We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quaint motel”
Review of Sea Otter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea Otter Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We rented 3 rooms at the Sea Otter Inn. All rooms were comfortable and clean. The service was great and the pool was a lot of fun. Nothing fancy here just a nice place to stay. My kids said it was their favorite hotel on our week long trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (975)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

759 - 765 of 975 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

Clean and cozy room. We stayed in the suite with a private patio, two rooms, 2 bathrooms and a fireplace. Cute but expensive at 300+ a night for the weekend. It had two pull sofa beds. One was fine. The other was quite uncomfortable. The mattress was noticeably more shallow and you could feel the bars underneath. Pool was nice and warm. Jacuzzi was fine. Breakfast was in the very small lobby and hard to maneuver if there were more than two people getting food. You bring the food back to your room. Friendly staff.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Very clean, comfortable rooms. Great location right across from Moonstone Beach. Walking distance to a couple restaurants. Easy, short drive into town. Generous breakfast. Helpful, friendly staff. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eileenpmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

One night stopover on Pacific Highway for two adults and one eleven year old child. The room was very old fashioned but spotlessly clean. arrived early evening (8:30pm) after long drive from Sonoma. advised by reception only place to eat was two blocks away and closed at 9:00pm (see separate review). The hotel is a series of identical motels located on one strip next to ocean-that's it! No soul or atmosphere. next morning breakfast was a "unique" experience!! extremely basic offering with possibly the worst receptionist on the planet! All guests were told how STRESSED she was over and over again! certainly not worth $279 (plus we were told an extra $10 for our daughter to sleep in one of the queen beds!!!). Maybe the other motels on the strip are better value? We certainly would not stay again!

Room Tip: Would imagine all rooms are identical?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathryn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadiseInThePines, General Manager at Sea Otter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for the feedback. Hotel properties on Cambria's Moonstone Beach Drive--including Sea Otter Inn--are competitively and comparably priced. Our highest rate for a Garden-View Two Queen room is on a Saturday night in August at $259 plus tax for three people. Like most properties, we do charge for extra people due to costs of breakfast, cleaning, utilities, and wear and tear. Our goal is to greet every guest with a cheerful, welcoming attitude. We are very sorry that you did not have that experience. We promise to do better if you decide to stay with us again. By the way, Sea Otter Inn offers several room types, including King Patio, Two Queen, Suite, and Ocean View.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The hotel is in front of the ocean with direct access to promenade along the shoreline.

We stayed 1 night in a room with two queen beds and a fireplace. Very comfortable beds and clean. Room had a fridge and coffee maker.

Check-in was very friendly and efficient.

Breakfast is set out in the lobby and you take it back to your room on a tray. Nice selection of fruit, bagels, delicious danish , etc. . If you're 4 in a room, there's however not much table space to have breakfast confortably.

The pool is nice. It's heated which usefull on foggy days and when it gets chilly. The pools opens at 7 am. We used the jacuzzi at 7 am while the shore was completely covered by the fog.

The room rate was 204€ for a 2 Queensize bed room occupied by 2 persons. Since we were 4, 10€ per person was added for person 3 and 4. With taxes, this gives a rate that makes me question the price/quality ratio.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hacrobaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadiseInThePines, Director of Sales at Sea Otter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Thank you for the kind words about our property. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. As for the rate, if you look online at other properties along Moonstone Beach Drive in Cambria, you will find that we are competitive with other beach properties of the same accommodation level. We sincerely hope that you will join us for another pleasant stay next time you are in California!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My kids would have stayed here longer, but we had to move on. We stayed 1 night in a room with two queen beds and a fireplace. Very comfortable beds and clean. Charming and "homey" feel to the place. The staff was very friendly. Breakfast is set out in the lobby and you take it back to your room on a tray. Nice selection of fruit, bagels, yogurt, etc. Room had a fridge and coffee maker. Definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkluvs2read64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We spend two nights at the Sea Otter in a King room with patio, and it was just fine! The property's a bit long in the tooth, so it has a bit of a 60's feel, but it's extremely well maintained and our room was spotless. It's perfectly located next to an entrance to the Moonstone Drive boardwalk, and just a couple of doors down from the Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill, which is a great place to eat, morning, noon, and night, right by the beach. Internet and breakfast are included in the room fee, so the rates here are a pretty good deal versus some of the other hotels on the Moonstone Drive strip. We''ll stay here again for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for a patio room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fair-But-Tough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
895 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,146 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,849 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Otter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Otter Inn

Address: 6656 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1812
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cambria
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: £113 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Otter Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Otter Inn is located on Cambria's famous Moonstone Beach Drive just across from the Moonstone Beach boardwalk. A family-owned property, this charming country-style inn features 25 cozy fireplace accommodations ranging from traditional hotel rooms to family suites and ocean-view rooms. A year-round outdoor heated pool and spa complete the getaway ambiance. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi, HBO, and continental breakfast. Minutes from Hearst Castle and local wineries, Sea Otter Inn is the perfect home base for exploring California's Central Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sea Otter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Otter Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing