We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best seafood restaurant ever!”

Sea Chest Oyster Bar
Ranked #5 of 47 Restaurants in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood, Soups, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chino, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best seafood restaurant ever!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The Sea Chest is a great little restaurant with fresh seafood and the most gorgeous view of the ocean. It is our favorite place to eat in Cambria. There are no reservations, so get there early to wait in line before they open. It is worth the wait. Also, cash or check only.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    699
    307
    138
    58
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Sit at the bar!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

This place has the best seafood, hands down. The line to get in is ridiculous at 5:30 pm when they open. People bring wine and beach chairs and show up at 4:30 to get a good spot in line. You don't have to wait in line, you can put your name on the list and walk the beach, but be prepared to wait a while on the weekends. We recommend getting a seat at the bar, it's where all the kitchen action happens, you can talk and even share food with your neighbors, and the service can't be beat.

Helpful?
Thank ColleenQD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The wait is worth it!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We waited an hour, which was fine since we sat outside and enjoyed the beautiful view. The best swordfish EVER! We enjoyed sitting at the food counter watching the cooks work their magic.
Pros: Amazing fresh fish, good wine and beautiful view by the fire pit while you wait
Cons: No reservations and cash only

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Soozde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
2 reviews
“Overrated, bland, not what we expected”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Based on the reviews, we waited an hour to be seated at the bar to have dinner. The benefit of sitting at the bar was getting a first-hand view of chef's cooking too. We were surprised at how ordinary the food was given the high rating and an expensive menu. Swordfish was grilled medium rare with some potatoes thrown in; Clam linguini was salty in its salt water broth, and shrimp scampi was not tasty.
Beware of raving reviews

Helpful?
Thank Raj Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One of the Best Meals on the Central Coast”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My wife and I go there on special occasions....We love to sit at the oyster bar, and watch the chef's make the food right in front of us. You better get there early, the line goes down the street. You can bring a bottle of wine, and have a glass or two while you wait for the restaurant to open, and watch the ocean across the street. The menu is always amazing. They offer specials with various fresh fish, mussels, oysters, calamari....its all good. We have yet to have a bad meal there...Make sure you bring cash, no credit or debit accepted.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dolphindude77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Chest Oyster Bar also viewed

Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Sea Chest Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing