We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Rooms, Lovely Service!”
Review of Moonstone Landing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moonstone Landing
Ranked #3 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Rooms, Lovely Service!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms here are gorgeous! The service is amazing, from front desk to cleaning staff. We loved the continental breakfast and the afternoon snacks. I felt we got a great value for the money. My only complaint was with the bed and bedding. The bed was very hard and the linens stiff and unyielding. Fix these little glitches and you'll have a perfect hotel!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Cambriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for your review and for providing your feedback. We hope you alerted our front desk staff regarding your bedding so that we could address the matter to insure it wasn't just a matter of personal taste. It's nice to hear that you otherwise enjoyed the quality of your room and the hospitality of our staff!

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    202
    41
    10
    6
See reviews for
99
414
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Never having visited this area before, we scoured the online reviews to make sure we booked a nice, clean hotel right on the water that had good views. We could not have chosen better. The room itself was very large; the bed was comfortable; the fireplace welcome on the chilly evenings; and the dinette table in the room very convenient. If you can get it, definitely stay on the second floor in an ocean-front room. We had the corner room, which allowed us just outstanding views of the boardwalk, the ocean, and beautiful sunsets. There were a couple of chairs and a small table on our balcony, and we sat there with a bottle of wine every evening watching the sunset. Absolutely stunning ... the photos do not do it justice. We were a little concerned about the noise at this location since we were right on the street, but this should not concern you. Cambria is a small, sleepy little beach town that rolls up the sidewalks as soon as the sun goes down. Perhaps if you were here in high season it might get a bit noisy with the street traffic, but I think even then it would be tolerable. There is a buffet breakfast every morning and some wine and cheese each evening available in the common area. We found that most people who stayed here were retirees or almost-retired, so we all ended up hitting the fruit, danish, and toast at around the same time. This does mean you have to be a little more patient and wait your turn at the breakfast bar, but it is such a small property, it's not that big of a deal. We would definitely recommend this property for the comfort, the cleanliness, the views, and the convenience to everything. This is definitely a good place to make home base if planning on visiting Hearst Castle.

Room Tip: Choose the second floor, ocean-front corner room -- lots of light, windows, and outstanding views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STLWomanStuckinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the quality of your room. Our property definitely boasts some of the best ocean view rooms in the area. We're glad you enjoyed our afternoon refreshments along with the Sparkling Cider. As you indicated, you really can't hear any noise from the road in front, even in 'high-season' we never receive any complaints or comments on it. Thank you for choosing Moonstone Landing and for sharing your experience!

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

was such an amazing place, the staff were really friendly and the rooms were really nice! even the fireplace was great design. so close to the beach and the boardwalk out the front was a good walk. served breakfast in the morning and was very helpful to find somewhere for dinner. would definitely come back and stay here! comparing to the 6 hotels we have visited this trip, this was by far the best and the cheapest!!!

Room Tip: Rooms out the front would be great for the view, but our room was "partial view" and was s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bennyv07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your 'Amazing' review, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience! We're delighted to hear that we were the best accommodations you had on your extended trip. Thank you for staying with us!

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at Moonstone Landing for a long weekend at the start of our US roadtrip and loved it. We had an ocean front room which is well worth the extra $$ - the room itself is huge, very well equipped and had a big, comfortable bed. The balcony is fantastic and the views stunning - we watched three gorgeous sunsets and will definitely book again when we return next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We can honestly say we offer some of the best ocean view rooms in the area, it definitely can't be beat! It's wonderful to hear that you plan on returning next year. Due to the popularity of our ocean front rooms you will want to be sure to reserve one well in advance. Thank you again for staying with us.

Best Regards,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The rooms at this hotel are absolutely beautifully simplistic. A roaring fire, a truly magnificent view and some with balconies are just the beginning. Our room was sparkling clean with an invitation for romance! We also experienced a complimentary morning breakfast and afternoon with wine and cheese in the reception area.The staff was exceptional and our overall experience was one of the highlights of our trip.
Thank you moonstone landing!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smilingal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the quality of our property and our hospitality. We are getting wonderful feedback from our guests regarding the recent updates to our property as well as the cleanliness of the rooms. We're quite fortunate to have outstanding housekeeping staff. Thank you for staying with us, it's nice to know we were the "highlight" of your trip.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We absolutely fell in love with this place, the rooms are beautiful - modern, spacious and absolutely immaculate. The service was outstanding, we were checked in by a young girl whose name we didn't catch but who was so lovely and helpful and who kindly recommended good restaurants and live music in the local area.

In the main reception/lounge area there is a folder with menus in from all the restaurants in town, which is super helpful. You can also book out games and DVDS free of charge, which is a lovely touch, especially as there is not loads to do after hours in Cambria.

Overall, this is an absolutely charming b&b and probably the nicest, homiest place we stayed throughout our entire trip (10 different hotels) and by far the best value for money! I would highly recommend!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesO2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Clearly you loved every aspect of your stay with us, we love it when we exceed our guests expectations! Our family owned property takes great pride in providing a quality stay for our guests. It's also nice to hear you appreciated the hospitality of our staff, we will be sure to let them know. Thank you for choosing Moonstone Landing.

Best Regards,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and stayed overnight as part of our road trip from San Fran to LA. Ideally positioned and very reasonably priced, I highly recommend Moonstone Landing. The friendly service, large comfortable rooms, and the beautiful location on the waterfront makes this the perfect spot to unwind after a day of driving.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
It's nice to hear you enjoyed the comfort of your room and our hospitality. Thank you for sharing your experience and for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.5 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.0 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
799 reviews
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
833 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Cambria
923 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonstone Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonstone Landing

Property: Moonstone Landing
Address: 6240 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Moonstone Landing 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonstone Landing is a family-owned oceanfront Hotel located on Moonstone Beach Drive in the resort village of Cambria. We are a pet-free and smoke-free property. All rooms have either a full ocean view or partial ocean view with a fireplace in every room. Relax in a jacuzzi tub in the full ocean view rooms. Every room has free internet access, flat screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Moonstone Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing