We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected a little more after reading reviews”
Review of Moonstone Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moonstone Cottages
Silicon Valley, CA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Expected a little more after reading reviews”
Reviewed 11 June 2008

We stayed in the Mariner cottage. The room was dusty. Mirrors over bar sink & coat hooks were smudged noticeably. Shower had a couple strands of hair in it - not from us. The stuffed bear on the bed also had hair (not from us) on it as well.

We watched the maid going from cottage to cottage cleaning on the morning of our departure. The Seascape & Garden cottages took her all of 20 mins to clean. Gross! It was full occupancy the night before. Maid should be doing a better job of cleaning the rooms.

OUR BIGGEST GRIPE - at check in, we were told that they had to send a maintenance guy to our cottage to repair something on the tv. We expect repairs to be done BEFORE we check in! It was really annoying having to wait 25 mins for this maintenance guy to do the repair.
Note: There was something creepy about the maintenance guy. We had noticed him w/the maid on the morning of our departure as mentioned above. He was noticeably upset w/her & they were arguing about something. Neither one of them greeted us w/a "good morning" when they saw us standing there. We felt it was very unprofessional behavior for a guest to witness!

Cottages are cute but we don't know if we'll book again.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank norcalite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    15
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
64
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tweetiea
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2007

I first saw a review of the Moonstone Cottages in Sunset Magazine, and I can honestly say that our stay in the Mariner's Cottage exceded our expectations. The cottage is comfortable, and a wonderful place to unwind from the world. I highly recommend the property, and the Blue Dolphin Inn staff, which manage the cottages, are wonderful. In particular the staff were extremely helpful suggesting activities and restaurants in the area. We wanted a different experience from the "motel" by the beach properties along the Central coast and were very pleased with our experience. We hope to return again in the near future.

  • Liked — Comfortable and unique.
  • Disliked — Too close to other locations on Moonstone Beach.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tweetiea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2007

We stayed in the Mariner's Cottage last year on our anniversary and are going again this year for our anniversary. It obviously made quite an impression on my husband. We have stayed at many b&bs around California and have had quite a lovely time. But this was unique since it was just you and your honey. If you're looking for a quiet getaway where you don't have to worry about socializing with others during breakfast and you want it to be totally private, this is the place for you. You're right by the beach and next door to a restaurant (Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill) that serves a wonderful breakfast. Also, The Sea Chest is just down the street. There is a fridge and coffee maker, etc. My husband and I just went to a local market in Cambria and picked up some milk and breakfast goodies (like bagels & cream cheese, fruit, and some cinnamon rolls from one of the bakeries) and that was our breakfast for the weekend. We could eat in our Pjs in the comfort of our own room. We had a fabulous time and are looking foward to going again in a few weeks!!!!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank tobascolover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascadero
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2005

Moonstone Cottages is the most unique vacation spot I have ever been to. We had our own private cottage, practically on the beach. The gardens were fantastic and full of color. The rooms were designed with the best in mind. Everything was so extravagent. But most of all it was private. We had the best time.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Taunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond Bar, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2005

My husband and I just returned from a 5 night stay at the Moonstone Beach Cottages. We stayed in the very first one nearest the street (the Seascape) and it was just incredible. From the hardwood floors to the marble bathroom. It was furnished just so nicely and kept very clean.
The place was a little small, especially when you get your suitcases and whatever else you bring along. Definitely a "couples" place, no room for the kiddies. There are two other cottages on property, I didn't see the
inside but outside equally nice. We would definitely return.

Helpful?
25 Thank Nettie1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
862 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.5 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,939 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
993 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonstone Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonstone Cottages

Property: Moonstone Cottages
Address: 6580 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1810
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Moonstone Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonstone Cottages are three private oceanview cottages, nestled in a grove of mature cypress trees located right on Moonstone Beach Drive, steps away from the boardwalk, beach, and tidal pools. These distinctly different cottages offer quiet comfortable lodging and privacy...Perfect for a romantic getaway. Complete with one queen bed, quality linens, and ambient fireplaces and in-room amenities including European blend coffee, Dorothy Prentice bathroom amenities, house-baked cookies, and a picnic breakfast delivered to your door in the morning . Each cottage is equipped with gas fireplaces, refrigerators, microwaves, flat-screened T.V. And DVD player with a view of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Moonstone Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonstone Cottages Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing