We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway”
Review of Cambria Shores Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cambria Shores Inn
Ranked #6 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The location is outstanding. The rooms have been remodeled and are very comfortable. The bathroom area feels very spa like. the service is exceptionally friendly and helpful. I was not traveling with my dog this time, but didn't get too homesick because of all the other dogs that were staying there. Absolutely love this place and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Room 24 had a great patio view and a pretty good view from the front window too.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
There are newer reviews for Cambria Shores Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is definitely a dog friendly hotel. One will become immediately aware of that fact when making a reservation and they ask for the name of the VIP ~ Very Important Pooch! When checking in they also provided a basket for our dog which included doggie treats. The room was very clean and big enough for two adults and one very big dog. It also included a fireplace as well as a small frig and microwave.

At 5:00 pm, appetizers and sparkling cider were available in the registration office and at 6:00 pm fresh brownies were available for guests to enjoy on one of the Adirondack chairs on the lawn. Then, at 8:30 every morning a basket with some breakfast goodies was left by your door. It really was a lovely stay and a great location for anyone who wants to travel with their pets. It was our first long distance trip with ours and an absolutely great experience.

Room Tip: While some rooms do have patios we choose the one without because we have a big dog. I believe that...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leslie1736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We like to travel with our dog and stayed at this inn years ago when we visited Hearst Castle and it was such a memorable experience, we decided to stay again as we traveled up the coast to San Francisco. We were traveling with family and two dogs this time and this place is ideal if you want to break up a road trip up the coast for a more leisurely drive.

The setting is gorgeous. I live in an area that is near beautiful beaches, but the view from Cambria Shores Inn is a jaw dropper. The room arrangement is more like a motel than a true inn, and the beach is across the street, but we could see the ocean from our room and the grounds are cleverly designed so you are enveloped by the lovely landscape with chairs that are perfect for enjoying the view. The boardwalk is literally steps away and what a lovely setting to get some outdoor exercise.

The inn is very dog-friendly as other reviewers have mentioned. During our stay, I'd say about 80% of the guests were travelling with dogs, which makes for a more personal experience. We received a call from the staff before our stay asking about our dogs and their names, and a personalized doggy welcome bag with treats was waiting for them in our room, along with towels, a bed cover and bowls. It's important to note that you cannot leave your pets in the room unattended, so if you are planning on going to Hearst Castle, look into a pet sitter before you go.

They have remodeled since our last stay and the rooms are well organized. The fridge and counter setup would be very useful for an extended stay. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are so clean, you'd never know they allow pets.

We plan on returning again for more than a one night stay in the future. Lodging is not cheap here, but the location, free snacks, beverages and breakfast baskets delivered to your door make it worth it. When we stayed here, we also received a discount for payment in cash or check which was nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank The_Missus_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We took our two teenage kids on a mini-vacation on the coast. This hotel was awesome! The room was super clean, comfortable, and quiet. We enjoyed the basket breakfast every day. We enjoyed the brownies and a glass of wine while sitting in the adirondack chairs watching the sunset. My kids enjoyed the brownies while they played card games. It was a great place to slow down and get re-connected. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Was in Cambria for along weekend with friends & had the pleasure to stay at Cambria Shores Inn. It's a beautiful setting right across from the ocean. The rooms were expensive, but scrupulously clean. The bed was comfortable. The fireplace was a welcome addition. Each room had a mini fridge which was great because the breakfast basket was completely lame (just pick up what you want from the grocery store). Dog friendly place. Go!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My wife and I recently stayed here with our dog. My first impression of the property was that the main office was a bit crowded. When we went to check in there was another couple there and my wife and I could barely sit on the couch without bumping into the other couple. Once we got checked in we went to our room and we were pleasantly surprised, it was quite nice and had a gorgeous view of the ocean. Our first night stay was wonderful listening to the waves crashing while laying on the super comfortable bed was a perfect way to fall asleep. The breakfast baskets came out around 9am which is a little late for my tastes since I am usually up at 6am for a brief jog and the wife wants to be out the door wine tasting by 8am. So we ended up having to go out to breakfast just to get out day started at the time we liked. All in all I would recommend this hotel to a friend that wants to bring their pooch on vacation with them.

Room Tip: Definitely, ask for a room with an ocean view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank McKinleyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Love the motel..only slight negative...after a long drive needed to pee and the nice lady that checked me in was a bit slow in allowing me to use the restroom. Might have been my perception.
The rooms are comfy and bed has lots of blankets and a wonderful comforter on top. Gas fireplace with a timer..great for sleeping. The air/heat has a fan option with speeds..loved it as I like the air moving in my room. Heard nothing from surrounding rooms...but, the aroma of POT did seem to find its' way into my room.
Rain shower in tub is awesome..details in the room are great. Pick rooms 13-17 for an oceanview.

Room Tip: for an oceanview pick rooms 13-16...or room I think 25 on the north end.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.8 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
422 reviews
0.1 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
865 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,032 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Shores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Shores Inn

Address: 6276 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1804
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range: £145 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cambria Shores Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a AAA Three Diamond Property. All of our rooms have custom furniture, flat screen TVs, upgraded white linens and amenities. All rooms have rain showers and / or soaking tubs and deluxe rooms have whirlpool baths. Come relax in our beautiful rooms, and enjoy our amazing succulent gardens. Attention all Dog Lovers... We are one of the Top 46 Fido Friendly Hotels reviewed on their world tour in 2008. We are very proud of our V.I.P. program, amenities, special attention and love your 4 legged family receives. Four paws up! We do have three rooms set aside for people that do not have dogs, or have severe allergies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cambria Shores Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Shores Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing