cool owners and staff. Super cute on the outside and in. Considering bringing a short extension chord in case you sleep on the top bunk. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    18
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
25
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

cambria is a very beautiful town and the bridge inn is a wonderful Inn to sleep and meet good friends, the stuff are very nice. the breakfast is yummy. If I back in california I stay to sleep a next time

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mancini T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

This is a very satisfactory hostel set in a large old house that has been converted. I stayed in a dorm and was the only person in the dorm. Plenty of blankets and sheets to stay warm and comfortable enough.

WIFI is good, kitchen is serviceable (very good, healthy breakfast included) and the shower had plenty of hot water.

Cambria is pretty small, an easy 5 minute walk to the restaurants and shops of town. This is a low key town and hostel, not a place for partying.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank kilometres9345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

The exterior of this place has a cottage-like charm to it with its white picket fence, shutters and floral garden. It’s super cute. You almost expect Mary Poppins to come prancing to the front door offering you a spot of tea.

Instead, what awaits you when you walk through the door is a cold front and an indifferent "whatever" attitude. I was totally enamored when I pulled into town - Cambria is adorable - and to be honest, the staff was a bit of a killjoy for the short time I spent there. Not quite what I expected while roadtripping up the central coast and being charmed by this seaside village.

They do offer a simple breakfast and the beds are ok. Parking is aplenty and the price is probably the best you'll find in town.

The highlight of this place might be the lidsink toilets. I don't know why, but I find lidsinks fascinating.

Anyway, the place is fine, I just would've appreciated a warmer human experience as I've had in other hostels around the world.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingThy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
423 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

I have limited experience in europe, but the decor here strikes me as european style guest house here definitely out of the norm from other hostels I've stayed in. There common area has overstuffed couches, bookcases, and all sorts of bric-a-brac. I don't know if they have changed their rules, but you had to be out and about in the daytime and could not return during daylight hours. I got a kick out of the flush toilets where they have the plumbing that recycles the new water to allow washing your hands starting to see more of those in san francisco now.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoben01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Totally the sort of people I'd love to have at home. Banksy books on the coffee table, Adbusters, Malcolm Gladwell, oatmeal with apples and raisins, organic garden. Yet capable of running a business really dang professionally. Met someone staying there who hails from my hometown, too. Lovely.

Reminder to the owners of the place: send me pictures of me with my bikeeee

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Justin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

My best friend and i were in town for the day....we had decided to stay the night and found this little gem!!! they had one room left and we took it. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. I will definately look into staying at hostels more often!! :)

Room Tip: We chose "room 3"... on the back side of the kitchen. It had its own bathroom and private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSmitty09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.5 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,464 reviews
1.9 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambria Palms Motel
Cambria Palms Motel
#12 of 12 in Cambria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.1 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
2.4 mi away
White Water Inn
White Water Inn
#1 of 24 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge Street Inn

Property: Bridge Street Inn
Address: 4314 Bridge St, Cambria, CA 93428-2104
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bridge Street Inn is a cozy European-style guest house located in the historic East Village of Cambria. The Bridge Street Inn is a homey creative space alternative to busy dorm style youth hostels, plain-box motels and expensive B&Bs. We look forward to welcoming you soon! Cambria is a quintessential California beach town and artist enclave that offers up a variety of meaningful and inspiring activities for the artist, musician, foodie, nature lover, hiker, surfer, and bicycle rider - bicycle friendly community, hiking/jogging trails, live music, restaurants & galleries to sample, and coastlines to explore, there is something for everyone.The Inn is located one mile from beautiful Moonstone Beach, and only four hours from San Francisco and Los Angeles. We are the perfect midway point along the sprawling Pacific Coast Highway!Our guests come from around the world so you're sure to meet a plethora of creative, adventurous, and talented people. Take a deep breath, enjoy our relaxed atmosphere and spectacular scenery, and maybe opt to stay with us an extra day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing