We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone to the Dogs”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea Otter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sea Otter Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Ca
Level Contributor
181 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Gone to the Dogs”
Reviewed 2 March 2008

We checked in 2/28 for 2 nights. Booked a queen, queen patio room. Was given the key to a King Patio room instead. The girl at the desk told me there was another couple in the room for 4 days, and since we were 2 people, the King should be fine. All double queen rooms were taken. I told her I was traveling with my son in law and were not sleeping in the same bed. After phone calls to Mgr. George, they gave us the 2 rm suite with 2 queen pull out sofas. Who the heck wants to sleep on a pull out couch?? The sofas were ugly, uncomfortable, big rips in the back cushions, throw pillows torn too. The carpet was stained, the only wing chair was even more uncomfortable than the sofas were. The room was dark and dreary, like the dark brown couches. Toothpaste was still in the sink after the maid left on the first day.
The worst, was I was itchy and sneezing. Then I realized why. They allow dogs in this property. Room 110 had a huge Lab dog. The man and dog emerged ,after the dog barked for a while. Across the way, room 120 I believe, I saw 2 great big Police dogs come out the door. The sneezing and itching clued me into why my allergies were acting up. The last occupants must have had a dog in the room. The girl at the desk said only 2 rooms were used for dogs. I told her there were dogs in the other rooms and gave her room numbers She said she was going to call them.. Nothing was done. Man and dog came out of the room next morning. Yuck! With bad allergies, I don't like sleeping with the dogs! I remember when this property was lovely. What has happened??? What sort of mismanagement is this? Manager George does not return calls either now or in the past. No apologies were offered when they gave my room away. Shame on you Moonstone Properties. You need to do better than this!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank betsybubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    259
    80
    12
    8
See reviews for
194
409
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2008

Our stay in the Sea Otter Inn was really a stop off between travelling from San Francisco to Santa Barbara. Hadn't booked but staff were very accomodating and we got a room at a reduced rate. The place was stunning and the beach was on our doorstep!! Extremely romantic and just perfect for our honeymoon.

The food was lovely in the only restaurant in Moonstone Beach and the staff were very attentive when we arrived but seemed to be a bit put out at 9.30pm when they wanted to leave and we were happy to sit on for few more drinks!!

Had a lovely dip in the heated pool the next morning before heading to Hearst Castle and onwards to Santa Barbara.

Would thoroughly recommend this idyllic place and was definitely one of the highlights of our honeymoon for a one or two night stay!!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank ValerieMow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2007

This was one of the highlights of my tour of the Big Sur.
The Inn was perfect.

Settled on the edge of the Pacific with a beautiful wind swept beach at your front door this stay was enhance by a beautiful large clean room with cosy gas fire heating.

I got up early on the morning of departure and had a fabulous walk on the long beach where my only companions were the waves that crashed at my feet and the seals that lazed on the rocks directly opposite the Inn.

The walkways in place above the beach are superb and totally in keeping with the lovely setting on the seashore.

The staff in the hotel were very friendly and helpful.

The only downsides were
(a) the breakfast where the muffins and bagels were the mainstay but even still were very tasty.
(b) the only resteraunt nearby (300 meters) closes very early and we were made to feel very much like an inconvenience to themarriving at 9 PM.

The resteraunt itself felt a bit amateurish in the way it greets guest but has in its defense however a fantastic fruit Ice cream which was the nicest I have ever tasted.

Outside that with nothing else to do in Cambria (not in the town) we had to have a early night.

For the loaction comfort and hospitality I would crtainly stay here again but I would probably drive into Cambria for a good resteraunt.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — What do you do do when every where closes by 10 ?
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank johndeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2007

The Sea Otter has a great location opposite the sea and therefore perfect for walks along the beach, and a five minute drive to Hearst Castle. We even saw seals and sea otters! The accomodation is clean and the staff are friendly - nothing too luxurious but perfect for the price. A couple of words of warning: it's not in the centre of Cambria - the restaurants and shops are a short drive away - and Cambria itself is extremely quiet.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2007

I really did not know what to expect with this hotel/motel. It sounded like a roadside motor inn from the 50's. Well...it kinda is...but you wouldn't know it. The renovations and upkeep were very well done. Nothing over the top, nothing skimped...just simple, clean, topical, and appropriate.

The room was very clean (and I always check) and comfortable. The drive up lodge was reminiscent of old road trip days. I loved the flower gardens, private outdoor deck/garden, fireplace, and HOT shower.

The did a great job with this little lodge! The whole area was VERY pleasant and calm. Granted, we were there at the tail end of the season, but the walk on the beach across the road with the sea lions in the morning was amazing.

Service was decent. Nothing fancy...just refreshing!

  • Liked — It was Refreshing...well presented, comfortable, calm, and VERY RELAXING!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2007

We booked in advance and when we wanted to change our plans, were informed that it's a 72-hour cancellation policy. That's OK, but they weren't particularly nice about it and we didn't find the service friendly when checking in or at breakfast. We called in advance to see if they had ethernet cables for my husband's work computer, told they did, then they didn't. Also no air conditioning and no fans. Office staff leave at 9 p.m. so can't request anything after that. It was a warm (almost hot) night and with windows open, could hear all parking lot noise, guests next door, gardeners in the morning, cleaning crews. Also no outside seating to watch the ocean or relax, other than in the gated pool.

On the plus side, the rooms are nicely done with great linens, down comforters, you-grind fresh coffee, microwaves and fridges. Shower was good. If it's cold, there's a gas fireplace.

The real attraction here is the boardwalk across the street, which has stunning coastal views. We watched an amazing sunset and were out on it 1 1/2 hours that night, plus in the morning. TIdepools, seals, otters all right there. For this area, which is pricey, the $169/night cost didn't seem bad. You can get in some great exercise and see some of the most stunning views in the country without getting out of your car.

  • Liked — boardwalk on the ocean
  • Disliked — no air/conditioning or fans and outside noise
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ineedmycoffee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ca.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2007

My wife loved our stay at the Sea Otter Inn the room was beautiful and clean. We Stayed in an ocean view king do not spend the extra money for the ocean view room. To see it you look across the road and the bed did not face the ocean. We would have been just as happy with a lesser room. But it was a lovely room and the staff was friendly and helpful. We also would recommend the fallowing restaurants Lombardi’s and Old Stone Station.

  • Liked — Great room
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ravellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.1 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.4 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
3,430 reviews
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
783 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
807 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cambria
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Otter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Otter Inn

Property: Sea Otter Inn
Address: 6656 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1812
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cambria
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Otter Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Otter Inn is located on Cambria's famous Moonstone Beach Drive just across from the Moonstone Beach boardwalk. A family-owned property, this charming country-style inn features 25 cozy fireplace accommodations ranging from traditional hotel rooms to family suites and ocean-view rooms. A year-round outdoor heated pool and spa complete the getaway ambiance. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi, HBO, and continental breakfast. Minutes from Hearst Castle and local wineries, Sea Otter Inn is the perfect home base for exploring California's Central Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Otter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Otter Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing