We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always accommodating”
Review of The Rigdon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Rigdon House
Ranked #8 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always accommodating”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Got me in last minute and saved my vacation! Have stayed many times, always good experience. Huge comfortable rooms. Rates include lovely breakfast, and wine and conversation in the library in the evening.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    74
    18
    12
    11
See reviews for
54
169
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grover Beach, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2013

This is a nice place to stay if you are looking for an affordable, cozy place to stay that is within walking distance to town. The room was large, spacious, and perfect for lounging. Although I did notice a few stains on the carpet and the furnishing were a bit outdated (beside the nice soak tub in the wash room), all-in-all the experience was pleasurable. The Inn offers free WiFi and cable TV. Upon check-in, guests are welcomed with a complementary wine tasting. Noting too fancy, but the wine and company made it worthwhile. I do find it necessary to mention that breakfast was not included in the price of the room. For a B&B, this came at a shock to me. Supposedly, they do not offer this service during the off-season. Despite its few shortcomings, the Inn remains a beautiful, charming jewel in a quaint and whimsical town.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect when staying here since I have never stayed at a B&B before.
Pros:
-HUGE room!! With a very comfortable bed!
-Great location to downtown Cambria. Short walk to all the restaurants and shops.
-They have a good selection of DVDs and VHS that you can borrow during your stay.

Con:
-No amenities, if that is what you are looking for.
-Since it isn't a chain hotel, they are no trial size toiletries. I love getting bars of soap and lotions and usually don't bring them with me. There was a dispenser that had shampoo and liquid soap though.

Overall, good place to stay if you are wanting to be close to town and just need somewhere to lay your head at night.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellilynn81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Burton Inn between Christmas and New Year. We had never stayed at a B&B so thought we would do so in the charming town of Cambria. If you expect a regular type of hotel with everything updated or new then don't stay here. This is a step back into a bygone era of large rooms, comfortable furniture, warm hospitality from our host Teri and a feeling of being in a home. Everything was within walking distance.
We enjoyed our Suite #12 and appreciated the cleanliness of the property. As the evening gets nippy and we tired of our day going through the antique shops Teri sat with us for a glass of wine and a little chat about our day etc.
If you have concerns, call Teri in advance so she can answer your questions before you get to the property. Would definitely recommend to others.

Room Tip: Bathrooms are well stocked with towels etc, but at the Burton they also change towels out daily. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Eeyore99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

The pictures on the website (like most places) make this place look better than in real life. Our room was on the first floor right next to the living room-type area where people gather for wine tasting. It was a bit odd to walk through the gathering to get to our room. The room was ridiculously huge...too big. The carpet seemed old, the decor was bordering on creepy, there is a weird nook with an old microwave and odds-n-ends in the living room. Overall layout was just odd. The bed wasn't comfortable and the bathroom looked like an old people's bathroom. Nothing was particularly "horrible" about this place, just odd and uncomfortable. It's possible the upper rooms were cozier and more put together.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend the ground level room near reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamelaJaneF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

During a road-trip holiday with my 14-year-old daughter, we knew we would stay a night somewhere in the central coast and had actually not known about Cambria. Our guesthouse hostess in the Yosemite area prior to our drive to the central coast recommended visiting Cambria and the Burton Inn was the first hotel we saw as we rolled into town after dark, as we had come in the back way.
What a lovely find! The suites are spacious, we each enjoyed our own comfortable queen size bed, borrowed one of the DVD's to watch in our suite, and could make our own snacks for the evening with the insuite toaster, microwave and fridge. There is a large jetted soaker tub that could easily fit two people, and plenty of bathroom space. Ours was on the main level, room 16, and very quiet and clean.
The inn itself has wonderful character, and the hostess Terri was friendly and inviting. It is a real treat to converse with her and some of the other guests in the parlour with a glass of wine, a great way to unwind after a long day of driving.
Breakfast was simple but wonderful with healthy, fresh baked items including one of the best zuchini breads I've tasted, a variety of other pastries, bagels, oatmeal, cold cereals, fresh orange juice, etc.
Overall, great company and good value. :)
The town of Cambria itself is also worth a visit, very cute and filled with a huge variety of boutique shops, great for gift shopping and just browsing. While we were there, there was a "Harvest Festival" with a little outdoor market and unique displays throughout the town. The area is beautiful and it's a great jumping-off point for Hearst Castle, Big Sur, San Luis Obispo, etc. Be forewarned though to fill up on gas before you head down as it is quite pricey there!

Room Tip: The upper rooms only have a staircase to access, so request a lower suite if you prefer easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights on our Undiscovered Country Bike Tour and loved it. The room (#18) was huge with a separate sitting room with TV and couches (lovely afternoon sun for cool day), bath was lovely, big flat screen TV. Our co-riders were upstairs in a similar back room (?#19) that would be better on a hot day as shielded from direct sun. Our guide had room #21 (I think) off the library and was very happy. Breakfast was very good with lovely range of breads, porridge (oatmeal), fruits, and eggs done to request. Really enjoyed the free daily wine and cheese at 5 pm with owner Terri and other guests, all of whom seemed to be enjoying their stay (3 couples, including the English couple we recommended the place to).

This gets an extra star from me because of our interactions with Terri who was very warm and obliging, to the point of doing three loads of clothes washing for us with enthusiasm (how can washing smelly bike gear be so enjoyable I wonder?) What tops it all off is the superb location of the Burton Inn, being across the road from Robin's restaurant and a short walk from a heap of craft shops and other really good places to eat.

I've seen some of the recent reviews have been a bit mixed and feel a bit of an urge to counter that with an honest account of our experience. We really enjoyed our stay, wouldn't hesitate to recommend it and would choose to stay here again.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieFella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,634 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
1.4 mi away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
#10 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#7 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
2.0 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rigdon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rigdon House

Property: The Rigdon House
Address: 4022 Burton Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-3002 (Formerly Burton Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rigdon House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A famed Cambrian landmark dating back to 1865, The Rigdon House showcases impressive two-room suites with more than 600 square feet of comfortably elegant space, our suites offer guests all the comforts of home. Family suites provide parents and their children uncompromising comfort with private bedrooms and cable TV. Located in the beautiful village of Cambria, The Rigdon House is a delightful hotel, set in the midst of fine dining, shops, and unique galleries. Indulge yourself with the timeless historical elegance of one of the most celebrated hotels in Cambria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Rigdon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burton Hotel Cambria
Burton b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing