We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Place To Be Pampered” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #9 of 25 Cambria B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
robfQld
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Place To Be Pampered”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2007

Our 2 night stay was memorable. An evening welcome with wine and cheese, a pre-breakfast tray of tea/coffee, bakery and fruit followed by a gourmet breakfast. Every attention to detail to make us feel special and pampered. All the little extras that you only find in a top notch B&B. We found Her Castle on the internet and are so glad we made the choice to stay there. It's a gem.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robfQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    14
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
97
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2007

Truly the best ever.
Someone said the rooms are in the basement.
they are in the lower level of the house with a private entrance but the entrance is from a deck with a view down the hill of fruit trees and flowers. I wouldn't call it a basement.
The best breakfasts we have ever had. beautiful room with a great bed, spotlessly clean, coffee and rolls at 7 am by your door, breakfast time at your convience, cookies before bedtime.
Just wonderful.

  • Liked — hospitality, food, bed
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank unklray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2007

My husband and I stayed in the Queen room for one night on the Easter
weekend and had a fantastic stay. The owners, Bill and Eleanor, treated us like we were old friends.

The room we stayed in was wonderful and had a private entrance down some side stairs leading from the driveway, so we were able to come and go as we pleased without disturbing anyone. Just outside our door
was a patio area which in the morning was nice and sunny and warm. My
husband who often has trouble sleeping the first night or so on a different bed said he slept like a baby and the bed was very comfy.

I mentioned that I don't drink coffee or tea but love hot chocolate. The next morning Eleanor served me mint flavored hot chocolate with whipped cream instead of coffee or tea. Just a small example of the care and attention to detail that made us feel like we were staying at a five star hotel! Breakfast was fabulous and the highlight of the meal had to be the olallieberry french toast that Eleanor served.
We were so stuffed we ended up skipping lunch and just having an early dinner.

Before we left Bill and Eleanor gave us some great advice for things to do on our drive up the coast. Because of their suggestion we stopped and saw the elephant seals north of Hearst Castle and also stopped briefly at Ragged Point where there is a spectacular view of the cliffs looking north along the coast. If they hadn't told us we probably would have just whizzed past in the car and had no clue what we were missing.

All in all, we had a great time and will definitely be going back to stay at Her Castle in the future! Highly recommended!

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank lovetotravelpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2007

We stayed here for just one night, the accomdations were OK, clean . Nice that we had our own entrance to the building, room was comfortable, but I would not have stayed had I known the bedrooms were in the basement( next place I'll know to ask). The breakfast was very good, a variety of foods and drink, more than expected. Ownwers helpful and nice enough to us. Husband especially pleasant.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank bythebayCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greener1, Owner at Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 29 March 2007
We would just like to respond to those who have concerns that our Queen Room is in the basement--not really! Our two guest rooms are on the lower floor of our two story house, which makes it possible for people to have their own private entrances and decks. (You can easily go from the guest rooms to the rest of the house). These rooms were NEVER in a basement, believe us. They are part of the whole house. Bill Seavey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2006

We were told by friends of a quaint Bed and Breakfeast in the beautiful town of Cambria. Our friends stayed there earlier in the summer and said they couldn't wait to go back. My husband and I needed a little R & R so we booked a 2 night stay.

Eleanor was extremely helpful on the phone. She asked about our interests and dining preferences. She even helped me make a surprise reservation for a wonderful wine tour. They (the wine tour bus) picked us up at the B&B and took us to 3 wineries, then returned us back to the B & B.

When we arrived, we were greeted by Eleanor and her husband Bill. They were both so warm and welcoming. Eleanor showed us to our room. We booked the King Suite and everything was immaculate. The room was large and very comfortable. The private entrance was a big plus as we felt we could come and go as we please without disturbing the owners.

Later, we were invited to wine and cheese. The wonderful platter of cheese, grapes coupled with the wine was a perfect prelude to our dinner. Eleanor was kind enough to have a book in the room with several menus from local restaurants. We asked her to help us decide on a restaurant and she even offered to make the reservations for us. She always went above and beyond to make our stay pleasurable.

This is getting quite legnthy, but I haven't even described the best "surprises". We woke up the next morning to a tray set outside our door. It was filled with homeade breads and pasteries, along with juice and coffee. After going upstairs, we treated to Eleanors wonderful cooking. The homeade breakfeast was one of the best I've ever had (and I have been to many B&B's and 4 and 5 star hotels).

My husband and I felt so pampered and yet our privacy was never infringed upon. We will visit Her Castle again, very soon(we plan on going back for our anniversary). I just hope they aren't booked when I call to make my next reservation!!!!

  • Liked — the food, the service, everything!!!
  • Disliked — nothing!!!
  • Tips/Secrets — Book as soon as you can, I think this one is a "well kept secret"!!!!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank 2busyboysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorpark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2006

We had the most fun here with these wonderful people. I have stayed in B & B's for years and this was by far my favorite stay. We woke up each morning to a tray at our door with coffee, tea, fruit and a muffin. Then we went upstairs for the most wonderful gourmet breakfast I have ever enjoyed anywhere.
From the minute we arrived, it was like being with old friends. Everything we needed was taken care of by our wonderful hosts. Dinner reservations were made for us. They took the time to help us plan our weekend, provided brochures and notebooks of "things to do" in the area. There were little "treats" in the room for us to enjoy. They kept the room stocked with water and made sure that eveything was perfect. They also had the nicest wine and cheese hour I have ever enjoyed at a B & B.
There are three rooms in the home for guests. Each one is immaculate and has it's own unique feel. All of them were cozy. The mattresses were so comfortable. We stayed in the queen which as a beautiful little garden patio that is shared with the suite bedroom. The suite is cute also. It has a living room, bedroom, bathroom, refrigerator, etc. The other bedroom is beautifully decorated with it''s own private balcony overlooking the forest. It is hard to decide which is our favorite. One thing for sure.......we will be going back soon.

  • Liked — The friendly, attentative hosts, the great food and beautiful garden
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Nannadill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ventura, california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2006

I was recommended this Bed and Breakfast by a friend of mine, and so I went. It was WONDERFUL. I have never stayed at a bed and breakfast and been so pampered. From the moment we checked in, we felt like family. We had dinner with the guests in the room next to us, and had a great time. We even planned on comming up the same weekend again soon. The owner gave us plenty of information about the area, places to go, good restaurants, and even showed us some of her favorite spots to go relax and walk at the beach. She even made our resturant reservations for us. She went well out of her way to make us feel cared for and comfortable. We were given a tray of food at 7am in front of our door filled with coffee, tea, pasteries, and fruit. Once we got ready for the day, we went upstairs to a huge and delicious breakfast. We had such a great time, we are planning another trip early next year. The rooms are filled with unexpected little surprises that made the expience more enjoyable, things like candy, music, fresh flowers, chilled drinks, fresh cookies, bathrobes and slippers, satilite TV, telephone, and private entrances for each room. We enjoyed the private patio and views of the mountains from upstairs. It is also in a great location near the main road in Cambria and just a few minutes from the beach and from Hearst Castle. There is plenty of stuff to do, and it is somehow still very relaxing. If you get the chance to visit this B & B, difinately do so. It is the best.

  • Liked — friendly staff, they pampered us
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask staff/owner of information about the area
  • Stayed September 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lmaryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.8 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.9 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
3.0 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 1978 Londonderry Ln, Just two blocks from Highway 1, Cambria, CA 93428-5321
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homey yet luxurious suites in forested setting within 3/4 mile of ocean (and a 400 acre nature preserve). Botanical gardens and fruit trees. Close to town and restaurants and shops. Our personable and knowledgeable hosts provide a full breakfast, including early morning beverage tray to your room (and appetizers upon your arrival). No wonder we have been given Excellence awards by TripAdvisor for several years in a row, including Trip Advisor's new Green Award for sustainable practices. Open weekends (Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings) and weekday holidays, minimum two night stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing