We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hate to say anything good but have to”
other traveller has booked this property
Welcome to the Big Red House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the Big Red House
Our back yard Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Welcome to the Big Red House
Our back yard
Master Bedroom
Second Bedroom - 1 Twin, 1 Queen
Master bathroom
Comfortable seating
Living room fireplace
DVD Library
Kitchen
Living Room
Television and wet bar
Sofa Bed
Dining room
Deck view
Typical Sunset
The Big Red House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

ma6124
Elk Grove, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hate to say anything good but have to”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
5
people found this review helpful

I really don't want to say good things about our visit because then everybody will know how wonderful the Big Red House is. My wife and I stayed at the Big Red House for 5 days. We both wanted to stay much longer. This property is fantastic!!!!! Elaine is a wonderful lady. She lives next door but you would never know she was there. She had left the house open when we arrived with a nice note and the keys to the house. My wife and I unpacked and then walked the two blocks to the ocean and strolled around. When we came back we popped a bottle of wine and sat out on the deck. Elaine came over and introduced herself. She is such a classy lady. She had all kinds of info on things to do around there and good places to eat. We only saw her 2 other times during our visit. One to give her some fish fillets from a fishing trip to Virg's Landing in Morro bay which I highly recommend and the second when we invited her and her son over for dinner. After talking to them it was obvious that we have much more to see on our next trip. My wife and I are both pretty good cooks. We found the kitchen very well stocked and the patio and BBQ are wonderful. The back yard is an oasis. You almost feel like you are in the forest back there. On several occasions we had turkeys and deer in the back patio area. The hedge out front always had a dozen monarch butterflies flying around it. My wife and I got in at least 8 miles a day just walking the beach, board walk, and treasure hunting down town. you want movies and music look at the pictures of the TV room. That is only 1/2 of them, there is another row behind what you see. I could go no and on about how wonderful Elaine and the Big Red House is. We have stayed at maybe a dozen rental places over the years. The Big Red House ranks number one in our book. We are definitely going back. There is so much to do while be very relaxing at the same time. Next time we are going to take some wine down to the beach, throw out a blanket and watch the sunset. Thanks Elaine for all the wonderful memories. See you soon Mark and Linda.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!!!! :)
Liked least: Leaving :(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ktbee7
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Good Find”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Loved the ocean view and the location! Owner was very nice and helpful (located right next door). We were able to bring our dogs - who had a great time in the dog friendly town. Located in a quiet neighborhood a quick drive to downtown, restaurants, the beach and some local attractions (Centrally Grown). Some of the house amenities were a little dated but the location and the views made up for it.

Definitely would return!

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ocean views and back patio
Liked least: Some house amenities were a little dated
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstande...
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“The Big Red House in Cambria perfect for a visit on the Central Coast.”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The house is well located on a hill with a view of the Pacific. The kitchen is well stocked and the real bonus is there is a movie DVD library that is unbelievable. Cambria's location allows you to visit their quaint town, but also a quick drive to Paso Robles and wine country.
The home is warm and inviting and quite comfortable for couples and small families. Elaine was very helpful and you would have to be blindfolded to not find the house easily.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view.
Liked least: The kitchen was a bit dated, but with all the great restaurants we used it very little.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barb3636
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“PERFECT AGAIN!!!”
Reviewed 26 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This was our second stay at The Big Red House - it was even more enjoyable this time as we were joined by cousins from Minneapolis. They had never been in the area before, and so loved Hearst Castle and Rugged Point. We love Cambria itself, the Elephant Seals, and Morro Bay. The House is completely wonderful, as is Elaine!

Date of stay: September 2014
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rohbogen
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Better than being at Home!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014
5
people found this review helpful

When we first visited this lovely property, we did not expect such an exceptionally maintained and perfectly located residence. Positioned at the end of a cul de sac, it is two minutes from the coast and four minutes from town. The house is beautifully appointed, squeaky clean, with a huge comfortable bed with well-furnished bathroom necessities and a complete kitchen at your disposal. There are flatscreen TV’s everywhere, a huge living room, great privacy, a charming well-manicured backyard with a porch and occasional deers, a view of the coast and private parking. Your hostess, Elaine, makes you feel like royalty and is the perfect “lady of the house.” If you can’t stay over night at the Hearst castle, then we recommend you stay here, because it’s better than being at home!

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Amenities
Liked least: We had to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmabarnes
Lincoln, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend get away”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Six ladies, long time friends, on a 3 day weekend to get away from work, kids, husbands ready to reconnect, tell stories, laugh and hang out. The Big Red House was absolutely perfect for us. We sat on the deck to watch the sun set and enjoy a glass of wine, we sat on the deck to drink a cup of coffee and plan the day, we sat on the back deck area to just talk and laugh. The house is comfortably furnished, the kitchen well stocked, the towels amazing. We were a short walk to the beach, a short drive into Cambria for shopping and a short drive to see Elephant Seals and visit Hearst Castle. Elaine is a wonderful hostess, helpful. accommodating and not the least intrusive. The house was more than we expected, for once it lived up to the reviews and photos. We will be back, either as a group or with our own families.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda0032...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic house with loads of room and great views”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 for a stay in January 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Our family of 5 stayed at The Big Red House in January 2013 as we wanted to visit Hearst Castle nearby. The house was one of the best holiday rentals we’ve ever stayed in. The house itself is so spacious, the kitchen extremely well-equipped, and being January, the house was lovely and warm. It was also unbelievably clean! The proximity to Hearst Castle and the seal colony was brilliant, and it was so nice to come home to a cosy home at the end of a day’s sightseeing instead of a run-of-the-mill hotel/motel room. The kids loved the huge array of DVDs on offer. The views from the balconies of the ocean were beautiful, and it was so wonderfully quiet.
I note someone has said they felt it wasn’t very private with Elaine next door – we never felt that at all. Elaine’s house is next door, but at no time did we ever feel our privacy was compromised – Elaine couldn’t do enough for us, but absolutely kept her distance.
I would highly recommend anyone staying here – it really is a fantastic place to re-charge your batteries in readiness for more sightseeing!
The Davidson Family, Sydney, Australia

Date of stay: January 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed in the main bedroom - most comfortable I've ever slept in
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.