We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get there early and relax” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Chest Oyster Bar

Sea Chest Oyster Bar
Ranked #5 of 47 Restaurants in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood, Soups, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, View, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Get there early and relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Fabulous food, don't let the wait throw you off. The service is excellent and the food is exemplary. FRESH Seafood is the key and it lives up to the name. The calamari is GREAT!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RhoGia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    669
    299
    130
    54
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
112 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fresh Fish, Done Their Way”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We were staying nearby and wanted a restaurant that we could walk to, and chose the Sea Chest.
They open at 5:30 and we were in quite a long line for a table. When they started seating people, we were lucky enough to be in the first seating. Hearing the people in the line raving about the place set our expectations high. It had a pleasant atmosphere, but no view, at least from our table. I imagine that those early in the line had tables with a view of Moonstone Beach. They had a list of 5 or 6 fresh fish, we chose Halibut and Snapper. They only prepare it lightly sauted and only have one type of potato along with a choice of soup or Salad. The crab chowder was good, but I had better at The Franciscan Crab House in Frisco a few days earlier. The fish was very fresh, but didn't seem to be seasoned at all and the Snapper was a little dry. I guess I expected a little better for the price and the hype. A decent meal, but nothing special.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OshkoshTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
105 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Seafood on the ocean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Party of 4. Had no trouble getting in with minimal wait after reading that it was a hard place to get reservations. Get there by 5 for 5:30 start. Be aware that they don't take reservations and are cash only though oddly, they take checks. Good starters on the menu though we didn't partake. This place is about fish. Fresh and simply broiled perfectly with butter. Excellent clam chowder to start. Sides were also good. Highly recommend if you just want perfect fish, no frills.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lleichtman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

People line up 30 minutes before opening to eat here. The food is great, extensive wine list, excellent service. Ther is a fire pit outside to sit by and sip wine while you wait for a table. CASH ONLY!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
149 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Worth waiting for...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

First come first served we arrived at around 730 we expected to wait having read the reviews and were very happy to sit and enjoy good wine and beer at the cosy bar. We were advised 40 min wait -don't think it was that long at all. Portions huge ( maybe just seemed that way as we are Britsh!) helpful friendly staff kitchen open plan great to see everything being freshly prepared. Husband loved his casino oysters I had mushrooms enough to feed an army followed by dressed salad shark and shrimp pasta which were both fresh and tasty . Def try and be patient with the wait .

Helpful?
Thank Mutlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Chest Oyster Bar also viewed

Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Sea Chest Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing