We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT!!!! Highlight of 2 week stay in Cali!!!! AFFORDABLE!”
Review of Sand Pebbles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sand Pebbles Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
WNY
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“PERFECT!!!! Highlight of 2 week stay in Cali!!!! AFFORDABLE!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Hi Lupe!!!! I promised I'd mention her. It took me forever to write since our Oct trip, but I HAD to tell you about Cambria and Sand Pebbles Inn. Our family did 7 days in San Fran, drove down Hwy 1 to see Hearst Castle then did LA the weekend and ended up at Disney for 4 days. Out of ALL of it our favorite part was right there at the Sand Pebbles Inn in Cambria. We were soooo sorry we just stayed overnight. Who knew!? As a matter of fact, it was spur of the moment...but it was SOOO nice!. Hearst Castle rocks!!! Hearst tours are short and only average priced...not cheap. So we decided to go to some sights nearby...EXCELLENT choice. Go to the Rookery...Sea lion haven...so cute and fun....ok...smelly, but FUN :D I wanted to do way more...Lighthouse tour, cool deli rated highly in Trip Advisor..can't remember name....just search TripAdvisor Cambria. We did take the time to do Moonstone Beach...little did I know it was STEPS away from Sand Pebbles Inn!!! Right across the street!!! Gorgeous, gorgeous little board walk, and great little manageable piece of the ocean for a first timer to the West Coast, like me. Picturesque...little beach. So loved it. I can't say enough.

Also, back to Sand Pebble Inn. People were top notch, don't miss the waffles at breakfast. I didn't even know breakfast came with it and I thought it was the best priced deal before I knew that.

If I ever get back to the area I'll make it priority to go here!!!!

RELAXING!!!! Can hear waves crashing as I drift off.

Room Tip: No pool.....ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wnyroute66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of Sand Pebbles Inn.It doesn't get much better than perfect. It sounds like you really explored the area for a short stay. For a first trip to the West Coast, you discovered a town that many native Californians still haven't found. Cambria is a bit of a hidden gem! We look forward to your next (longer) stay.

ps...Was Sebastian's the deli you referenced? (Very close to Hearst Castle, and the state beach.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    207
    32
    11
    6
See reviews for
200
462
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed for two nights on a road trip along the coast.
The hotel is in a great location, right accross from Moonstone beach.
Staff was very friendly and the hotels overall was clean and comfortable.
We decided to splurge on an ocean front room, which was great for views of the ocean and sunsets.
For what we paid, I was a little disappointed in some aspects of our ocean front room.
Firstly, the websites advertises it as a private balcony. This is generally a true statement, in that you are not literally sharing the balcony. However, the dividers between the balconies have lots of gaps and is not a solid and private divider. So you can see what the people on the next balcony are doing. In my eyes, its not really a 'private' balcony.
Also, whilst the internet was free, the signal in the room was so weak that it was unworkable most of the time. The fact we paid for the most expensive room, we got the worst internet service. This is something that needs to be fixed. Overall good hotel, but a little over priced.

Room Tip: The private ocean front balconies are not totally private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanHobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, UK
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is a very pleasant hotel right on Moonstone beach. The rooms were comfortable with everything that is needed. The staff were very approachable.
The rooms in the centre of the property have a rather limited view of the beach.

The location is ideal to visit Hearst Castle and to start the amazing highway 1 drive north.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your review of Sand Pebbles Inn. We are happy you found everything to your liking, and of course, always happy to hear the staff was helpful. We wish they could all be oceanfront rooms, but the beach is mere steps from the hotel for all to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We spent 3 nights here and had a wonderful time. The beach area and boardwalk are beautiful and steps away from the hotel. Our room was very clean, roomy, and nicely decorated. The bed was very comfortable, and there was a good DVD selection. Breakfast waffles were delicious, and there was a good variety of other breakfast items. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The back rooms by the lobby are less expensive, but you can hear a little traffic noise if the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of Sand Pebbles Inn. We are glad you had a chance to stay a few days and really experience the area. Cambria is quite a special place and we enjoy sharing our favorite spots with our guests. The boardwalk is a fairly recent addition to Moonstone Beach, but it has become quite a favorite of our guests for strolling at sunset or a good morning run. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We really enjoyed our one night stay at the Sand Pebbles Inn. The beach area around the hotel was beautiful, our room was very clean and well appointed, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The in-room fireplace was a nice touch. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful, too! We extend special thanks to Lupe, who made us feel very welcome during our visit. We can't wait to return for a longer visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelLustArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a nice review and for thanking our staff, Lupe. We strive to provide a guest experience that will make you want to return and we love hearing that you were so happy with your service. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night as part of our honeymoon trip and we loved it! The woman on Reception who checked us in was very nice and so helpful, we got a great dinner recommendation.

Our room had an outdoor patio area facing the sea - stunning! The hotel had left us a congratulations card and a little mini Wedding cake in our room - so sweet! The room was large was very clean and comfortable. We really enjoyed our short stay!

Room Tip: Go for a room with patio and sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy that we are now part of your honeymoon memories. We enjoy helping our guests celebrate their special occasions. We hope you make a tradition out of visiting on your anniversary. Cheers to you on your new lives together!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very quite hotel, beautifully decorated rooms,you can take DVD to your room for seeing.
Just across the road from the beach and the view....
Worth it, we didn't see a.c. In the room, ceiling fans working fine

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yaron40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your great review of Sand Pebbles Inn. You must have been here on one of the rare days that is hot enough to think about air conditioning. Generally, the temps in Cambria average around 60s-70s so not much need for it...that ocean breeze usually keeps it pretty perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
861 reviews
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
985 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
369 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Pebbles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Pebbles Inn

Property: Sand Pebbles Inn
Address: 6252 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cambria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sand Pebbles Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated atop Moonstone Beach, the rooms and accommodations at Sand Pebbles Inn are perfectly appointed for all types of travelers. Our location is situated right off famed California Highway One, and convenient for people traveling up or down this magnificent coastline. Families or friends will find our mid-scale boutique property wonderfully convenient to everything Cambria and the Central Coast has to offer, including world famous Hearst Castle, just ten minutes to the north. Our staff will happily share local knowledge to help you discover the lesser-known Cambria attractions. Our full oceanview rooms provide the most extensive views of the Pacific Ocean and Moonstone Beach. Most rooms have partial ocean views and are only steps from the two-mile boardwalk overlooking the beach, tide pools, and daring surfers. The property is tastefully appointed with coastal influences and treasures found on the beach. Settle into our pillowy soft beds and enjoy a movie from our collection of free titles. Laugh with your family as you play a game of Monopoly from our selection of board games. No matter what your reasons are for visiting Cambria, Sand Pebbles Inn will surely add to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sand Pebbles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Pebbles Hotel Cambria
Sand Pebbles Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing