We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This rental was absolutely phenomenal in every...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
the kitchenette
gurgling fountain
garden room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County, California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nick H
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This rental was absolutely phenomenal in every sense of the word.”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

There are few places that deliver everything, but this place has it all and more. Upon arriving we were welcomed by Denise who is so warm and made us feel very welcomed. The cottage was pristine, even better than the photos. So much character and personality in the place, it was truly a pleasure to stay at L'etoile De Mer.
Not only was the room great but the area is so lovely, a short distance from the town, we enjoyed exploring the community and went for long walks both in the mornings and evenings. Great walk to the beach from the house. Saw deer throughout the area. It was a delight. We cannot wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved it all... from the crisp clean linens and fresh fruit to the lovely patio and peach cobbler.
Liked least: Leaving...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ymurray
Menlo Park, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing Retreat”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed three nights at the Sea Star and had a fabulous time. The location is "off the beaten path", by which I mean it's not in downtown Cambria but in a lovely residential area that is a short walk from the coastal access and hiking trails. Denise had great suggestions for hiking, kayaking and wine tasting activities. The accommodations are tucked away at the back of the house, with a separate entrance so it feels very private. They have a lovely courtyard area just outside the room, which is perfect for relaxing with a good book. We definitely recommend the Sea Star.
Other reviewers have commented on the breakfast and it was perfect for us, but it depends on what you are expecting. This isn't a B&B that serves you a hot, elaborate breakfast at a specific time. They provide everything needed for simple breakfasts during your stay, and you have a small fridge, microwave, and coffee pot in the room. It was perfect for us to have simple, healthy breakfasts. Of course, we later would indulge in fabulous dinners and didn't have to feel too guilty because we had started the day out in moderation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KerryElle...
San Luis Obispo County, California
1 review
“L'Etoile de Mer is a lovely spot and I highly recommend it.”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We only live 40 miles from Cambria but staying at L'Etoile de Mer for the weekend felt like a real vacation. The hosts are delightful and have thoughtfully chosen décor and amenities to ensure their guests comfort and convenience. The guest space is private, quiet and very clean. L'Etoile de Mer is a lovely spot and I highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenSydney...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely unit in a quiet part of Cambria”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Very thoughtfully designed unit decorated with more beach bling decoration than you have seen in a month of Sundays, charming nevertheless. Location was ideal for us and enabled us to explore the Cambria and San Simeon area using Sea Spray as a base. Owner was friendly and attentive and provided us with plenty of information.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well designed facilities and fit-out
Liked least: No street lighting
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann8609
Half Moon Bay, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Special, Cozy Place to Stay!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Sea Star! Though connected to the hostess' home, the access and rental are completely private. We loved having breakfast--rich yogurt, healthy granola, fresh juice and coffee, homemade scones--outside on "our" own patio. The rental is well maintained, immaculately clean, charmingly decorated, and has internet access. We appreciated the cushy towels and plump pillows, and felt the kitchenette was tastefully and adequately stocked. The B and B is located in a quiet neighborhood, convenient to downtown Cambria, beaches, Hearst Castle, and wine-tasting. The hostess provided us with tons of materials about the area and was delightful and eager to make our stay comfortable. We very much look forward to returning to The Sea Star!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Breakfast on the private patio--
Liked least: Paying Trip Advisor's high fee--
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
psychrn10
Santa Clarita, California
2 reviews
“Perfect Get-A-Way”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Spotlessly clean!
Beautifully decorated!
Yummy breakfast!
Quiet!
Everything we needed, at our fingertips!
Close proximity to everything!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pat q
Glendale, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I agree with what everyone said except...”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
5
people found this review helpful

our host went out of town for that weekend. Everything was great the first 2 nights that we were there. She left us breakfast of 3 scones and some homemade granola, a small pitcher of milk and some yogurt and a large bowl of fruit. The breakfast was great as we were to going hiking for 3 1/2 hours. We ate the fruit throughout the day. I was looking forward to another wonderful breakfast Sunday morning, thinking her husband would leave it outside our door. Sunday is the day we enjoy breakfast in bed. Breakfast never came and we had eaten the scones, 1/2 of the granola and yogurt, all of the milk & fruit on Saturday. It was 8am and I went to ask her husband but he was gone. So we had some dry granola, a little yogurt, no milk for the coffee and some leftover tortillas from Sat. lunch. I was so disappointed. I sent her a nice email asking her about the breakfast, hoping that there was some mistake and this was her answer:
Hi Pat,
Thank you so much for staying with us and I do appreciate the feedback. I usually ask if you need anything else before Sunday and apologize about the scones and milk..
Sometimes we have food left over, you never know what people like and don't like.
I hope that you both return and I will be able to meet you both then and make up the Sunday breakfast..
All the best and glad you enjoyed your stay.
Blessings,
Denise

Now, what do you think that she should have said? Her answer only made me mad. Apparently the food she left for us was supposed to be for 2 days but she didn't tell us that. I expected a more sincere apology and a possibly an offer of a small refund for the breakfast. I've stayed at a lot of B&B's and have always received a hearty breakfast and an offer of "Let me know if you need anything else". Now I believe that her husband really doesn't have much to do with her B&B because he never really offered anything. I would tell anyone to stay there just as long as she is around. I wish I could go back but now I have bad feelings about it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I really didn't want to sayyes or no for recommending to a friend
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2014
Dear Pat,

I am sorry you were so disappointed and apologize again for not explaining about the breakfast to your expectation before hand. We are a home stay B&B that has the breakfast basket available upon arrival and a self catering kitchenette.
It is a little different than a larger B&B where a full breakfast is being served.
I am sorry that i was called a way and was unable to offer you a better reception and attention to your needs.

Thank you for staying with us in Cambria.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing