We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Comfy”
Review of Moonstone Landing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moonstone Landing
Ranked #4 of 23 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This was our first time in Cambria (what a shame!) in August and it was still only about 68 degrees at the hottest, but honestly, you get used to it quickly and I'm a VERY cold person. After living in southern Cali all our lives it's sad that we waited this long to visit the area. We were a little intimidated; we didnt' know how the area really was in terms of accommodations and crowd. Let me say, this area is as secluded as you're going to get in a beautiful beachy area. The Hotel/B&B Moonstone Landing was very nice, and DIRECTLY across from where you can "mine" for moonstones, I think it might be one of the best locations for that activity. We actually stayed here and at the FogCatcher Inn but the kids and hubby liked this place better. It was a little more modern and updated/crisp, and was so small and quaint. Our room was upstairs towards the back where you check in, and where the Jacuzzi and breakfast room is. The breakfast room is small, but they have a few patio tables outside. Most people grab their items and go back to their rooms from what I noticed. The actual food itself was just "ok". Nothing really hot, other than the Oatmeal and the toast/bagels that you put in the toaster, but it got the job done in terms of slaying the hunger. The staff was so nice it was hard to believe. There are tons of hotels and cute B&B's to stay here, so I heavily relied on TripAdvisor to guide me and the reviewers were right on point with this place. Our room had a partial ocean view, and it was close enough to hear the surf rolling in and out which was heavenly. Parking was a breeze too and the place is right next to this seafood restaraunt if you don't want to drive into town. I honestly only had one complaint for our stay here, the bathroom door does not have a lock, and when traveling with kids, that is a MUST...let's just say the bathroom faces a window, which looks directly into the bathroom...fill in the blanks...

BTW, one delimmea we faced is whether we should stay here in Cambria or San Simeon since we wanted to visit Hearst Caste. Now that I've gone, I'd stay here in Cambria again because the drive wasn't bad at all and the hotels in Sam Simeon just didn't look as nice as the ones in Cambria, but of course, everyone will have to judge for themselves!

We can't WAIT to go back again!

Room Tip: If you have kids, the rooms towards the back may be better because they are closer to the lobby, foo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seashellstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with everyone. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our property. Our family built this hotel 10 years ago and, therefore, is much newer and up to date than most of the other properties on Moonstone Beach Drive. Being family owned, we pride ourselves in providing a quality stay for our guests. As you mentioned, Hearst Castle is only 8 miles north of our hotel, making our place an ideal location to stay while visiting the castle. We value all guest input as a way for us to measure where any changes or improvements can be made or, just to hear they had a pleasant stay. Thank you for choosing Moonstone Landing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

409 - 415 of 675 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2012

This is a great place to stay in Cambria! The room was wonderful with a great view. We did not miss A/C, slept with the window open, listening to the sounds of the ocean. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and we even got an upgrade to an upstairs room. The breakfast was very good. Great location if you are touring Hearst Castle.

Room Tip: Plenty of restaurant choices about a mile away in downtown Cambria.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpcdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Hello,
It's great to hear you enjoyed your recent visit at our property. Like most Hotels here in Cambria, due to our unbelievably incredible climate, air conditioning is not necessary and, therefore, would be hard to find at any lodging facility. We hope you can visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed here late July for our anniversary, partly because so many other hotels in this area were booked, and partly because it was reasonably priced. It's right across the road from the beach. Our first night was downstairs with a partial ocean view - very nice. The room wasn't fancy but nicely furnished and had a nice homey feel. The second night we stayed upstairs in one with a full ocean view & balcony - wow! Wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amastelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Hello,
It's wonderful to know you enjoyed your anniversary at our Hotel. With beach access directly across the street from us, it can be fun to search for Moonstones on the beach. We pride ourselves in providing a quality experience at a reasonable rate. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I have stayed at other places on Moonstone Beach, but this was my first time at Moonstone Landing. It definitely won't be my last. We had an upstairs, ocean view room and it was so worth the extra money. The rooms are clean and the staff was very friendly.
However, the view is spectacular. We couldn't leave the balcony until after sunset as we didn't want to miss anything.

Room Tip: Spend the extra for the upstairs room with the ocean view. Spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Hello,
We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We can honestly say that in Cambria our property has some of the most spectacular ocean views from our Ocean Front rooms! Most guests' in the ocean front rooms prefer to take our free continental breakfast and afternoon refreshments back to their patio or balcony in order to enjoy the views. For a slightly lower cost, our partial ocean view rooms also provide a view of the water. We hope you visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed two nights before going to Hearst Castle(about 10 min. away). Room was spacious and nicely decorated...and clean. Motel was located across street from ocean...next to a popular seafood restaurant. Nice boardwalk to walk along beach. Complimentary continental-style breakfast...not a whole lot of choices...but we were not there early...so maybe we missed something?
No A/C in the room....which may bother some people.
Staff was nice and accommodated our early arrival.

Room Tip: Rooms in front have balconies--un obstructed view of ocean. Our room, further back, had slight view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kemjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Hello,
Thank you for your insightful review of our property. Aside from the natural beauty that Cambria has to offer, Hearst Castle is one of the main attractions for Cambria and is just 8 miles north of our property. We also have the added benefit of being directly across the street from beach access where tourists can enjoy looking for Moonstones. Directly next door to us is the most popular Seafood Restaurant in this area, The Sea Chest.

Thank you for choosing Moonstone Landing, we hope you visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

location right on the beach. We chose to save a little money and have a room with a partial view. View would have been nice at the front, but depends on how important that is to you. Rooms very nice. Rooms heated by fireplaces (if needed) and that makes for great ambiance. Clean, quiet, friendly. Refrigerator and microwave included in our room. Spacious. NIce breakfast in the morning. Only two negatives were the hours of the hot tub - closed at 9pm. We would have liked to have enjoyed this in the evening but it closed so early. I do understand that, though, as it is right outside a few rooms. Also, front desk gal was friendly but seemed rushed and stressed each time we were around her. While eating breakfast she would be talking on the phone loudly, helping potential guests and seemd somewhat frantic. Sort of hard to have a relaxing breakfast while she was stressing. These would not prevent us from going back, however. Very nice place.

Room Tip: rooms with a view would be nice if you want to spend the money. If you won't be in your room mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AW28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Hello,
Thank you for your review and input. You will find that outdoor jacuzzis at almost all hotels close somewhere between 9:00pm and 10:00pm, this is due to safety reasons for both the guests' as well as the general public. With the breakfast room being located by the Front Desk, during the summer when we have full occupancy every day of the week it can be busier than usual. Guests' can always take a tray of food to either the outdoor patio directly by the breakfast room or back to their room. Thank you for staying at Moonstone Landing, we hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

My 83yr. old mother and I try to get to Cambria at least once a year, and when we do, we stay at Moonstone Landing. We get an ocean view double room ... very comfortable, clean and spacious with stellar ocean views. We usually stay 3-7 days (depending on my work schedule/budget) and love every minute of our stay. The staff is very friendly and accommodating, and the housekeeping staff are wonderful. If you need to relax this is the place -- coffee in the morning on the porch watching the early-bird surfers; short nap after lite lunch with the sea breeze blowing in the room; a good book and glass of wine on the porch in the late aftenoon enjoying the afternoon sun; take-out dinner in room watching the sun set. A week of total relaxation and the batteries are recharged and ready to return to the chaos of the city (albeit reluctantly). We love Moonstone Landing...and the Village of Cambria is charminging.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Hello,
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your return visit to our Hotel. Our staff takes great strides in ensuring a memorable stay for all of our guests'. We can honestly say we offer some of the most breathtaking full Ocean View rooms with a private patio or balcony. Thank you for sharing your experience, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.5 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
892 reviews
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,144 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonstone Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonstone Landing

Address: 6240 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range: £99 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Moonstone Landing 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonstone Landing is a family-owned oceanfront Hotel located on Moonstone Beach Drive in the resort village of Cambria. We are a pet-free and smoke-free property. All rooms have either a full ocean view or partial ocean view with a fireplace in every room. Relax in a jacuzzi tub in the full ocean view rooms. Every room has free internet access, flat screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Moonstone Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing