We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location right on the beach.”
Review of Sand Pebbles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sand Pebbles Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is a very pleasant hotel right on Moonstone beach. The rooms were comfortable with everything that is needed. The staff were very approachable.
The rooms in the centre of the property have a rather limited view of the beach.

The location is ideal to visit Hearst Castle and to start the amazing highway 1 drive north.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your review of Sand Pebbles Inn. We are happy you found everything to your liking, and of course, always happy to hear the staff was helpful. We wish they could all be oceanfront rooms, but the beach is mere steps from the hotel for all to enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (830)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

425 - 431 of 830 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

We spent 3 nights here and had a wonderful time. The beach area and boardwalk are beautiful and steps away from the hotel. Our room was very clean, roomy, and nicely decorated. The bed was very comfortable, and there was a good DVD selection. Breakfast waffles were delicious, and there was a good variety of other breakfast items. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The back rooms by the lobby are less expensive, but you can hear a little traffic noise if the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review of Sand Pebbles Inn. We are glad you had a chance to stay a few days and really experience the area. Cambria is quite a special place and we enjoy sharing our favorite spots with our guests. The boardwalk is a fairly recent addition to Moonstone Beach, but it has become quite a favorite of our guests for strolling at sunset or a good morning run. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We really enjoyed our one night stay at the Sand Pebbles Inn. The beach area around the hotel was beautiful, our room was very clean and well appointed, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The in-room fireplace was a nice touch. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful, too! We extend special thanks to Lupe, who made us feel very welcome during our visit. We can't wait to return for a longer visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelLustArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a nice review and for thanking our staff, Lupe. We strive to provide a guest experience that will make you want to return and we love hearing that you were so happy with your service. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night as part of our honeymoon trip and we loved it! The woman on Reception who checked us in was very nice and so helpful, we got a great dinner recommendation.

Our room had an outdoor patio area facing the sea - stunning! The hotel had left us a congratulations card and a little mini Wedding cake in our room - so sweet! The room was large was very clean and comfortable. We really enjoyed our short stay!

Room Tip: Go for a room with patio and sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We are happy that we are now part of your honeymoon memories. We enjoy helping our guests celebrate their special occasions. We hope you make a tradition out of visiting on your anniversary. Cheers to you on your new lives together!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very quite hotel, beautifully decorated rooms,you can take DVD to your room for seeing.
Just across the road from the beach and the view....
Worth it, we didn't see a.c. In the room, ceiling fans working fine

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yaron40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for your great review of Sand Pebbles Inn. You must have been here on one of the rare days that is hot enough to think about air conditioning. Generally, the temps in Cambria average around 60s-70s so not much need for it...that ocean breeze usually keeps it pretty perfect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The staff were extremely friendly when we arrived and were very helpful.

They even have DVD's available for guest and boardgames at the reception area.

Breakfast was AWESOME. Loved the Waffles.

There's even a little fireplace in the rooms although May is not exactly the time where you will need one.

Magnificent view just across the road.

Overall great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buchtal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. You might be surprised by the times in May and June when you might appreciate that fireplace! The coast has a way of cooling down at the most unusual times. We are pleased you had such a good experience. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My husband and I spent our wedding anniversary here during a 2 week vacation in California. We rated Sand Pebbles as our favourite hotel of the many we stayed at. The room was lovely and the bed extremely comfortable The sound of the waves lulled us to sleep. The breakfast was very good and I was amused to see several husbands with trays, bringing breakfast to their wives in bed. The view was great. We also took other Trip advisors suggestions and ate at the Sea Chest for dinner. After a long drive it was nice to walk there and enjoy a glass of wine while waiting for out table. On our walk back to Sand Pebbles we watched a beautiful sunset.
I had booked the internet special rate, back in Jan. I noticed a while later that it had dropped in price. I called Sand Pebbles and was told no problem, they would honor the cheaper rate. I was very impressed with their customer service.

Room Tip: We booked the least expensive room. We did not have an ocean view, but we prefer to be outside for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grandmabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for your thoughtful review and for celebrating your anniversary with us. It sounds like you had a quintessential Cambria experience and we too are always a bit amused by the breakfast in bed deliveries! The sunsets here are a must-see and sleeping to the sound of the ocean waves is a soothing experience that is hard to describe. And of course, we always love it when our staff is exceptional. Hope to see you again on your return visit to California.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
890 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.4 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
514 reviews
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,075 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Pebbles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Pebbles Inn

Address: 6252 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cambria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: £107 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sand Pebbles Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated atop Moonstone Beach, the rooms and accommodations at Sand Pebbles Inn are perfectly appointed for all types of travelers. Our location is situated right off famed California Highway One, and convenient for people traveling up or down this magnificent coastline. Families or friends will find our mid-scale boutique property wonderfully convenient to everything Cambria and the Central Coast has to offer, including world famous Hearst Castle, just ten minutes to the north. Our staff will happily share local knowledge to help you discover the lesser-known Cambria attractions. Our full oceanview rooms provide the most extensive views of the Pacific Ocean and Moonstone Beach. Most rooms have partial ocean views and are only steps from the two-mile boardwalk overlooking the beach, tide pools, and daring surfers. The property is tastefully appointed with coastal influences and treasures found on the beach. Settle into our pillowy soft beds and enjoy a movie from our collection of free titles. Laugh with your family as you play a game of Monopoly from our selection of board games. No matter what your reasons are for visiting Cambria, Sand Pebbles Inn will surely add to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sand Pebbles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Pebbles Hotel Cambria
Sand Pebbles Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing