We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, Quiet Retreat”
Review of Cambria Shores Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cambria Shores Inn
Ranked #6 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Quaint, Quiet Retreat”
Reviewed 24 December 2008

We had reservations at another property on Moonstone Beach Dr. but when we arrived, we were extremely disappointed with the attitude of the front desk gal, which was an automatic turn off to the entire property. With disgust, we left and started our drive north on Moonstone Beach when we came upon the Cambria Shores Inn. At first, I was taken aback by its 1950's exterior appearance, but once we met Scott and looked at one of the only available rooms, we were ready to sign on the dotted line! It is truly a remarkable place to stay. Even though the property is "dog friendly," we were never disturbed by the barking of a dog nor were we offended by any lingering odor of a dog in the room. The room had everything a traveler could want or need. I was impressed, not only with there being a coffee pot, refrigerator and microwave, but also with "real" glasses and coffee cups, an ice tub with tongs, cork remover, and "real" wine glasses. There was a fireplace in the room along with a very efficient heater. The bed was extremely comfortable and the linens fresh and quite warm. All guests were treated to cookies in the afternoon with ready availability of fresh coffee, tea and hot water. In the morning, about 8:15, a lovely basket of breakfast foods was delivered to our room. It hung on a hanger right outside the door. In it we found croissant, ham and cheese, fresh fruit, orange juice and muffins. The only real drawback that I found was the enormous shower head centered overhead, in the middle of the tub. I felt like I was in a rainstorm when I took my shower. The tub was incredible though. It had hand grips for safety. Another minor drawback, if there could have been a door placed at the entrance to the sink area, it would have separated the sink/closet/dressing area from the main room. The reason, with the beautiful view of the ocean, we enjoyed having the blinds pulled up but could not have privacy when dressing. Other than that, I found it to be a very quaint and quiet retreat, with truly great views of the Pacific, unlike many of the other Moonstone properties along the ocean frontage road. We plan to return to this family owned and operated Inn in the near future!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Shower head location
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dancingeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    57
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
65
167
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2008

This place is like heaven for dog owners. Very dog friendly. We brought our two dogs up from Los Angeles, after booking over the phone. The fellow who checked us in was very nice- I think his name was Tim. He kind of reminded us of the Gorton's Fisherman. If he put on a yellow rainjacket he would be a dead-ringer for him. He even smoked a pipe (outside the office) just like the Gorton's Fisherman.

Anyway, I got off track. The people who run this place are very nice, and seem to love dogs. While many may want the "ocean view" rooms, there is actually one great room (I think it was 11?) that sits in the back and seemed larger and quieter than the other rooms, where people walk by and also park their cars. Another great thing is that the hotel serves brownies in the late afternoon.

  • Liked — Brownies and the Gorton's Fisherman
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkeyser27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2008

My husband and I stayed here for a few days for the second time this September. Last year, we loved this little gem so much, we extended our stay twice! We bring our two bijons (who also love it), but this year, some non-dog-owning friends came with us, and they loved it as much as we do. The renovated rooms are beautifully decorated, comfortable, have internet access, flat screen tvs, plush linens, mini-fridge, microwave, and coffeemaker. A simple continental breakfast is delivered to the rooms each morning, there are afternoon snacks and delicious brownies at night. It is across the street from beautiful, quiet, Moonstone Beach, where we enjoyed long walks on the boardwalk. It is a short walk to the Sea Chest restaurant, which if you love seafood and ocean views, can't be beat! For us, it is a wonderful, rejuvenating retreat!

  • Liked — The personal touches of this delightful, family-owned inn
  • Disliked — Sometimes a large SUV can be parked in front of your ocean-view window
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dpierce5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2008

Cambria Shores has a wonderful, welcoming feeling and it made our stay completely memorable. The owners are so friendly, and they made impeccable choices with the recent renovation-from the hand-crafted woodwork to the moss green carpet and the fresh, crisp white bedding. It was so cozy-like sleeping in a big marshmallow! The room was incredibly clean with no traces of dog anywhere. I came with my 2 year old daughter and my mother, and it was perfect. The breakfast basket reminded me of stays in Europe, and socializing with the dog owners was really a treat for my daughter who loves animals. The beach is across the street and down a staircase. Great for beach combing-find a moonstone! And don't miss the elephant seals-they are very surreal. Harmony Cellars is a nice winery if you want something close by. This is the best place I have stayed in a really long time. I would definitely return...

  • Liked — cozy clean rooms, nice hosts, tea selection
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joivie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2008

This is a "Dog Friendly" property. People friendly too.

The room was very comfortable, well appointed and furnished. The bed was very comfortable. Coffee maker, mini fridge, microwave. Dog bowls (water and food). Gas fireplace.

In the ofice, they have dog cookies, coffee, and the most delicious brownies! In the afternoon, there is a tray of cheese and crackers, crudites/dip, and a bottle of wine.

Sean and Dean were very hospitable, offering brownies, wine and snacks, and they helped us with our restaurant selection (we needed a restaurant with a patio to allow us to keep our dog with us) for dinner.

The hotel is on Moonstone Beach Drive. It is NOT directly on the beach, but is above it and across the street. You walk across the street to a wooden boardwalk. (There are a LOT of tiny squirrels [or maybe some related animal] that live under the walkway and jump underneath for safety as people and dogs approach.) There are paths down to the beach. There are no hotels directly on Moonstone Beach.

Unfortunately we didn't have time for more than a few short visits to the beach -- one dusk walk along the beach, one moon-light walk and a brief play on the beach in the morning. Next visit, I hope to spend at least two nights, so we can spend some more time at the beach and relaxing at the hotel.

Cambria Shores Inn was not originally my first choice for a place to stay near Hearst Castle, but it is now. I could not have been happier with the facilities and people.

  • Liked — Pet Friendly
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike45LC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2008

My husband and I drove up from So Cal during a weekend get-away and we enjoyed a pleasant evening at the inn. The rooms were spotless and tastefully decorated. The bed was comfortable and the bedding was luxurious. It was very chilly outside but we were very cozy in the room. I appreciated the fact that I could not tell if dogs had stayed in the room recently. We also enjoyed the big flat screen television and the free DVD loan from the hotel plus all the standard cable channels. There was a yummy plate of brownies in our room waiting for us - such a nice touch. The room also had a nice selection of teas and quality coffee for breakfast. Since we had tickets for Hearst Castle (about 10 minutes north), we left just after enjoying the breakfast basket the hotel left on the door.

  • Liked — Nearly new feel of the decor & bed linens.
  • Disliked — The breakfast croissant & muffin could have been better.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank OCmomOrangeCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2008

Everything is newly renovated, with quality sheets, duvet cover, thick towels, flat screen TV, DVD player, internet, light dimmers, remote controls, frig, microwave, and dishware.The layout of the motel is a traditional old fashioned "drive up to your room " style. You can hear cars come and go, but mostly you hear the waves! There are several pet friendly motels in the area, but this one really welcomes pets. They have doggy towels, a dog bathtub, bowls, and bones. If you want privacy, you've got it, but the central lawn entices dogs and people to socialize out front. We brought 2 goldens, and met several other friendly dogs who all had fun playing together. The boardwalk outside, and the Cambria dog park, near the entrance to town, as well as a dog beach 10 minutes away, directly under the Cayucos Pier, make for some happy cannines. I am very fussy about hair and smells and our room was immaculate. You'll like this place even if you don't have a pet, and the management and cleaning staff are super. Be aware that you must cancel before 7 days of arrival, or you may forfeit 1 night's charges...and there is a $20 cancellation fee anytime you cancel. There is also a small extra charge for pets, but well worth it. Prices are lowest during the week. -- There are 2 restuarants within a few blocks of the motel. In one direction is the Moonstone Beach Bar and Grill, an overpriced, really bad place that smells, and kept me wondering if I was going to get sick all night after trying their shrimp scampi which was boiled in some strange liquid solution. Instead, try the Cambria Sea Chest Oyster Bar, which several people raved about for seafood, (no credit cards), just a few blocks in the opposite direction. We also ate at the Wild Ginger Cafe (Asian food) in town and liked that very much. Can't wait to go back to the Cambria Shores Inn, a great seaside motel.

  • Liked — Newly renovated, clean, good bedding.
  • Disliked — Strict cancellation policy
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling-Goldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Shores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Shores Inn

Property: Cambria Shores Inn
Address: 6276 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1804
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Cambria Shores Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a AAA Three Diamond Property. All of our rooms have custom furniture, flat screen TVs, upgraded white linens and amenities. All rooms have rain showers and / or soaking tubs and deluxe rooms have whirlpool baths. Come relax in our beautiful rooms, and enjoy our amazing succulent gardens. Attention all Dog Lovers... We are one of the Top 46 Fido Friendly Hotels reviewed on their world tour in 2008. We are very proud of our V.I.P. program, amenities, special attention and love your 4 legged family receives. Four paws up! We do have three rooms set aside for people that do not have dogs, or have severe allergies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cambria Shores Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Shores Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing