We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and area to stay in Cambria”
Review of Moonstone Landing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moonstone Landing
Ranked #3 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calabasas, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great room and area to stay in Cambria”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here on recommendation of their sister hotel (Little Sur Inn). Great staff, clean room and amenities. The staff was very helpful in helping us choose our room with an ocean view and quiet. Room 204. Hotel is in the process of changing all their carpet to wood flooring ... workers were very considerate of hotel guests.
Definitely would return.

Room Tip: 204 for upstairs and ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucy6232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
We're glad we were able to acommodate you since our sister property, Little Sur Inn, was full. Our rooms and amenities are so identical that many guests switch back and forth between the 2 properties when the other one is full. Our family built both hotels, thereby, there are very few differences between the two. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    202
    41
    10
    6
See reviews for
99
414
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reston VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A friend and I stayed here in February 2014 and loved the hotel. Room and bed were so comfortable and the staff exceptionally helpful nod nice. Breakfast delivered to our room right on time was wonderful.really enjoyed the beach paths ( and the evening happy hour). A lovely oasis with a lot of charm.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmalfiMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience. Although, since we do not deliver breakfast to the rooms, we're not quite sure if you have us confused with another hotel property in the area. We hope you visit us if your ever in the area again!

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotel was amazing, the room had a fireplace, partial ocean view and wood floors. The only downside was the town of Cambrian, dirty and creepy. Would recommended the hotel to anyone just not the town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
It's nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the new hardwood floors. We're sorry to hear, however, unlike so many other visitors to our area you didn't particularly enjoy the town of Cambria itself. The attraction to Cambria is it's small size and quaintness, compared to that of the large metropolises. Visitors not only come in order to visit Hearst Castle, but many come just for the peace and serenity of the area, the obviously beautiful landscape, the many scenic hiking trails, wide variety of dining and, family owned shops in town. We hope you give Cambria another chance. Thank you for staying with us!

Regards,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our 2nd floor ocean front room had a fabulous view, and soothing sounds of waves. The room was spacious with a great balcony. There is the convenience of not only a coffemaker, but a small frig and microwave. Beautiful walking paths in either direction above the beach.
My only suggestion would be to replace the outdated and musty cushions on the 2 chairs in the room. The fabric is ancient and takes away from the nicer updates they have done. It looked a bit tacky to have stadium seat cushions covering the old fabric. Otherwise I'd rate this a 5.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bellavista7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
The views from our Ocean front rooms definitely can't be beat! We're glad you appreciated the amenities in your room. It's nice to hear you also appreciated the many updates we recently did to all of the rooms such as, new Hardwood floors, window treatments, glass panels on the balconies, new patio furniture on ALL ocean front patios and balconies, new dressers to accommodate the new Flat Screen TV's, new lamps with plugs for charging cellphones, just to name a few. The "stadium style" cushions you mentioned are actually the cushions that came with and are intended to be used with the new outdoor patio chairs we recently purchased. We keep the cushions in the rooms when they are vacant in order to eliminate them from getting wet or soiled from the evening ocean air. However, one of the last updates we plan on accomplishing is updating the chairs in the room, which we hope to complete during our next 'off season'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, CA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The owners were brilliant in the design of the hotel. EVERY room has a view, if only a partial view. We have stayed there numerous times and have always found the hotel employees friendly, helpful and very accommodating. It is our "new" favorite on Moonstone Drive in Cambria!

Room Tip: We have only twice stayed the front rooms with a balcony. They offer an unobstructed ocean view. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdrnek22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
As you noted, due to the layout and design, all rooms have either a partial or full view of the ocean. It's nice to hear that our staff is always helpful and accommodating. We truly appreciate and value our repeat guests, such as yourself! We look forward to your future visits with us!

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed two nights here last week. It was our first trip to Cambria and I am glad we found this quaint family owned hotel. It is right across from the boardwalk on Moonstone Beach. The room was a pleasant surprise, it was larger than expected and very nicely decorated. The fireplace is wonderful for ambiance as well as heat. We liked the microwave, refrigerator and coffee pot in the room. There was a nice table near the windows with two chairs where we could relax and watch our little slice of ocean view. We loved the wood and tile floors, no carpet was a treat for our feet.
Breakfast was good but basic. They have fresh pastries delivered from a local bakery and they are very fresh. There is yogurt and granola as well as bread and fruit choices. I understand they don't have a kitchen, but I do wish they could add hard cooked eggs to the choices.
Based on reviews here, I called the hotel and requested a second floor south facing room, one of the first three from the ocean front rooms. When we checked in we were given a north facing view, were not given he choice to switch rooms. It actually turned out OK as sunset at this time of year was right at our window. But I do wish they had honored our request.
Staff was friendly and gave us suggestions on where to eat and what to do in town.
We walked the boardwalk twice a day, always something new to see. And the sunsets were stunning. We would stay here again!

Room Tip: Request a second floor room. One of the first three behind the ocean front rooms for a nice little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RTomD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Clearly you loved every aspect of your stay. It's nice to hear that you really liked our newly installed hardwood floors as well as all of the amenities in your room. We're sorry we weren't able to accommodate your request for a South facing room. As much as we always try to accommodate each and every special request, sometimes it's just not possible. Thank you for choosing Moonstone Landing for your destination, we hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, CA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Only stayed one night to visit Hearst Castle. The hotel was under construction so there was a lot going on. Our room was second floor, no real view and across the hall from the lobby. Not the perfect room location. I would love to stay in one of the beach front rooms next time, but those need to be booked well in advance. The rooms are beautifully remodeled and very spacious. Complimentary snacks and light breakfast were a great plus. Stunning location with a short drive to Hearst Castle. The wind prevented us from walking the coastline, but hopefully we will do that next time. Will hopefully return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
It's nice to hear you appreciated the recent updates we have done to the rooms. We always aim to complete any work prior to our high-season. We are now finished and are delighted with the results. We're glad you enjoyed our continental breakfast and afternoon refreshments. You definitely want to reserve the Ocean front rooms as far out in advnace as possible as they are quite popular with our guests. Thank you for choosing us for your destination. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.5 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.0 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
799 reviews
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
833 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Cambria
923 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonstone Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonstone Landing

Property: Moonstone Landing
Address: 6240 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Moonstone Landing 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonstone Landing is a family-owned oceanfront Hotel located on Moonstone Beach Drive in the resort village of Cambria. We are a pet-free and smoke-free property. All rooms have either a full ocean view or partial ocean view with a fireplace in every room. Relax in a jacuzzi tub in the full ocean view rooms. Every room has free internet access, flat screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Moonstone Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing