We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best on Moonstone Drive”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sand Pebbles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sand Pebbles Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“One of the best on Moonstone Drive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Great little Inn, we have stayed in several places on Moonstone Drive and this has turned into one of our favourites.
It is well appointed, the beds are comfortable and the rooms and bathrooms are very clean and well maintained. Some of the rooms have a full sea view and some a partial, the one we stayed in recently said it had no sea view but in fact you could catch a glimpse of the ocean. Tea and coffee are freely available, the breakfast is well thought out with sufficient choice, and available until 10am unlike some other places that want you to eat by nine or even earlier. We have never had a problem with noise in any of the rooms we have stayed in and although this time we were very close to reception this was not a problem. Not the cheapest place we have stayed in but hen you generally get what you pay for and it is certainly not the most expensive either.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HillWalkerCanterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of your stay with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. We made an extra effort to have the most comfortable beds and the top of the line products. We find it is the small details that add up to a wonderful experience. We look forward to your next visit to Cambria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    200
    30
    11
    6
See reviews for
192
451
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed here for one night en route to San Francisco. There were three of us (2 Adults one Child) in a double queen room which had a partial sea view. The room was really nicely decorated as it seemed the rooms had been re decorated this past few months. Everything we needed was provided. The room was nice and quiet also. Would definitely return! Try to get a room with a sea view even if partial, you can hear the sea!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasbenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your review. Yes, we have definitely done some refurbishing recently. We are so pleased you had such a lovely experience. Our location assures that you will likely hear the ocean from all rooms. It is a delightful sound to sleep by. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Such a great place and really good breakfast! Can't wait to return! We stayed on the room with the the view of the ocean. The room was very clean. I was amazed with the complimentary breakfast. The pastries I had were probably the best I have ever had in my life.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank taylornrolyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Well, they do say breakfast is important so we decided to do a little something extra for our guests at Sand Pebbles Inn. We are pleased that you had such a memorable experience and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We recently stayed 2 nights in the upstairs king room with full ocean view (room 218) to celebrate our anniversary. The view from our room was incredible, and the sound of the waves was so soothing. The room was very spacious, nicely decorated, and very clean. The bed was very comfortable, and there were lots of nice touches in the room and lobby. We plan on reserving the same room for next year's anniversary!

And, don't miss having dinner at Robin's Restaurant in Cambria, or walking along the scenic boardwalk seaside trail that runs the length of Moonstone Beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank will_diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for noticing the extra touches provided. We strive to go beyond what you'd expect from a hotel to provide excellence and a wonderful guest experience. Sounds like it worked! Cambria is a wonderful town and there is so much to discover, we look forward to sharing more fun things with you on your return visit.Be sure to let us know if it is an anniversary or special occasion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

What a lovely find! The Sand Pebbles is a little jewel on an inn. Tastefully decorated, immaculately clean, wonderfully quiet, beds extremely comfortable, every detail thoughtfully attended to, friendly and helpful staff, yummy breakfast. Took my mother as a treat for her birthday. We couldn't have been more pleased! We have stayed in many an inn, and we can't think of a single thing that needs attention. Thank you for a wonderful two days. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are beautiful. If you can afford one, these are the ones to be in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VMykles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for this jewel of a review. We are happy to see you experienced Sand Pebbles Inn as we hope everyone does. We strive to seek out the details that really matter and to provide everything a guest might need. Our staff is caring and this makes us all very happy to hear! We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We love going to Moonstone Beach. The view is Spectacular. Last year we stayed at a place a few doors down the street from the Sand Pebbles Inn, and albeit a nice place, Sand Pebbles beat it by Miles. The VIEW, the VIEW, did I say the VIEW was spectacular. We had the oceanfront room, downstairs, #117. My husband was shocked when he opened the shutters. He said "honey I know you said it was going to be oceanfront, but Not this much of an oceanfront." The View, Comfy Bed, Pillow, jacuzzi tub, flat screen tv, binochulars for watching the whales go by, patio table & chairs, cookies on the room table the first night with dark chocolates on the nightstand. The second night the cookies were packaged so sweetly in cellophane and hanging on our doorknob. Breakfast room was very convenient to our room and you have to have the waffles with fresh berries. If you want to go to the registration desk, the breakfast room, ice, anything, you did not have to walk outside. It was all there!. Did I tell you about the View??

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ACALIFNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen F, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay in Cambria.
I hope you return soon!

Sincerely,
Karen Fyfe
General Manager
Sand Pebbles Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights at the end of February and the weather happened to be rainy and stormy which made for a spectacular view of the high surf from our ocean view room! This property is immaculate from the parking lot/surrounding grounds to the building itself. I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the room and we really liked the decor, classic, contemporary and attractive. The hotel staff was also impeccable. Friendly and helpful, they treated us like VIPs all the way. The complimentary breakfast was good but the made to order waffles took it to great! We really enjoyed our stay here and will definitely stay here again (or at another one of their properties) if our travels lead us back to Cambria.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank californiapug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen F, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Sand Pebbles Inn. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Karen Fyfe
General Manager
Sand Pebbles Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.1 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Pebbles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Pebbles Inn

Property: Sand Pebbles Inn
Address: 6252 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cambria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sand Pebbles Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated atop Moonstone Beach, the rooms and accommodations at Sand Pebbles Inn are perfectly appointed for all types of travelers. Our location is situated right off famed California Highway One, and convenient for people traveling up or down this magnificent coastline. Families or friends will find our mid-scale boutique property wonderfully convenient to everything Cambria and the Central Coast has to offer, including world famous Hearst Castle, just ten minutes to the north. Our staff will happily share local knowledge to help you discover the lesser-known Cambria attractions. Our full oceanview rooms provide the most extensive views of the Pacific Ocean and Moonstone Beach. Most rooms have partial ocean views and are only steps from the two-mile boardwalk overlooking the beach, tide pools, and daring surfers. The property is tastefully appointed with coastal influences and treasures found on the beach. Settle into our pillowy soft beds and enjoy a movie from our collection of free titles. Laugh with your family as you play a game of Monopoly from our selection of board games. No matter what your reasons are for visiting Cambria, Sand Pebbles Inn will surely add to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sand Pebbles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Pebbles Hotel Cambria
Sand Pebbles Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing