We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean. Friendly. Opposite the ocean. highly recommend you stay here”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moonstone Landing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Moonstone Landing
Ranked #2 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very clean. Friendly. Opposite the ocean. highly recommend you stay here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

Loved the location. The place seemed to have been recently renovated and was really clean and looked as though it was really cared for. It was really quite cold outside when we were there - so the gas fireplace and bath tub were a treat after a day of driving.
I highly recommend this place if you're touring the coast and are looking for a nice spot to break up the trip. Awesome little seafood restaurant only a 2 min walk away for terrific seafood, wine and atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnyside79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    202
    40
    9
    6
See reviews for
97
410
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2010

Stayed in a partial view room and it matched our expectation. Lovely location on the sea front and gas fire was a lovely extra on a cold night (8°F). Good continental breakfast and the receptionist (Pauline?) could not have been more helpful. Ideal location for Hearst Castle visit and after travelling the Coast Road from San Francisco for the day. Cambrian is a nice little town too even if split into two halves. Had a good dinner at the Sows Ear Cafe. The natural foods supermarket next door was good too.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wad6x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, IL
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

Stayed for 4 nights to do wine tasting in Paso Robles and to see the Hurst Castle. The castle is 10 minutes away. Across road from castle is a little store (San Sabastian, I think) that had great lunch fare. Restaurants in Cambria are surprisingly wonderful. We were so pleased. Drove to Paso two days to catch as many wineries as we could. 30 min. there and just a lovely place too. Came back each evening and ate well in Cambria. Recommend the Sow's Ear, MAdeline's and best of all Wild Ginger. Fabulous. Hotel rooms were spacious, and the fireplace was a bonus. If I were to go again, I would spring for the ocean view room with the balcony. We had partial ocean view on second floor and it was very nice. Do not get first floor rooms. Snacks at 4 each night and breakfast at 8 every morning. Nice touch. Hotel staff went out of their way for us each day. Great recommendations from them. Would stay here again in heartbeat. As I said , don't tell anyone, it is a secret!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2010

Travelling up the coast from Los Angeles to San Francisco. My husband planned to visit Hearst Castle the following day. Our stay at Moonstone Landing was the highlight of our trip. We stayed for 2 nights. Had dinner in Cambria. Excellent restaurants and great food, very charming area! Wine and cheese between 4 and 6. Continental breakfast was wonderful. Rooms have fireplace, microwave, fridge and large bathroom. Every room has an ocean view. Barbara and Mary were outstanding and met all our needs. Thanks for the recommendations and hotel reservations in Monterey, Mary! It was an excellent choice. We are planning to make our stay longer next year. Keep up the great work girls!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomanticOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2010

I had a wonderful experience at this hotel. The room was great! Nice fireplace, and great partial view of the ocean. Morning continental breakfast was fine. Very close to the beach. I will stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDRTIKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2009

My wife and I stayed at Moonstone Landing for one night on a driving trip up the coast.

First of all, when we arrived we noticed that most of the hotels along this strip of Moonstone Beach all share the same great location, so this shouldn't be a big factor in choosing a hotel here, although views will obviously vary depending on the room.

When we checked into Moonstone Landing, we found that the rooms were new-looking, clean and well furnished; ours was a king bed on the second floor, which had a nice view, despite being on the side of the hotel. The fireplace was nice touch and would be great to have in the winter. We found the hotel and the room were quiet, and we actually were able to leave the window open so we could hear the waves on the beach at night.

The breakfast was a continental breakfast and was fairly basic, so we went out to eat, but to be fair we probably would have anyway.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Mary who gave us several recommendations on restaurants and sights, and even booked our tour of Hearst Castle for us when we were in a rush (thanks Mary!).

Overall, even though the breakfast good have been better (and I'm being picky here) I've stayed at hotels that were more than double the prices with rooms and service that weren't half as good, so in my experience Moonstone Landing is not only a great experience but it's great value as well.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 00TravelNut00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

From the moment we walked in everything was perfect. Check-in was very easy and the owner was super nice. Our room was very nice and the fireplace made it so cozy. Even though we didn't upgrade to an ocean front room we still had a view of the beach out our window. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was very big. The free continental breakfast was delicious, as they bring in local pastries, and offer many other things. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelShan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.5 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonstone Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonstone Landing

Property: Moonstone Landing
Address: 6240 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Moonstone Landing 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonstone Landing is a family-owned oceanfront Hotel located on Moonstone Beach Drive in the resort village of Cambria. We are a pet-free and smoke-free property. All rooms have either a full ocean view or partial ocean view with a fireplace in every room. Relax in a jacuzzi tub in the full ocean view rooms. Every room has free internet access, flat screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Moonstone Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing