We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views!”
Review of Moonstone Landing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moonstone Landing
Ranked #3 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stunning views!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at Moonstone Landing for a long weekend at the start of our US roadtrip and loved it. We had an ocean front room which is well worth the extra $$ - the room itself is huge, very well equipped and had a big, comfortable bed. The balcony is fantastic and the views stunning - we watched three gorgeous sunsets and will definitely book again when we return next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We can honestly say we offer some of the best ocean view rooms in the area, it definitely can't be beat! It's wonderful to hear that you plan on returning next year. Due to the popularity of our ocean front rooms you will want to be sure to reserve one well in advance. Thank you again for staying with us.

Best Regards,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    204
    42
    10
    6
See reviews for
101
420
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Orange, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The rooms at this hotel are absolutely beautifully simplistic. A roaring fire, a truly magnificent view and some with balconies are just the beginning. Our room was sparkling clean with an invitation for romance! We also experienced a complimentary morning breakfast and afternoon with wine and cheese in the reception area.The staff was exceptional and our overall experience was one of the highlights of our trip.
Thank you moonstone landing!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smilingal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the quality of our property and our hospitality. We are getting wonderful feedback from our guests regarding the recent updates to our property as well as the cleanliness of the rooms. We're quite fortunate to have outstanding housekeeping staff. Thank you for staying with us, it's nice to know we were the "highlight" of your trip.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We absolutely fell in love with this place, the rooms are beautiful - modern, spacious and absolutely immaculate. The service was outstanding, we were checked in by a young girl whose name we didn't catch but who was so lovely and helpful and who kindly recommended good restaurants and live music in the local area.

In the main reception/lounge area there is a folder with menus in from all the restaurants in town, which is super helpful. You can also book out games and DVDS free of charge, which is a lovely touch, especially as there is not loads to do after hours in Cambria.

Overall, this is an absolutely charming b&b and probably the nicest, homiest place we stayed throughout our entire trip (10 different hotels) and by far the best value for money! I would highly recommend!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesO2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Clearly you loved every aspect of your stay with us, we love it when we exceed our guests expectations! Our family owned property takes great pride in providing a quality stay for our guests. It's also nice to hear you appreciated the hospitality of our staff, we will be sure to let them know. Thank you for choosing Moonstone Landing.

Best Regards,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and stayed overnight as part of our road trip from San Fran to LA. Ideally positioned and very reasonably priced, I highly recommend Moonstone Landing. The friendly service, large comfortable rooms, and the beautiful location on the waterfront makes this the perfect spot to unwind after a day of driving.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
It's nice to hear you enjoyed the comfort of your room and our hospitality. Thank you for sharing your experience and for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabasas, CA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here on recommendation of their sister hotel (Little Sur Inn). Great staff, clean room and amenities. The staff was very helpful in helping us choose our room with an ocean view and quiet. Room 204. Hotel is in the process of changing all their carpet to wood flooring ... workers were very considerate of hotel guests.
Definitely would return.

Room Tip: 204 for upstairs and ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucy6232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
We're glad we were able to acommodate you since our sister property, Little Sur Inn, was full. Our rooms and amenities are so identical that many guests switch back and forth between the 2 properties when the other one is full. Our family built both hotels, thereby, there are very few differences between the two. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston VA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A friend and I stayed here in February 2014 and loved the hotel. Room and bed were so comfortable and the staff exceptionally helpful nod nice. Breakfast delivered to our room right on time was wonderful.really enjoyed the beach paths ( and the evening happy hour). A lovely oasis with a lot of charm.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmalfiMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience. Although, since we do not deliver breakfast to the rooms, we're not quite sure if you have us confused with another hotel property in the area. We hope you visit us if your ever in the area again!

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotel was amazing, the room had a fireplace, partial ocean view and wood floors. The only downside was the town of Cambrian, dirty and creepy. Would recommended the hotel to anyone just not the town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
It's nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the new hardwood floors. We're sorry to hear, however, unlike so many other visitors to our area you didn't particularly enjoy the town of Cambria itself. The attraction to Cambria is it's small size and quaintness, compared to that of the large metropolises. Visitors not only come in order to visit Hearst Castle, but many come just for the peace and serenity of the area, the obviously beautiful landscape, the many scenic hiking trails, wide variety of dining and, family owned shops in town. We hope you give Cambria another chance. Thank you for staying with us!

Regards,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.5 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,927 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
985 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonstone Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonstone Landing

Property: Moonstone Landing
Address: 6240 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Moonstone Landing 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonstone Landing is a family-owned oceanfront Hotel located on Moonstone Beach Drive in the resort village of Cambria. We are a pet-free and smoke-free property. All rooms have either a full ocean view or partial ocean view with a fireplace in every room. Relax in a jacuzzi tub in the full ocean view rooms. Every room has free internet access, flat screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Moonstone Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing