We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10th Anniversary vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pelican Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband and I were celebrating our 10th anniversary and wanted to go somewhere new. We both wanted to see the Hearst castle, so I researched Cambria. The Pelican Inn & Suites had good reviews and looked nice, so we booked a three night stay. When we arrived we were very happy. The staff was very nice and accommodating. The grounds are very nicely landscaped with flowers and succulents. The hotel isn't too big, which was nice. We had a second floor room with a full view of the ocean. The room was clean and nicely decorated; very comfortable. There was even a full bottle of champagne with glasses for our anniversary!
We slept with our window open and had no problem with traffic noise, it was drowned out by the sound of the ocean waves. It was a very peaceful place. The breakfast was very good. Every morning they had two choices of eggs, regular scrambled or with other ingredients which they switched up every day by adding spinach, cheese, mushrooms and tortillas. They also had different types of meat, such as sausage or ham . You can make your own waffles or use the toaster to make toast or bagels. There was also fresh fruit and oatmeal. One additional thing I wish they would have had would be pastries like Danish or muffins. The evening wine reception was also very good.
We had a wonderful time and will certainly be back. We would like to see the Hearst castle again, but when the drought is over. Unfortunately the outdoor pool and all of the fountains were dry due to the drought.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VacavilleDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

810 - 816 of 1,123 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

This lovely property is right at the Pacific Ocean. Walk across the street to the water and wander for miles on the wooden path. Rooms are well appointed and the views and the sounds ocean just make it magical. They serve a full hot breakfast and a wine and cheese hour in the evening, all inclusive in your room. Ten minute drive to Hearst Castle for tours and views that are breathtaking. A wonderful getaway that offers great service, great lodging and a little piece of heaven. The grounds are all planted with gorgeous variety environmental friendly plants making this Inn a little gem, not to be missed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suemallory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for one night during our drive up the Pacific Coastal Highway, in retrospect we should have stayed here 2 nights to relax and visit the Hearst Castle. The Pelican Inn is very comfortable and well run. We paid a little extra and had a terrace and ocean view which was really worth it. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. They don't do evening meals and the nearest place was not great ( my husband is allergic to onion and every main course had onion in or on it).Cambria is a quiet and lovely place to stop and the staff at the Pelican Inn were helpful and friendly. I would really recommend it

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mogey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Construction in the room next door pretty much ruined the time for us. Loud sawing and hammering all the first day. They promised no noise the second day and still the sounds were disruptive. What bothered us was that they didn't say anything about this situation when we checked in, with a reservation for the most expensive room in the inn, right on the ocean. When we asked for another room, they said there were no others available. We did not complain when we checked out; we simply responded that our experience there was "so so" when they asked the question. They did give us a very slight reduction in the room cost. We would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask if they have construction going on next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEM727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie320, General Manager at Pelican Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to write a review. I am truly sorry for the construction noise during your stay. As you were here to relax I can understand how disruptive the noise was. I would like the opportunity to make this up to you, and to regain your trust in our fine Inn. Please call me directly 805.927.1500 Sincerely, Charlie Yates, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Pelican Inn is located right across the road from the ocean, with a lovely boardwalk along the beach. The room had a gas fireplace and king sized beds. The bathroom was large and roomy with nice shower and fixtures. There is a complimentary wine and cheese couple of hours in the late afternoon. The complimentary breakfast was excellent, with an egg dish, bacon, sausages and fresh made waffles, fresh fruit ,coffee and orange juice. The people at reception guided us to the Sea Chest, a seafood place where there are always lineups with the locals. We went in, gave our name, asked how long, and went back to the beach for a walk. Came back just in time to get seated.

Room Tip: We didn't have a balcony, but they are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcookab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie320, General Manager at Pelican Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for providing your great review! We take pride in what we do and it shows. Our Wine, Cheese and Dessert Social and the Best Breakfast in town are guest favorites...like the Sea Chest restaurant, walking distance from the Pelican Inn & Suites. We look forward to your next visit! Charlie Yates, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We only stayed one night as we were traveling along the coast. Wish we could have stayed longer the room was really well furnished far better than most hotels of twice the price. The views of the ocean are breathtaking. The staff were all very friendly. Early evening there is complimentary wine, cheese and biscuits available for guests. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The Pelican Inn is located right on the ocean in Cambria on Moonstone beach. The views are amazing and their is a boardwalk trail right across the street. The room was very large with a nice seating area and fireplace, small balcony, King sized bed that was super comfortable to sleep on. The bath was also nicely appointed and had a jacuzzi tub although we did not make use of that. The breakfast they serve is fresh egg dishes, potatoes, coffee that is actually good, fresh fruit, cereals, oatmeal, fresh waffles. They also have a wine and cheese hour in the afternoon serving also a hot appetizer (marinated mushrooms which were great). The wine won't win any awards but was good esp considering it was complimentary. We even bought a bottle for later, a Cab sauv that was only 12 bucks. Their are two restaurants on Moonstone beach in walking distance that were both good. You have everything you need her and I cannot envision staying anywhere else. Perfect stay!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingHobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,072 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
890 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Inn & Suites

Address: 6316 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Family Hotel in Cambria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: £128 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pelican Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be one with the sea at our coastal retreat, located just off scenic Highway 1, the gateway to Big Sur. Our Cambria vacation packages offer a variety of ways to simply let go and relax on the shores of Moonstone Beach. Indulge in pampering seaside accommodations with private terraces and spectacular ocean views and enjoy hot breakfast every morning, among other perks. Our hotel provides easy access to beautiful beaches, renowned wineries, exquisite eateries and even the legendary Hearst Castle, the inspiration behind the movie Citizen Kane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pelican Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Cambria
Pelican Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing