We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sunset great food no credit cards!”

Sea Chest Oyster Bar
Ranked #5 of 48 Restaurants in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, View, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great sunset great food no credit cards!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Walked down the street from our hotel to this recommended restaurant. We had just gotten our glasses of wine from the bar when our table became available. For appetizers we ordered the clam chowder and a plate of oysters. All was yummy. Our mains were the halibut which they broil with butter and little seasoning. Nothing fancy here. The other main was the scampi pasta which was excellent very rich and very large. Nice wine list, no credit cards.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pindawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    732
    316
    143
    61
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth the wait if you love Seafood”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

This is a great cash only dinner house on the water. Id you love to cook sit at the bar preferably on corner towards the door. You will learn more about prep and cook on as all of the main dishes are prepared. All of the entrees looked great and portions are big.

Helpful?
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“It's worth going out of your way for”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We have now been there four times over the past 10 years - after we drove Big Sur. Their cioppino is so good that I have gotten it each time. My wife loves their oyster stew.

It is very popular and the wait can be long. 45 minutes is certainly not unusual. Also, they are a cash only restaurant so be forewarned.

It was one of our very favorite meals this winter.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank profgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Consistent”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

When we are in the area this is our Friday night go to, food is consistent, as is the staff, remember bring cash

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Totally disappointed”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I walked here from the hotel we were staying at because of the good reviews. For a Friday night we only waited 5 minutes to be seated which was faster than expected. Ordered the shrimp cocktail app which was good and spicy. Beer and wine is priced well. Those are the positives. Ordered the calamari steak and king salmon for entrees and was super disappointed. Both lacked flavor and could be easily made at home - nothing exceptional. You have to pay for water, which they then pour in a plastic cup - odd when you're paying $30 a plate. This was because of the draught, understandable but give me a real glass please? Lastly, when we ordered waters and another beer they just set them on the table and we had to open them and pour them ourselves. All in all it was a big bummer and we won't be going back.

Helpful?
Thank Tia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Chest Oyster Bar also viewed

Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Sea Chest Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing