We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay at Moonstone Beach”
Review of Little Sur Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Little Sur Inn
Ranked #6 of 23 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

A truly fabulous place to stay.

The room was spacious, very clean, and the beds were super comfy. It wasn't cold enough to use the fire but I'm sure in winter it would make the room very cosy and romantic.

Our room overlooked the ocean so it was lovely after a day's drive to sit and watch the sun go down with a glass of wine in hand.

There is a very good seafood restaurant right next door so it is great to be able to park the car and walk to dinner.

We only had a night here, the following day we discovered all the antique shops in Cambria so next time we'll definitely stop for two nights.

Overall a fabulous place to stay.

Room Tip: Try and get an ocean front room - nothing like watching the sunset from your own balcony and fallin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiWanderlust1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlesurinn, Owner at Little Sur Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

We love it when we exceed our guests expectations! Clearly you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us, especially the sunset views from your Ocean front room. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience!

Sincerely,
Little Sur Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

This was the first time my Husband & I stayed at this hotel. We have stayed at a couple of other hotels on Moonstone beach, but the Little Sur Inn is the best. We also had room #22 upstairs with a balcony and terrific views inside the room. We could actually see the ocean why lying in bed. The fireplace/heater is a nice touch and I loved the wood floors. We will make this our "go-to" hotel next time we're in Cambria.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlesurinn, Owner at Little Sur Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Clearly you loved every aspect of your stay with us! We can honestly say we offer some of the best Ocean view rooms in the area! We've been especially excited to see so many of our guests loving our new hardwood floors in the rooms. We're delighted to hear that you are making Little Sur Inn your 'go to' place for future visits!

Best Wishes,
Little Sur Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed at the Little Sur Inn during the first week of May 2014. We were fortunate to have a 2nd floor ocean front room (#22) on the corner. The view was wonderful. Our room was was clean and cozy. We happened to be in Cambria during a very hot few days, so we did not take advantage of the in-room fireplace, but also note there is no A/C, which is probably not needed the other 360 days of the year. The staff were helpful when needed, and otherwise the place was very quiet. Hotel provided a simple breakfast and an afternoon snack table. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: I think there are only 8 "Ocean Front" rooms (4 up and 4 down), worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlesurinn, Owner at Little Sur Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

The views from our Ocean front rooms definitely can't be beat, it's best to reserve them as far in advance as possible. We're glad you enjoyed our continental breakfast and afternoon refreshments. As you noted, due to our mild and moderate weather, nobody on the central coast has air-conditioning. Thank you for choosing Little Sur Inn for your destination, we hope to see you again!!

Sincerely,
Little Sur Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Real quiet, freindly, romantic hotel in a perfect spot by the beach. Free food on arrival and at breakfast. Huge rooms with table overllooking the sea. Peaceful courtyard-style deck to have breakfast and rest. A gem.

Also a great sea food resturant right next door.

We had grey whales just off the shore as we sat and drank a glass of wine. Truely memorable.

Room Tip: Second floor with sideways view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlesurinn, Owner at Little Sur Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

It's wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us, we love it when we exceed our guests expectations! As you mentioned, even our partial view rooms provide a relaxing view of the ocean. Thank you for choosing Little Sur Inn, we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Little Sur Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in this place in 2012 also, so this was a repeat visit.

It's a dear little place with a lovely location.

The rooms are really nice. Better than several Sheratons' rooms in other towns. (Only a Sheraton we stayed in in San Diego had a nicer room).

The staff are okay.

I liked that there was no charge for Internet, parking, or breakfast.

There is a fantastic restaurant next door if you're into seafood and a great ambience, too.

There are other places with much the same location on Moonstone Drive, and we haven't tried them. But I don't think you can go wrong with this one.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank bevanatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlesurinn, Owner at Little Sur Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We always love seeing our repeat guests. So many guests, such as yourself, love having the best seafood restaurant in the area located directly next door. It's especially nice to hear you appreciate the quality of our rooms. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Little Sur Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

You have lots to choose from on Moonstone Beach Drive, but we would stay here again or at their sister property, Moonstone Landing. We stayed 3 nights for our 18th Anniversary. Awesome views, clean, spacious room with hardwood floors and CLEAN, spacious bath. We stayed in an upstairs oceanfront unit with glass railings, large picture windows and sliding glass door for an unobstructed view of the pounding surf. What we liked the best was being able to sit inside (it can get alittle windy in the afternoons) in big comfy chairs facing this incredible view - warm and toasty. Nights were very quiet, except the ocean sounds, with no noise from other rooms.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms have awesome ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goletian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlesurinn, Owner at Little Sur Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

There's absolutely no better way than to celebrate your Anniversary in one of our Ocean Front rooms! We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and the quality of your room. We're glad you appreciated our newly installed hardwood floors. Aside from the obvious cleanliness issues with carpeting, we felt that hardwood flooring also provides a better atmosphere for those suffering from allergens, which we see more and more of. Thank you for sharing your experience, we hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
Little Sur Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend and can't wait to go back again. We had one of the second floor rooms with a balcony overlooking the ocean and it was lovely. It was spacious and we really enjoyed having a fireplace in our room. Our only complaint was that the bed wasn't as comfortable as I would have expected. Too hard. We'll be back again!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethsbca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlesurinn, Owner at Little Sur Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

The views from our oceanfront rooms definitely can't be beat. We hope you gave our Front Desk feedback regarding your mattress in order for us to make sure the bedding is okay and not just a matter of 'personal taste'. We're delighted to hear you'll be returning.

Sincerely,
Little Sur Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
898 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Sur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Sur Inn

Address: 6190 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range: £100 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Little Sur Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Sur Inn is a family-owned oceanfront Hotel located on Moonstone Beach Drive in the resort village of Cambria. We are a pet-free and smoke-free property. Most rooms have either a full ocean view or partial ocean view with a fireplace in every room. Relax in a jacuzzi tub in the full ocean view rooms. Every room has free internet access, Flat Screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Little Sur Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Sur Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing