We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome”
Review of Moonstone Landing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moonstone Landing
Ranked #2 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“awesome”
Reviewed 27 August 2008

very friendly staff beautiful room with jacuzzi bath and stunning sea views.tea and coffee available all day with free continental breakfast room not cheap but worth it will try and visit again

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meadowtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    202
    41
    10
    6
See reviews for
98
413
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
247 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2008

It's all about staying in a beach front property ,and I'm so glad I made that decision. I did make it to downtown Cambria, but wow, what a great location to stay right on the water. I was in a downstairs room, and with no elevator, appreciated being able to park literally steps from my room. Windows that open and let in the wonderful sea air and sounds. Even though my room was on the first floor, I could leave the windows open and that was such a treat. Nice walking path across the street along the beach, decent beach access too. Front desk staff - Mary is wonderful , the owners should give her a raise! Friendly, helpful, enthusiastic, a giver. Barbara - not so much. Spoke to Barbara on the phone and checked in w/her, wish I would have gotten Mary instead. Staff makes such a difference in guest experience, important to remember they are the first impression a guest has of a place. Decent amenities - nice toiletries and other comforts in the room. Very small hot tub, not worth it, way crowded if more than one or two people. Breakfast was okay, but I agree with other reviewers that bowl of hard boiled eggs would be nice, as well as maybe a bunch of bananas. But what was there was not bad, and it was set out nicely and attended to. Afternoon nibbles were a nice touch, and certainly welcome for a quick snack. As other reviewers mentioned, it could have made a light meal if you've been doing lots of big eating meals earlier in the day. There are trays available to take food to your room from both breakfast and the afternoon munchies - a homey touch. Overall a worthwhile choice in Cambria - beachfront is the way to go!

  • Liked — beachfront access
  • Disliked — one of the front desk staff
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2008

After a long day in the car the Moonstone Landing was a welcome relief. The Office staff could not be more helpful or friendly. If we had a question about Hearst Castle, dinning in town we received great information. Sitting in the morning enjoying our breakfast you heard repeat customers planning another stay. Our room was downstairs near the vending machines. I thought it would be on the noisy side yet once in the room it was silent. The bed was very comfortable, the room very clean. Next door to the Hotel is a seafood restaurant, across the not busy street is the beach. We have nothing but good things to say about our weekend stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — steep narrow driveway
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank stoutbrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2008

The location is very nice. Our room was large and comfortable. We were expecting a much better continental breakfast for the price of this establishment. I would rate the breakfast as A "C" i.e. an egg dish would be nice or even hard boiled eggs. Have had better meals at other hotels. The cheese bar in the evening was nice but lacked the wine to go with the cheese.

  • Disliked — the price and food
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timkathyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Coast England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2008

We stayed at this hotel for one night on our drive down from San Francisco to San Diego, it was heavenly, its outside appearance hides the little gem of a boutique style hotel lying within. Bob on the front desk was extremely helpful, we upgraded to an ocean front room and enjoyed a few hours relaxing on the patio overlooking the ocean. The room was a very generous size, easily big enough for the 4 of us (2 adults and 2 children), all the little touches and attention to detail were much appreciated as was the jacuzzi bath- the breakfast although simply and light was just right as we set off on another drive. The walk along the boardwalk and the waves lapping the beach was near perfect. We ate at the Sow's Ear and had one of the best meals of our hoilday.

  • Liked — The Ocean front room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windycrabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2008

We stayed in Cambria for one night during our recent trip to California. The hotel was opposite the beach and was very nice. We had booked an ocean view room with balcony, and we were very pleased with our choice - room was large with tv, dvd player (dvd's available to borrow from reception), table and chairs...patio doors led onto the large balcony which also had table and chairs. Bathroom was good sized and modern. Breakfasts were continental and there was also wine and cheese hour in the afternoon. All in all a lovely little hotel.. the main reason we booked it was it's location to Hearst Castle, which we visited in the afternoon and was a great excursion. Would recommend the seafood restaurant next door, we had a great meal there and it was very reasonably priced. My one and only disappointment was that the hot tub wasn't very priviate, right next to reception.

  • Liked — View from our room
  • Disliked — shame that the jacuzzi was overlooked by reception
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NK135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2008

Moonstone Landing is one of the nice places on the beach here in Cambria. My one recommendation is to get a PARTIAL oceanview room close to the front of the hotel. We called the hotel directly and asked for it and got room #207, which is the FIRST room upstairs on the side. We saved over $100 per nite so we put that towards dinner and wine tastings! You really don't need to pay such an upcharge since you can simply walk across the street at any time to stroll along the boardwalk.

We had a second floor room for less noise and it also had a fireplace but no jacuzzi in-room. The better restaurants are in town, only a 2-3 minute drive to get there. Hearst Castle is only 10 minutes away as is Piedras Blancas Beach with the elephant seals, a great photo op!

  • Liked — Close to the Beach
  • Disliked — No Pool
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank perfectlyfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.5 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,644 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonstone Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonstone Landing

Property: Moonstone Landing
Address: 6240 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Moonstone Landing 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonstone Landing is a family-owned oceanfront Hotel located on Moonstone Beach Drive in the resort village of Cambria. We are a pet-free and smoke-free property. All rooms have either a full ocean view or partial ocean view with a fireplace in every room. Relax in a jacuzzi tub in the full ocean view rooms. Every room has free internet access, flat screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Moonstone Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing