We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Her Castle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #9 of 25 Cambria B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Imperial Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Her Castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

Staying in the Queen's room at Her Castle was a delightful experience. The hosts are wonderful innkeepers and their hospitality is the best--from great food and wine to telling us about the sites and hikes around Cambria. They really made us feel at home and extended every courtesy we could imagine. They exceeded our expectations and anticipated all the things we'd need to enjoy Cambria and its surroundings. Eleanor and Bill are great hosts and very interesting people.

Gary and Patsy

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    14
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
97
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

The King Room was a spacious, clean, comfortable space in which we slept well for two nights. Eleanor couldn't have been more accommodating and there were many complementary extras in our room including wine, snacks and toiletries. The pre-breakfast tray delivered to our room and the breakfast in the dining room were very generous and it was enjoyable to talk to both our hosts and the other guests.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilliam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

We couldn't have asked for anything else - great snacks, breakfast, room, location, perfect! Thanks for a lovely stay, just the relax we needed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HellsbellsShef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

As others have highlighted, the place is cozy and real quiet, but close to Moonstone Beach and central Cambria. The food was very good and generous. Eleanor is an exceptional hostess with a big heart and is always eager to please.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ExoticTravel011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We spent a night in the lower level queen room. We found the room a bit dark and cramped. This may be due to the fact that the enclosed patio didn't get much light and faced the home next door. Possibly a reduction of some of the objects in the room might make it seem more spacious. The bed was very comfortable. The shared deck was nice and inviting.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Breakfasts were good, with plenty of food. If you are looking for a hearty breakfast, this is it. Rooms were generous sizes, comfortable and quiet. If you don't mind a lot of stuff in your room, you will be fine with this. Beds were very comfortable. Wine and appetizers on arrival night were a nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Bill and Eleanor couldn't do enough to make our stay the best experience. Especially appreciated the wine and snacks provided at our arrival. The king size room had everything in it to make us extremely comfortable. You name it, it was there. TV, VCR, microwave, fridge and on and on. Loved the warm robes. There was a coffee maker with all sorts of goodies to go with it, Even a candy basket with bite size candies of every name, like Reeses. Milky Way, etc. The towels for the shower were absolutely luxourious. If you choose "Her Castle" believeve me, you'll be treated like a King and Quee in your own private castle.
Bob and Lolly Kelleher, Berkeley, CA

Room Tip: Loved the King size room, with it's own privat deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobnLol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.8 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.9 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
3.0 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 1978 Londonderry Ln, Just two blocks from Highway 1, Cambria, CA 93428-5321
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homey yet luxurious suites in forested setting within 3/4 mile of ocean (and a 400 acre nature preserve). Botanical gardens and fruit trees. Close to town and restaurants and shops. Our personable and knowledgeable hosts provide a full breakfast, including early morning beverage tray to your room (and appetizers upon your arrival). No wonder we have been given Excellence awards by TripAdvisor for several years in a row, including Trip Advisor's new Green Award for sustainable practices. Open weekends (Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings) and weekday holidays, minimum two night stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing