We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”
Review of Sea Otter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sea Otter Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Chino Hills
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“One night stay”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed in a suite here. It was clean, quiet and comfortable. It was not fancy. The whirlpool tub was just a regular tub with jets on the side; not what I expected. Everything worked, so no complaints. Perhaps I would stay again if in the area. The Inn is across the street from the beach, so we took a walk and took some pictures of the seals that were in the ocean. Excellent location, if you are into things like that.
The Inn has no restaurant, but there are restaurants close by. The continental breakfast is somewhat adequate and is a time-saver.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrianAndMary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    265
    81
    12
    8
See reviews for
200
425
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I found this hotel from tripadvisor, It has good reviews so I book it. I stayed at cambria with my husband for 1 night only, but he loved the hotel and the town as well. The rooms was cozy and clean, the hotel staff was friendly. Definitely a romantic place to stayed away from the city, and relax! If you are looking for a nice hotel choose this!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanessazerpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I loved this place! It was very cozy and clean and had that home type of feeling to it. I am picky about these things. If a place is disgusting, I'll use towels all over the floor/carpet as a rug. Not needed here as it was clean and quiet. We only stayed for the afternoon and night and got a great room. Most places give you the dumpy rooms when they know you're only staying one night.That was not the case here. Beach was right across the street! We chose this place as our "quiet night" stop. It was just that. Very nice folks at the front desk also. Breakfast was free and simple but of high quality items. The restaurant in town left a lot to be desired, but that's always a hit or miss thing when you travel. They had better than the one what we picked. If you're traveling the coastline as we were, put this place on your stop list. You won't be sorry you did.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, do what you should always do when booking a room. Request a room away from roads...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ih8sno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel - very convinient for Hearst castle. A bit pricy though compared to the value, but over all okay.
Nice large rooms, fireplace didn't work, but we didn't complain about as temperatures where okay.
Their breakfast was better compared to what I have experienced elsewhere in the same price range.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jette0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So Cal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We have stayed at the Sea Otter a few times and we always enjoy ourselves. The location is awesome, it's very clean and staff is pleasant. Plus, we usually get a very good deal. The rooms have everything you need. They are fairly spacious and the bed are comfortable. We will be coming back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slsmith007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here on a drive up the coast. We got a great deal on Travel Zoo and ended up paying a lot less than other guests! :) We only stayed one night but thought the staff was very friendly. A light breakfast was included. The room itself was small and pretty dated but very clean and had a nice fireplace. They have a nice pool and hot tub but we didn't get a chance to use either one. The location on Moonstone Beach was terrific and we over all liked the place. We would stay here again if we were able to get a similar price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I would not pay more than $100 to stay here. This is average lodging, it is clean, service is nice and location is pretty much like the others. There is a gas-fireplace that does the job, but if you are looking for a cozy/charming place to stay this is not for you. We got a good deal and stayed for just one night as part of our "route one" trip.

Helpful?
2 Thank moraesmarcos
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ParadiseInThePines, General Manager at Sea Otter Inn, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thanks for the honest feedback. If you were able to stay at our property for such a low rate, you received a very good deal in comparison with other three-diamond inns on Moonstone Beach Drive. Most of our guests tell us that they find Sea Otter Inn to be both cozy and charming. It seems there's no accounting for taste....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.1 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.4 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,636 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Otter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Otter Inn

Property: Sea Otter Inn
Address: 6656 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1812
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cambria
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Otter Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Otter Inn is located on Cambria's famous Moonstone Beach Drive just across from the Moonstone Beach boardwalk. A family-owned property, this charming country-style inn features 25 cozy fireplace accommodations ranging from traditional hotel rooms to family suites and ocean-view rooms. A year-round outdoor heated pool and spa complete the getaway ambiance. All guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi, HBO, and continental breakfast. Minutes from Hearst Castle and local wineries, Sea Otter Inn is the perfect home base for exploring California's Central Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Sea Otter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Otter Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing