We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven in Cambria”
Review of Moonstone Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moonstone Cottages
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Cambria is a very cute little beach town that's within a ten minute drive to Hearst Castle. We spent one night in the Mariner Cottage which was adorable, immaculate and quiet. While not big, it was very cosy, has nice amenities, fireplace, and faces the beach! We loved it and would highly recommend it as an upscale option in Cambria. The sister property, Blue Dolphin, was also really pretty- that's where we checked in to get our key, so if you want more of a hotel atmosphere, that would be a great choice, too!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reesepieces2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for Moonstone Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2011

These small cottages are great for a couple that wants to be alone. Walk across street to the board walk. Grab a sandwhich in town and have it at the picnic area up the street. Great place to visit off season..Cant go wrong.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronjen817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We have stayed in Cambria many times and this was our first stay at Moonstone Cottages. We had no idea that their were actual single story cottages with beautiful ocean views available. The cottage was very quiet and we fell asleep on the great bed to the soothing sound of the ocean. Our room was SO comfortable and decorated with a seafaring theme - - great shower and bath! We sat on the little deck amongst the flowers and watched the sunset. We strolled across the road and explored tide pools. Great places to dine are within walking distance. Moonstone Cottages get an A+ in our book! Lynn and Hunter Jamison

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tomatoehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

My wife and I stayed in the Seascape Cottage which is the one closest to the street. We found this to be a delightful place to spend the first two nights of our honeymoon. We had beutiful early October weather. The deck at the front door is the biggest of the three cottages. We were not bothered at all by the cars, bicyclists, walkers, etc... passing in front of us. The cars travel slowly along Moonstone Beach and their passengers all wanted to look our way as we sat on the deck enjoying our breakfast or relaxing with the view. The Seascape Cottage offers the best view by far of the three cottages. They are all detached and afford privacy from one another. The room is fun with vaulted ceilings and spa tub. Everything was very nice. I would suggest you don't bring a large car as driving back to the parking area could be a little tricky. Breakfast is brought to your door. The puffed pastry is served hot and was very good. The fruit pasties are very tasty as well. It was fun to get a dvd from the Blue Dolphin Inn (Moonstone Cottages sister inn and where you check in and out)! The only thing that could have made this better was if there had been a king sized bed. The room and closet are a little on the small size, but this is the perfect place to spend part of your honeymoon as you can't help but relax here! We will be back!!!

Room Tip: If you want to use outside seating during your stay the Seascape unit will serve this the best by fa...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Spent two nights at the mariner cottage on our way from SF to LA, good choice. The place is pretty much dead at night (except one or two nice restaurants). So if you're looking for piece and quiet or romance; ideal location. If you're looking to get a drink after dinner and walk among a crowd, this location is not for you.

The mariner worked out perfectly for us; it is the third one in from the road, but still has a nice view of the ocean, doesn't get any noise from the street traffic and has a ton of privacy. You pick your breakfast items from a set menu the day before and it's delivered each morning in a bag; perfect for picnicing on the water (which is what we did). They also have an extensive DVD collection.

The shell station about 2 miles away has a good wine selection. We got some nice cheeses as well, and had ourselves a wine and cheese hour by the ocean before dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank OnurWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Seascape Cottage, which is the cottage closest to the ocean. The entire stay was absolutely perfect. The cottage is cozy, has a wonderful unobstructed view, a great porch to site and watch the sunset, and binoculars to see the wildflife up close. The picnic breakfast was great, and we loved the K-Cup coffee! I would highly recommend this cottage for anyone who wants total privacy and a quiet and beautiful retreat on lovely Moonstone Beach.

Room Tip: If you have a birthday or anniversary, let them know!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Our stay at the Garden Gate Cottage in May was a return trip for us to the Moonstone Cottages. We stayed last year in the Seascape cottage which sits closest to the small highway and ocean in front of the cottages. We thought privacy from people passing, whether walking or driving, was not as desirable in the Seascape cottage compared to the Garden Gate Cottage which sits one cottage back from the street. It would be nice if the Seascape Cottage had a large umbrella on the small outdoor deck, and some type of screen to afford privacy if you wanted to sit outside on the deck instead of just being "out there". The Garden Gate Cottage has a bench in front of the cottage under a large shade tree, assorted flowers, and more privacy. :) Both of the cottages are decorated very nicely, are clean, have upgraded finishes with hardwood floors, feel fairly new, and are fun to enjoy. The cottages are quite small, (especially if you have alot of luggage) but they pleasantly accommodate two people. Just don't plan on a spacious feeling when you stay in one of these cute cottages. We enjoyed the fireplace, the table in front of the large window looking towards the ocean where we dined, the beautiful bathroom with separate shower and large jacuzzi tub, refrigerator, the comp cookies. and the assorted coffee supplies. There is a lengthy boardwalk across from these cottages that runs along the ocean, a walker and jogger's paradise. The nearby town of Cambria is quite small but enjoyable to explore. Sandy's Deli in Cambria makes great sandwiches! During our second day in Cambria, we took approximately a 20 minute drive South to the small town of Cayucos and enjoyed a pizza lunch from Frank's Pizza on the oceanfront. Frank's Pizza is very small but a takeout pizza party by the beach was fun and the pizza was very good. The beach was not terribly crowded with people but was definitely more welcoming to beach lovers with its wide sandy beach, restroom facilities, and beautiful ocean front than the ocean area of the Moonstone Beach Drive area where the Moonstone Cottages are located. Both areas are nice but quite different. Negatives about our stay would include a very narrow driveway that goes past the side of the Seascape cottage, curves around in front of and to the opposite side of The Garden Gate Cottage, and curves again past the Mariner cottage and to the parking area in back of the Mariner Cottage. The Mariner Cottage is the third cottage back from the street. If you are driving a very large XL SUV like we were, good luck executing the curves! A separate straight driveway that runs along the opposite side of all the cottages and back towards the required parking area has been blocked off with flower boxes preventing use of this driveway to access the back parking area and avoid the narrow winding curved driveway. Anyone with a very large vehicle can appreciate how nice it would be to have been able to use the straight driveway to access the parking area. We contemplated moving the intentionally placed flower boxes so we could access the parking area without removing paint from the building and fence, but we resisted. :) Prices for these cottages are a bit high and the comp breakfast boxes brought to your room have a disappointing assortment of choices and are not impressive in amount or taste. In summary, we enjoyed our holidays at the Moonstone Cottages and would recommend these cottages to other people.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SuzySnowgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.1 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
865 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,978 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,032 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonstone Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonstone Cottages

Address: 6580 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1810
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Cambria
Price Range: £214 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moonstone Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonstone Cottages are three private oceanview cottages, nestled in a grove of mature cypress trees located right on Moonstone Beach Drive, steps away from the boardwalk, beach, and tidal pools. These distinctly different cottages offer quiet comfortable lodging and privacy...Perfect for a romantic getaway. Complete with one queen bed, quality linens, and ambient fireplaces and in-room amenities including European blend coffee, Dorothy Prentice bathroom amenities, house-baked cookies, and a picnic breakfast delivered to your door in the morning . Each cottage is equipped with gas fireplaces, refrigerators, microwaves, flat-screened T.V. And DVD player with a view of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Moonstone Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonstone Cottages Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing