We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, charming guesthouse, friendly hosts”
Review of Bridge Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cambria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bridge Street Inn
Ranked #11 of 23 Cambria B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 October 2005

We'd not seen any review of this place on Tripadvisor, but the Inn's own website made it sound very different from the larger, more anonymous hotels we were going to be staying in. Also, it was very good value, and we wanted to try somewhere where there was more chance to meet hosts and other guests (the rooms are not en-suite, you make your own breakfast in a communal kitchen, and you share the living area with the hosts). We booked 2 months ahead, as it was a weekend. It was a good experience - the hosts are friendly (and tell you things about Hearst that you don't hear on the official tour !); it was interesting to chat with the guests who were visiting from Japan; there was never a problem with waiting for bathrooms or kitchen equipment ('though the place was only half full); it's very quiet, but very close to several excellent restaurants and cafe's, and only 10/15 minutes drive to Hearst Castle. Some of the less-used surfaces and corners of our room were a bit dusty - but, with such good value and the Inn's many other good points, this wasn't a problem. Shared living area & kitchen are locked during day, but you have a key that lets you in to get to your room and the restroom. Not a place for those that want luxury and lots of their own private space; very good for everyone else.

4  Thank cadgwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 89 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
510
Reviewed 13 September 2004

Great place to unwind and relax. Excellent staff &
very tasty breakfast.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2003

Really friendly B&B run by professional hippies. Spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The communal kitchen and living room offers a great chance to meet people and it's right in Cambria so you can walk to the shops and restaurants.

5  Thank britsabroadSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Somerville, MA
110
Reviewed 12 April 2003

I went for "inexpensive" over "luxury" and I'm glad I did. This comfortable and charming inn/hostel was a great find.The rooms are sunny and bright, the staff are friendly and helpful, and the price can not be beat! The inn is located on a VERY quiet side street, a block from a cute main street area with antique shops, art galleries, restaurants, a grocery store, a pharmacy or two, a bicycle shop that advertised bike rentals, and other small businesses. The innkeeper recommended me to Robin's for dinner, which was expensive (well, by my standards) but SO worth it.You're not at the coast, here, so if you are looking for the sound of waves, this isn't the place. You're not far away, though, and the shore at Cambria was one of the most beautiful sights along the coastal highway.And this is a hostel, so if you want a king size featherbed, a private whirlpool bathtub, and a full breakfast (that you didn't cook yourself), this isn't the place for you either... but if you would rather save yourself $100 or so a night (maybe you could buy *three* meals a day that you didn't cook yourself!) this is a great choice.

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rafael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank Cecile316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laurent-pub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
1.9 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
894 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,836 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
594 reviews
1.9 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,146 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge Street Inn

Address: 4314 Bridge St, Cambria, CA 93428-2104
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range: £21 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bridge Street Inn is a cozy European-style guest house located in the historic East Village of Cambria. The Bridge Street Inn is a homey creative space alternative to busy dorm style youth hostels, plain-box motels and expensive B&Bs. We look forward to welcoming you soon! Cambria is a quintessential California beach town and artist enclave that offers up a variety of meaningful and inspiring activities for the artist, musician, foodie, nature lover, hiker, surfer, and bicycle rider - bicycle friendly community, hiking/jogging trails, live music, restaurants & galleries to sample, and coastlines to explore, there is something for everyone.The Inn is located one mile from beautiful Moonstone Beach, and only four hours from San Francisco and Los Angeles. We are the perfect midway point along the sprawling Pacific Coast Highway!Our guests come from around the world so you're sure to meet a plethora of creative, adventurous, and talented people. Take a deep breath, enjoy our relaxed atmosphere and spectacular scenery, and maybe opt to stay with us an extra day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing