We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.”
Review of Moonstone Landing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moonstone Landing
Ranked #3 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beverly Hills, CA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location.”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Only stayed one night to visit Hearst Castle. The hotel was under construction so there was a lot going on. Our room was second floor, no real view and across the hall from the lobby. Not the perfect room location. I would love to stay in one of the beach front rooms next time, but those need to be booked well in advance. The rooms are beautifully remodeled and very spacious. Complimentary snacks and light breakfast were a great plus. Stunning location with a short drive to Hearst Castle. The wind prevented us from walking the coastline, but hopefully we will do that next time. Will hopefully return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
It's nice to hear you appreciated the recent updates we have done to the rooms. We always aim to complete any work prior to our high-season. We are now finished and are delighted with the results. We're glad you enjoyed our continental breakfast and afternoon refreshments. You definitely want to reserve the Ocean front rooms as far out in advnace as possible as they are quite popular with our guests. Thank you for choosing us for your destination. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    204
    42
    10
    6
See reviews for
101
420
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights on the 2nd floor king room and it was great.
The beach is right in front of you and view was unbelievable.

We wanted to just relax in the room enjoy the view, for that front desk had book of restaurant who will deliver and gave us some great suggestions. It was perfect mini getaway for our LA-SFO sort of regular trip. The room we stayed had 1 king bed with huge bathroom with nice fire place on the corner. Balcony in our room was looking out the ocean. When its not fogged in at night, the night sky was amazing! I wish I could just sleep there but it was just bit chilly... but I highly recommend the room on the 2nd floor. I think the price difference was not that significant, you will really enjoy the sound of the wave and night sky. Great location to stay if you are planning a trip to this area.

Room Tip: room facing the beach is the best! there is stairway right next and easy in/out. I highly recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sj O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
We can honestly say our Ocean front rooms offer the best ocean views here on Moonstone Beach Drive. It's always nice to have your dinner delivered to your room in order to enjoy the view from your room. Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again if you're ever in the area!

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here last week and the hotel exceeded expectations! First, it's directly across from a beautiful beach. We spent an hour or two wandering up the beach, climbing over rocks, peering into tide pools with our 6 year old son and he loved it!
The rooms were spacious and very clean! The In room fireplace was a treat. The beds were a little creaky and my husband said he could hear people in the hallway, but I didn't hear anything with my earplugs.
Another plus is the great seafood restaurant right next door.
I'd definitely stay here again next time we're in cambria.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Marmalade007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
We love it when we exceed our guests' expectations! We're lighted to hear how much you enjoyed your trip to Cambria and your stay with us!! As you mentioned, so many of our guests love the fireplace in the rooms. We hope you alerted our Front Desk staff about your bed so that we could make any necesssary changes or improvements to it. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

stayed here during my PCH trip from SF to Los Angeles. The location is great. The room was clean with2 queen beds. They serve basic breakfast in the morning. Went for a walk on the boardwalk across the street by the ocean. It was refreshing. The only problem is that there are not too many choices to eat nearby. we ended up driving to main street in city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prash_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We're fortunate to have the best seafood restaurant, the Sea Chest, located directly next door to us and the other restaurant just 2 blocks away. All the other restaurants are located on Main Street which is just a 2 minute drive from us. Thank you for sharing your experience.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa cruz
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We just returned from a 2 night stay at Moonstone Landing. This was our second stay there and we really think it is one of the best properties on Moonstone. I love that it is decorated in a more modern style vs. the cottage look. We were in room 207 and had a great view of the ocean even though we weren't ocean front. I loved leaving the windows open while reading in bed at night, the ocean was really loud.
We love the Seachest and ate there both nights of our stay. Since Moonstone Landing is right next door we could put our name in at the Seachest then go have some wine in our room for bit while we waited for our table.
The property it's self is well kept and everything was very clean. The hot tub was very nice. They are in the process of updating a bit and everything looks great. They put new "wood" blinds in the rooms that look really nice but they do let light in in the morning. I do like a black out shade while on vacation!
Now this may be where the "almost" perfect part of my review comes in. Our bed was really uncomfortable to us. I thought it was way too hard and my husband thought it was too hard yet saggy on his side. I don't know if they replaced the mattress or not. I hope it wasn't new! I don't remember being bothered by the mattress during our stay a couple years ago. If they are new Moonstone might consider buying some memory foam mattress pads for guest that are bothered by them. We go to Cambria at least 3 times a year and I really want to make it our go to place from now on, but the beds may keep from staying there. Other than the bed our stay was perfect.

Room Tip: A room on the second floor will give you at least a little ocean peek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scincalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We especially love that you appreciated the recent updates we have done to the property. Upon seeing your review, we checked the mattress in your room and decided to immeidately replace it. We always try to stay on top of replacing mattresses as necessary, this one was obviously overlooked and we appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We would hope you always alert our front desk staff of any concerns or problems you may encouter so we can quickly rectify it. We hope to see you again during your next visit.

Sincerley,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I wasn't expecting the room to be as nice as it was --- especially since I got the last one available, and it was a "partial view" ocean room. The room was spacious, with partial wood floors, and a nicely sized bathroom. The entire room seemed newer and remodeled. The hotel is literally across a 2 lane road from the beach, which is convenient. The woman at the front desk, who I assume is the owner or manager, is very pleasant and helpful. I found the breakfast spread in the morning to be quite nice as well. Cambria was a cute touristy town too. The only negative thing was that the walls were quite thin, as I could hear people sneezing and listening to TV in an adjoining room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregs_out_West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We're glad you were surprised with the quality of our rooms. It's nice to hear you noticed and appreciated the recent updates we have done to the property in order to insure a quality stay for our guests. We're sorry the noise from the adjoining room disturbed you, that's typically not the case. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Just returned from three nights at Moonstone Landing hotel. Room 207 had view of ocean from the side window. Slept with window open to hear the sounds of the waves. Recommend second floor (200s) for better views and no car headlights beaming into room. Nice sized room with table near the window. Large bathroom. Decent breakfast -- fruit, muffins, yoghurt, granola, etc. available in lobby on back of building. Peek view of ocean from some tables. Outside seating too. Good service, no complaints. Will return.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms towards ocean have better views (naturally).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ifyougo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. The 2nd floor rooms definitely provide a better view of the ocean. It's nice to hear you'll return, thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.5 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,937 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
992 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonstone Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonstone Landing

Property: Moonstone Landing
Address: 6240 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Moonstone Landing 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonstone Landing is a family-owned oceanfront Hotel located on Moonstone Beach Drive in the resort village of Cambria. We are a pet-free and smoke-free property. All rooms have either a full ocean view or partial ocean view with a fireplace in every room. Relax in a jacuzzi tub in the full ocean view rooms. Every room has free internet access, flat screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Moonstone Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing