We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sand Pebbles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sand Pebbles Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quaint place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very quite hotel, beautifully decorated rooms,you can take DVD to your room for seeing.
Just across the road from the beach and the view....
Worth it, we didn't see a.c. In the room, ceiling fans working fine

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yaron40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your great review of Sand Pebbles Inn. You must have been here on one of the rare days that is hot enough to think about air conditioning. Generally, the temps in Cambria average around 60s-70s so not much need for it...that ocean breeze usually keeps it pretty perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    200
    30
    11
    6
See reviews for
192
450
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

The staff were extremely friendly when we arrived and were very helpful.

They even have DVD's available for guest and boardgames at the reception area.

Breakfast was AWESOME. Loved the Waffles.

There's even a little fireplace in the rooms although May is not exactly the time where you will need one.

Magnificent view just across the road.

Overall great experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buchtal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. You might be surprised by the times in May and June when you might appreciate that fireplace! The coast has a way of cooling down at the most unusual times. We are pleased you had such a good experience. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

My husband and I spent our wedding anniversary here during a 2 week vacation in California. We rated Sand Pebbles as our favourite hotel of the many we stayed at. The room was lovely and the bed extremely comfortable The sound of the waves lulled us to sleep. The breakfast was very good and I was amused to see several husbands with trays, bringing breakfast to their wives in bed. The view was great. We also took other Trip advisors suggestions and ate at the Sea Chest for dinner. After a long drive it was nice to walk there and enjoy a glass of wine while waiting for out table. On our walk back to Sand Pebbles we watched a beautiful sunset.
I had booked the internet special rate, back in Jan. I noticed a while later that it had dropped in price. I called Sand Pebbles and was told no problem, they would honor the cheaper rate. I was very impressed with their customer service.

Room Tip: We booked the least expensive room. We did not have an ocean view, but we prefer to be outside for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandmabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful review and for celebrating your anniversary with us. It sounds like you had a quintessential Cambria experience and we too are always a bit amused by the breakfast in bed deliveries! The sunsets here are a must-see and sleeping to the sound of the ocean waves is a soothing experience that is hard to describe. And of course, we always love it when our staff is exceptional. Hope to see you again on your return visit to California.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are clean and very pretty. Even staying towards the back (Rm. 204) you can see the Ocean. Nice touches are window cleaning spray and towels and rags for your car. There are lots of choices for breakfast and a Staff member makes your waffles. The Waffle batter they used was the best tasting I've had. Another nice touch is the Peanut Butter Cookies in your room each night. They also supply beach chairs and beach towels! Nice experience for my Mother's Day weekend.

Room Tip: No pool or fitness center, but who needs it when the Ocean is outside your door and a great walk to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
We are so glad you experienced a wonderful time on your Mother's Day getaway. We thank you for writing such a lovely review and we appreciate you sharing that here. Few properties in Cambria have pools, but we do have Castle Inn, which is our budget-friendly option and it does have a pool. We consider the many nature walks and hiking trails to be our "gym".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We recently stayed at the Sand Pebbles Inn prior to a visit to Hearst Castle. We had a room with a patio right at the front overlooking the ocean and this was well worth the extra expense. The location of the hotel is very good and staff were also excellent. The rooms are a bit dated, mainly the bathrooms but regardless it was a very pleasant stay.

We had dinner in the evening at Madeline's which I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room at the front with patio overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Broughton9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We want to thank you for your recent review. We always love hearing that our staff was excellent as great customer service very important to us. We are pleased you enjoyed the location, and the view is pretty incredible from Moonstone Beach! You can watch whales and dolphins migrating from the deck and nothing beats a sunset stroll along the boardwalk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We were allowed to check in early on request, at 1pm rather than 3pm, as our room was ready - which we were really happy about as were tired after our 5am start. All the staff we spoke to were very friendly, pleasant and helpful and our room was gorgeous! Very clean, HUGE and very nicely furnished. The bathroom was enormous with a large shower and sink area, plus a jacuzzi tub - just big enough for 2! We did pay nearly $300 for 1 night though - which is a LOT for us! But was a gorgeous treat with the super king sized bed, our private mini patio (admittedly with view across road to beach, but road is so quiet it did not disturb us and views were great :-)) There was also a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker in our room, free cookies on arrival and free newspapers the following morning.

The only disappointment was that the Wifi was not very good in our room, and we always struggled to connect and lost connection frequently which was frustrating. We had an amazing breakfast of waffles!:-) With syrups, strawberries, blueberries and chocolate to choose from as toppings. Plus cereals, bagels, mini pastries, fruit and yoghurt plus more! The breakfast area was quite small with 4-5 tables but food can be taken back to rooms, so we enjoyed ours on our little patio. The orange juice was fresh and very tasty.

The dvd library wasn't mentioned to us on check in, but we probably wouldn't have had time to make us if it anyway! As we enjoyed the large bubble bath in our room, and sat out on the patio watching the sunset. Binoculars and torch thoughtfully provided in the room, along with blankets if it got too cold outside - and it was rather windy!

There was a hand laundromat 5mins drive away in the little town, and we brought back Chinese takeaway for tea and ate on the patio with views of the ocean :-) I thought there was a pool but there isn't - to stop anyone else from making same mistake!

Summary, this hotel is expensive but was a really lovely treat for us - perfect stay in every way :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your review of Sand Pebbles Inn. The breakfast has become a favorite amongst our regular guests. It sounds like you got to enjoy the Cambria experience, and yes, the internet connection can be spotty at times in our off-the-beaten-path location. We wish we had some control over it, but it is an occasional issue on Moonstone Beach. We do have a pool at our Castle Inn location, but usually our weather isn't pool weather so few pools exist in Cambria. We appreciate your thoughtful comments. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I'm not sure what happened here - I was excited to stay at the Sand Pebbles Inn this weekend, based on all the rave reviews here on TripAdvisor. But I did not have that type of experience at this inn.

I checked in on Saturday, May 3 around 4pm. The woman working the front desk was not particularly friendly. After I signed the paperwork, she handed me my key and told me where my room was and that was it. No friendly escort to the room. No mention of coupons for local businesses. No mention of the DVD library or anything, honestly. Nothing particularly friendly at all.

My room was #115, downstairs with a partial ocean view. The room itself was fine - clean, with enough space. A great jacuzzi bathtub in the bathroom (but no candle or loofah with the jacuzzi bathtub, as others have mentioned online). The location of the room is terrible though. It's right next to one of the exit doors for the hotel - which means loud door slamming noises as soon as anyone leaves the hotel. It's also close to the ice machine, which is incredibly loud. The breakfast room is around the corner, with bistro tables set up in the hallway - which means yet more noise once breakfast starts as well. You also get the noise from your upstairs neighbors - it was unbelievably loud in this room when the upstairs room was using their shower. I was unable to sleep past 7:00am because of all of this noise.

No "evening bedside chocolates" as per their web site, either.

Breakfast was fine. The woman working the breakfast room was friendly and made a delicious waffle. Unfortunately, the room is so small and people were using the tables outside of it (which added to the noise heard in the guestrooms).

When I checked out, the woman never asked how my stay was, but at the end as I was about to leave said "hope to see you again soon". I replied that it wasn't likely, given the poor experience I had. She told me to fill out a comment sheet, which I didn't have time to do.

I spent over $200 (including tax) for the one night in a "standard ocean queen" room, and this was not a $200 experience. Customer service was completely lacking, room was too noisy, and I would've gotten a better night's sleep at home.

Room Tip: Avoid the downstairs rooms - too noisy, especially ice machine and breakfast room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelgirl93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We were surprised to hear of your experience and wish we had known about it at that time to better resolve them for you. The loofahs and candles are not provided by us, but are something our guests bring and talk about and unfortunately we are back ordered on those chocolates so we do understand your sense of disappointment. Your check in time on Saturday at 4pm is also our busiest hour of the whole week, so we cannot always escort the guests to the room. Sand Pebbles Inn is our family friendly hotel and we know sometimes children can be a bit noisy but we do hope to have another chance and perhaps try our more adult-oriented Blue Dolphin Inn. The picnic-style breakfasts are delivered to the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.1 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Pebbles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Pebbles Inn

Property: Sand Pebbles Inn
Address: 6252 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cambria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sand Pebbles Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated atop Moonstone Beach, the rooms and accommodations at Sand Pebbles Inn are perfectly appointed for all types of travelers. Our location is situated right off famed California Highway One, and convenient for people traveling up or down this magnificent coastline. Families or friends will find our mid-scale boutique property wonderfully convenient to everything Cambria and the Central Coast has to offer, including world famous Hearst Castle, just ten minutes to the north. Our staff will happily share local knowledge to help you discover the lesser-known Cambria attractions. Our full oceanview rooms provide the most extensive views of the Pacific Ocean and Moonstone Beach. Most rooms have partial ocean views and are only steps from the two-mile boardwalk overlooking the beach, tide pools, and daring surfers. The property is tastefully appointed with coastal influences and treasures found on the beach. Settle into our pillowy soft beds and enjoy a movie from our collection of free titles. Laugh with your family as you play a game of Monopoly from our selection of board games. No matter what your reasons are for visiting Cambria, Sand Pebbles Inn will surely add to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sand Pebbles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Pebbles Hotel Cambria
Sand Pebbles Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing