We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gentle hike along the open bluffs overlooking the Pacific Ocean...”

Fiscalini Ranch Preserve
Ranked #3 of 44 things to do in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Gentle hike along the open bluffs overlooking the Pacific Ocean...”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I started at Moonstone Beach and walked up here - there is a loop about 2 miles-ish around, it was so hot, in 80's that I preferred to walk along the ocean view path until i reached the residential bit, then turned around and walked back the same way. You are allowed dogs on leashes, there are some unusual sculpturesque benches to sit on every so often...glorious views, with hawks soaring over head and squirrels hiding in the brush...very relaxing - seemed to be mainly locals!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    28
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ojai, California
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Don't Miss Fiscalini”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

A perfect place for a stroll any time of day. We walked here in the morning when the fog was lifting, and in the evening at sunset. Both spectacular and totally different. I love this place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ojainel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambria, California
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Must see!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I live two blocks from The Fiscalini Ranch and walk it several times a week. A local favorite place to walk dogs, hike, bike or just meet friends and chat while enjoying the beauty of the ocean and looking for a wonderful variety of mushrooms in the forest. Many trails to choose from easy to heart pounding. Cayotes, skunks,dear and of course dogs most on leashes and the once that aren't are well trained. Beautiful choice of walks.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vida67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unspoiled with breathtaking views”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

If you're looking for a family friendly hike in Cambria with majestic views, come to Fiscalini Ranch Preserve. With numerous trails through the 430 acres, you can hike up to a photo opt while both the kids and dogs are being occupied by various sites. Most dogs were off leash (which was great for our dogs too) and the trails were easy enough for the 7 year old. At the top of the precipice, you can rest a bit on a beautifully carved dolphin bench with a great tree to climb behind. There you can sit, relax and meditate as you hear the gentle lull of the ocean below.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank unchartedexperiences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

During our stay in Cambria we are staying in a house just down the street from Fiscalini Ranch. I am so glad we discovered this gem. The Bluff Trail is about 1 mile long and has wonderful views of the ocean. Part of is is gravel and the other boardwalk. It is a delightful meandering path. We have enjoyed having this place to walk our dog while we are here. It is also a great loop for a morning run.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angel_Bryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fiscalini Ranch Preserve also viewed

Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Fiscalini Ranch Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing