We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An authentic tea with friendly hosts”
Review of The Tea Cozy - CLOSED

The Tea Cozy
Price range: US$7 - US$35
Cuisines: American, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: The Tea Cozy is an authentic English tea room located in Cambria, California on historic Bridge Street and residing in the Thorndyke House built in the 1870's. We are just minutes away from America's enchanted Hearst Castle and proudly serve homemade traditional British lunches and tea all day. The Tea Cozy is pleased to offer an array of tea blends that you won't find anywhere else. We also carry gifts for the tea lover and a wide variety of English groceries. Please visit us or shop online.
Goleta, California
Level Contributor
164 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An authentic tea with friendly hosts”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

One of our personal favorites for an authentic tea experience is the Tea Cozy. The selection of teas is very broad including darjeeling, black, and herb teas. The assorted treats are always well prepared. Scones changed a bit since our previous visit but they still arrive at table fresh from the oven. Very intimate space but great for meeting other tea lovers. Go here when you want to relax and receive great service. The little shop also has a nice assortment of gifts.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blamboley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    19
    4
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing escape and dining experience”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Have dined at the Tea Cozy many times. The food is always excellent and beautifully prepared. Original entrees, soups, and deserts never fail to please. An excellent selection of teas. Beautiful garden patio for dining or quaint turn of the century home.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cambriakathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Went here for lunch it was delicious. The tea was perfectly made and a great complement to the sandwiches and sweets. The scone was more like a biscuit but delicious with the clotted cream and jam. The egg salad was so yummy. The atmosphere was very calm and wonderful for sitting and reading for a peaceful hour.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebekah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
244 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Little gem in Cambria”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We hadn't been back to the Tea Cozy in a few years, but it was just as good when we returned recently on our way to Hearst Castle. They still serve traditional afternoon tea (we had it at 11:00 in the morning) and you can get the full traditional tea or a scaled down version with just sandwiches and scones and no sweets and a wide selection of teas.
It is interesting to note that they serve a variety of traditional lunches in case you are not the type that likes the little tea sandwiches. The building dates back to the late 1800s and was made out redwood lumber from Big Sur, some of which you can see as paneling in the dining rooms. There is plenty of parking off and on the street and a short walk to the main shopping street in the older part of Cambria.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chaslin19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"EXCELLENT"”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Went there for the first time last week. I have lived in Cambria 25 years very friendly excellent service and FINALLY found a burger cooked the way I wanted and still hot. The home made red pepper soup was excellent. I will definately be back maybe 2 or 3 times a week. Thanks!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tea Cozy also viewed

Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing