We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Inn in a sleepy beach town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pelican Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My husband and I stopped in Cambria while visiting Hearst Castle and heading to see family in LA. The Inn is located on beautiful Moonstone Beach Drive. It's a lovely, romantic Inn that has a B&B feel to it. It is a short drive to Hearst Castle. The Inn offers wine and cheese every afternoon and a lovely breakfast buffet in the morning. Our only disappointment was that we did not have a room with a deck. Our room was tucked in a corner and had no view and was extremely warm. It did have AC, but you had to unplug the TV in order to plug in AC. Stay away from Room 217 if possible.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a deck and ocean view. Stay away from Room 217.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KB303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,081)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

743 - 749 of 1,081 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

The ocean front king suite was beautiful. It is very romantic with the nice ocean view with a balcony, large step-down living quarters and the most comfortable bed ever. Taking a stroll on the beach each day was convenient as the beach is just across the street. The fireplace provided for the perfect romanitc ambience all night long. The room was beautiful and clean. The only down side was the coffee maker did not function; but coffee was not a necessity for this occassion!

Room Tip: Evening finger foods available to the traveler are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roberta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie320, General Manager at Pelican Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Ah Romance, something the Pelican Inn & Suites is famous for. Thank you for sharing your kind review...we love our Inn and the love shows! We look forward to your next stay with us. Cheers, Charlie Yates, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Pelican Inn & Suites with my husband and 4 year old daughter. We had a Double Queen Room with a Partial Ocean View. Basically, if we stepped out of our room onto the "patio" (the walkway with chairs and a table, directly across from the pool), we could see the ocean. The room was spacious, with a small sitting area with a fireplace, couch and chair. It was enough room to make my 4 year old happy, although she loves any hotel room. The room and hotel was updated and clean and we appreciated the daily breakfast (as well as the late afternoon reception). The location to the boardwalk and beach are fantastic as we walked to all ends of the beaches with our 4 year old without a problem (including Moonstone Grill).
We enjoyed our stay, but I did feel like my 4 year old was a little on the louder side, the place was super quiet, and she isn't a yeller, but certainly not a quiet talker.
I would stay there again, I feel the value of the hotel met my expectations of comfort and ease in what the area has to offer (which isn't all that much besides the pristine beauty of the coast).
And while there isn't any air conditioning, we just opened the slider and turned on the fans... isn't that the beauty of being near the ocean?

Room Tip: If you really want an ocean view, don't get a partial view because it is really isn't any vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laamy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie320, General Manager at Pelican Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for your nice review. It can be a challenge traveling with children and we work hard to make the entire family feel at home. Our heated pool and spa, full hot buffet breakfast, and fresh baked cookies each night are a real family favorite! We look forward to your next visit!
All the best, Charlie Yates, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had an oceanfront king suite. Unfortunately we had some road difficulties and did not get in until late. We would have liked to have more time to enjoy the room and the view. The room was large and clean. It had a microwave, refrig, and fireplace. The location is perfect and right across the street from the beach and the boardwalk. It was perfect for a late night and early morning walk. We were also delighted to discover that a full breakfast was included. We would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sandelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie320, General Manager at Pelican Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review! The Pelican Inn & Suites is a special place, great for couples, families and individuals. Our complimentary Hot Buffet Breakfast is a guest favorite, as is our Wine, Cheese & Dessert reception held nightly. We look forward to your return visit! All the best, Charlie Yates, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

After reading some great reviews, I thought I made a good choice with this one. Its the middle of summer, so its HOT. The room had no air conditioning, but instead a live fireplace. It took hours to figure out how to turn it off since no one was available at the front desk (I tried calling). The hot and cold on the shower was flip flopped, so that was a terrible suprise. The maid staff came into my room as I was changing after one knock and no time for me to get the door, and about 8 minutes after checkout time the staff had called my room asking 'if I need help with my luggage' which is really just a not so subtle way of saying gtfo. I did not enjoy my stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwessma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie320, General Manager at Pelican Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write your review. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We experienced some very hot weather during your visit, not typical of our cool beach town. We strive to offer the finest in guest service and offer help with luggage daily. Please accept my apologies and we hope to see you again. Sincerely, Charlie Yates, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I booked an Ada suite for the Fourth of July weekend. I was told it would have a view of the ocean and a roll in shower.
Upon arrival I was informed that I must be mistaken , that there was no view from our room. I was shown the room and it was narrow , hardly wheelchair friendly. The bathtub had grab bars but was very deep and would have been very dangerous .
When I asked if there was an Ada room with a view they told me yes but it was occupied. In other words they gave away the room I was promised.
The front desk staff was very rude and condescending and tried to imply that it was I who made the mistake. They refunded me but did not care that I did not have a place to stay.
I would never pay over $300 for a dark room facing another building. I think that the room offered was not acceptable and it did not meet the requirements of the ADA.
Shame on them.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Antamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie320, General Manager at Pelican Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We take pride in offering the finest accommodations and service on the Central Coast. I am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations, and that there was any misunderstanding with your reservations. Please feel free to contact me if I may be of any further service. All the best, Charlie Yates, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Nice property, the wine and food in the evening is great. Reserved a king suite, the surprise was getting the room on the ground floor. Could see the ocean but not the beach. Sitting outside we were actually below the street level. So if you are getting the suite make sure you are on the 2nd floor otherwise it's a waste. This was our 30th anniv. No place to mention special requests on the website

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sawdust444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,030 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
872 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Inn & Suites

Address: 6316 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Family Hotel in Cambria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: £128 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pelican Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be one with the sea at our coastal retreat, located just off scenic Highway 1, the gateway to Big Sur. Our Cambria vacation packages offer a variety of ways to simply let go and relax on the shores of Moonstone Beach. Indulge in pampering seaside accommodations with private terraces and spectacular ocean views and enjoy hot breakfast every morning, among other perks. Our hotel provides easy access to beautiful beaches, renowned wineries, exquisite eateries and even the legendary Hearst Castle, the inspiration behind the movie Citizen Kane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pelican Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Cambria
Pelican Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing