We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the Queen in your life...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #10 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 October 2013

If I could give this more than 5 stars I would. My (then) boyfriend (now fiancé) took me to Her Castle for a surprise getaway to Cambria. Every detail is taken care of! Eleanor goes far beyond anything you could possibly imagine. I've traveled the world and stayed at fancy hotels, but this was more than I could have imagined. It is nestled in this quiet area and the private patio is so beautiful for "pre" breakfast. The main breakfast is phenomenal. Everything is delicious and you leave feeling so content and full. And Eleanor has information about EVERYTHING. You almost don't have to plan anything for your stay. In the planning process, my fiancé told Eleanor that it was our anniversary so we had a beautiful sign and champagne and strawberries waiting for us upon arrival, a very thoughtful touch! It was so romantic and memorable, I know we'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oenophile79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

We were just spending the night in Cambria but wanted someplace homey as we were traveling as a family. Her Castle is not perhaps a conventional or traditional (at least in my limited experience) B&B, i.e., kind of an old Victorian with wrap-around porch, but it has the feel of one with a great, spacious room with WiFi and cable TV, with nice large bathroom en suite with all the modern requirements. There's a private entry from the main house one level down with a nice porch and view. With all this you get a bonus: some of the nicest, warmest and welcoming hosts you could ask for. They care: about you and your comfort and went out of their way to make us feel at home ... and we did! Did I mention the breakfast: waffles, fruit, souffle ... good coffee ... we'll be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the larger of the two rooms and it was perfect for the three of us ... could easily hol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Recently we stayed at Her Castle, in Cambria. We cannot say enough about Her Castle and the host and hostess, Bill and Eleanor. We have never in our lives stayed in a hotel or bed and breakfast accommodation that supplied our every need - from band aides to luxurious linens. Whatever you could dream of that you might need - it was there! Whatever you've forgotten, they've remembered! Bill and Eleanor are so wonderful to their guests. They take care of you from a beautiful room to a sumptuous breakfast in their dining room. We stayed in the king room, which had it's own deck, coffee pot, refrigerator, microwave, pamphlets on things to do in the area, and more. Her Castle is situated in the redwoods, but close to the beaches with walking paths that are easy to get to. Her Castle is definitely your home away from home. We will definitely stay at Her Castle again and tell our friends to stay also! Dieter and Emily Papsch

Room Tip: A great host and hostess are as important as the good room. Her Castle has both!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DEPLincoln_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the room with a luxurious king bed. It has a private entrance and a balcony with a fridge. Eleanor and Bill treated us like good friends and went out of their way to ensure that we were comfortable. They provided information about dining and local sights. Special touches included coffee, buns and yogurt left at our door each morning, followed by a delicious breakfast served in their lovely home. Available in our room was everything that a traveller might need - toothbrushes, razors, paper plates, cutlery, water, snacks, warm robes, and more. The balcony provides a nice view of pine trees and local birds at the feeder. Moonstone Beach and hiking trails are only a five minute drive away. Morro Bay is about a 20 minute drive and worth the trip to see the harbour and watch the seals eating the kelp. Hearst castle is about the same distance to the north and there is a beautiful beach across the road from the castle. There are sea lions to view along the way. It is a beautiful area and a wonderful B & B. We really enjoyed our stay!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cailleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a last minute trip. Very accommodating including drop off and pick up service if you would like to enjoy drinks with dinner. Breakfast each morning was great and meeting the other guests was a nice bonus. Coffee, tea, or whatever served to your room in the am. Just FYI, not walking distance to town or
Moonstone Dr. However, the value is extraordinary. And they are dog friendly! Do give them a try. I will stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Her Castle B&B for two nights. Our room had everything we would want in a room to make us feel at home! It felt like that we had visited a relative/family!!! The innkeepers went above and beyond to make us feel at home (e.g. Bottle of wine upon arrival, plenty of snacks in the room, water & soda in the fridge, and many other extras). Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Recommendations on local attractions were very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bluesky0697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We recently stayed for 2 nights with Eleanor and Bill Heavey at Her Castle B+B. We stayed in the queen room which was cozy, clean and very well equipped. Upon arrival (before 6pm) we had a fruit and cheese/biscuit platter, the fridge was stocked with a bottle of wine and soft drinks, and there was even a microwave to pop the butter popcorn supplied! We had a pre-breakfast tray at 7.30am with tea and milk, muffins / yoghurt, then at 9am we had a superb breakfast which ranged from egg souffle and bacon, fruit on one day, to frittata, sausages, and ollalieberry french toast on another day! Downside is I think I put on 2 pounds over the weekend...but seriously, the hosts were lovely, friendly and very welcoming. The bathroom was clean and well stocked with amenities including travel wipes, toothbrush, throat drops, sewing kit, band aids, hand sanitizer, and more - on top of the hairdryer and curling iron supplied. Direct TV and DVDs were available, as well as free Wifi. Good location and only a few minutes drive to the village center on Main Street. Several leaflets and information on where to go, what to do etc was also supplied, and available in the room. Recommended.

Room Tip: Queen room was a bit small, but we choose that as it was $30 a night cheaper than the King. Adequate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elusivechic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.8 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,510 reviews
3.5 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
510 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,123 reviews
0.6 mi away
J. Patrick House Bed and Breakfast Inn
2.8 mi away
Moonstone Landing
Moonstone Landing
#3 of 24 in Cambria
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 1978 Londonderry Ln, Just two blocks from Highway 1, Cambria, CA 93428-5321
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range: £107 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homey yet luxurious suites in forested setting within 3/4 mile of ocean (and a 400 acre nature preserve). Botanical gardens and fruit trees. Close to town and restaurants and shops. Our personable and knowledgeable hosts provide a full breakfast, including early morning beverage tray to your room (and appetizers upon your arrival). No wonder we have been given Excellence awards by TripAdvisor for several years in a row, including Trip Advisor's new Green Award for sustainable practices. Open weekends (Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings) and weekday holidays, minimum two night stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing