We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular setting”
Review of Moonstone Landing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moonstone Landing
Ranked #3 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Spectacular setting”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

There were 6 of us and we had 3 seafront facing rooms at the end of a drive from San Francisco down the coast road. The rooms were all of a good size with well equipped bathrooms and the views were spectacular - watching the sun setting over the sea. The only surprising thing was that the corridors to the rooms are all open at the ends so quite a breeze past the bedroom doors. There is also no lift up to the first floor, but if you park at the back you are then on the same level as the first floor at the front. The receptionist was really friendly and helpful and recommended several places in Cambria where we could eat, since there is no restaurant on site. The breakfast was a bit limited but adequate for our needs. Would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    203
    41
    10
    6
See reviews for
99
414
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel was recommended to us and we are glad we stayed. This is a good hotel for a 1 night stopover. We booked a sea view room and to sit out on the terrace watching the waves was a great way to wind down. We had a great nights sleep in really comfortable beds. A nice continental breakfast was included and complimentary snacks in the afternoon.
The service offered by the staff from check-in to checkout was exceptional and the best we had throughout our trip - well done.
Would pass on the recommendation to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amandar044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. The hotel looks like it is very new. Everything was clean and like new. Good size bathroom with granite sink counter and marble on the floor and walls. The bedroom had a fireplace and had modern wood flooring. They serve a good continental breakfast too. The king bed had white sheets, down comforter and duvet. Anthony would be proud of them.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms might be somewhat quieter. We could hear people walking above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed for 1 night in mid July 2014. Friendly staff, clean, spacious, comfortable room with tasteful furnishings. We had room 110 with a partial ocean. The pastries at breakfast were delicious. The room was a little noisy, so I would recommend getting a second story room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainalini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
It's nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. As with most hotels, it's always best to reserve the top level floors in order to avoid any noise from above. Thank you for choosing Moonstone Landing for your destinantion, we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Only stayed here for one night on 3rd July 2014. Staff were excellent and couldn't be more helpful. We had a partial sea view room on the first row away from the front of the property. This allowed us to fall asleep to the sound of the ocean which was great. Breakfast was also one of the best we had in any of the hotels we visited on our two week tour of California.
The best element was the location just across the road from the fantastic beach. We were lucky enough to see the sunset as the clouds cleared during the afternoon which is really something we will remember. Would definitely recommend this hotel and the grill restaurant along the beach front.

Room Tip: Sea view of closest possible to the sea make all the difference here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisatkins2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience.

Best Regards,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona del Mar, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Our room was clean and spacious. The fireplace was a lovely touch. The bed looked nice when it was made up but proved to be squeaky and uncomfortable, The service was friendly and we met fascinating folks from Australia and New Zealand at breakfast. The location is perfect for exploring the boardwalk at the beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We hope you informed our front desk staff about the bedding in your room so that we would properly address it. It is vital to us as owners to always hear first hand from our guests regarding any concerns that they may have in order for us to resolve it as quickly as possible. Thank you for staying with us!

Best Regards,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Ridge, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The location is super. Just across the street is Moonstone Beach, and yes you can find moonstones there! The breakfast is continental plus! There is seating indoors or outdoors. The staff was very friendly, and helpful. We were there for only one night, but we are already planning a return trip.

Room Tip: All rooms have at least a limited view of the of the ocean. Very clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLatka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
We're glad you enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of your room. Not many visitors are aware that there are actually moonstones on our beach, thank you for mentioning it. The hunt for these little gems on the beach can be quite challenging and fun! We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.5 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.0 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
799 reviews
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
834 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Cambria
924 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonstone Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonstone Landing

Property: Moonstone Landing
Address: 6240 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Moonstone Landing 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonstone Landing is a family-owned oceanfront Hotel located on Moonstone Beach Drive in the resort village of Cambria. We are a pet-free and smoke-free property. All rooms have either a full ocean view or partial ocean view with a fireplace in every room. Relax in a jacuzzi tub in the full ocean view rooms. Every room has free internet access, flat screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Moonstone Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing