We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #10 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“One night stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We spent a night in the lower level queen room. We found the room a bit dark and cramped. This may be due to the fact that the enclosed patio didn't get much light and faced the home next door. Possibly a reduction of some of the objects in the room might make it seem more spacious. The bed was very comfortable. The shared deck was nice and inviting.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    14
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
97
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Breakfasts were good, with plenty of food. If you are looking for a hearty breakfast, this is it. Rooms were generous sizes, comfortable and quiet. If you don't mind a lot of stuff in your room, you will be fine with this. Beds were very comfortable. Wine and appetizers on arrival night were a nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Bill and Eleanor couldn't do enough to make our stay the best experience. Especially appreciated the wine and snacks provided at our arrival. The king size room had everything in it to make us extremely comfortable. You name it, it was there. TV, VCR, microwave, fridge and on and on. Loved the warm robes. There was a coffee maker with all sorts of goodies to go with it, Even a candy basket with bite size candies of every name, like Reeses. Milky Way, etc. The towels for the shower were absolutely luxourious. If you choose "Her Castle" believeve me, you'll be treated like a King and Quee in your own private castle.
Bob and Lolly Kelleher, Berkeley, CA

Room Tip: Loved the King size room, with it's own privat deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobnLol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

We found "Her Castle" B&B on the internet and decided to give it a try for two nights. We weren't disappointed. We stayed in their "king room" -- nice sized room with a private deck in the back. A bottle of wine and an appetizer tray were waiting for us upon our arrival. Our hosts were very friendly and very willing to share their obvious love for the area. We took their advice on visiting some of the area wineries (near Paso Robles), and we had a great time. Cambria makes a great place to stay in the Central California wine region. Paso Robles is an easy drive to the east. Hearst Castle is a very short drive north. And, Cambria is a very nice small town with lots of shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: ask for the "king room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
169 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

we knew immediately we were in good hands! We only stayed here because of TA ratings and needed a place in Cambria. Every detail was taken care of in this small B&B to ensure guest's have the best stay possible. Our room was very, very clean, very very comfortable, had our own small porch and truly without a doubt "felt like home". We were told where to walk and where to have dinner and it made our stay in Cambria perfect! We loved it and hope to return. We were served wine and appetizers and a lovely breakfast in the morning...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kokosandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Our stay was unique as my husband was in class during the days of our week stay while I was there for pleasure. The owners went out of their way to get him off to an early nutritious start. At the same time they helped me find the treasures the area has to offer during my days. The Queen's room was warm, inviting and clean. The breakfasts served were amazing! The specialty is the Ollaliberry casserole. I know we plan to return.

Room Tip: We stayed and saw only the Queen's room and found it to be clean warm and inviting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KarenBuyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

We had a great time in Cambria, we love the ambiance of the place. Although the B&B is located in a residential area, it is surrounded by trees and has mountain views. We stayed at the "Queen Room" which is located at the lower part of the house.
In addition to the comments posted by most guests, we did not get the usual welcome package of cheese, fruits or appetizers, but we did get a bottle of wine left by our front door. We also did not get the complimentary "Pre- breakfast treat" the other guests received. Whatever the reason might be, we were a little disappointed and felt unwelcome and since this is our first time in a bed and breakfast, ( We have stayed at 5 star all-inclusive resorts before), we really didn't know what to expect. Anyways, the owners Bill & Eleanor are very informative and helpful in giving us recommendations on what to do and where to visit. Eleanor made us a delicious breakfast at the dining room upstairs. The queen room is cozy and clean but a little cramped and dark. The fridge and bathroom were stocked with goodies and supplies. We enjoyed reading Bill's book.
Aside from the services that we did not receive, we still had a nice experience over-all.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkcottage88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.8 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,460 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.9 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 1978 Londonderry Ln, Just two blocks from Highway 1, Cambria, CA 93428-5321
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homey yet luxurious suites in forested setting within 3/4 mile of ocean (and a 400 acre nature preserve). Botanical gardens and fruit trees. Close to town and restaurants and shops. Our personable and knowledgeable hosts provide a full breakfast, including early morning beverage tray to your room (and appetizers upon your arrival). No wonder we have been given Excellence awards by TripAdvisor for several years in a row, including Trip Advisor's new Green Award for sustainable practices. Open weekends (Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings) and weekday holidays, minimum two night stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing