We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not all rooms have been remodeled, wish I would have known!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Newhall, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not all rooms have been remodeled, wish I would have known!!!!”
Reviewed 10 February 2011

First of all, this is not a hotel for children. The only think I liked was the breakfast in bed. It was small and it got us through until we got to Linn's Restaurant. There is an actual closet in the room, which was nice. As for the bad...the bed covers and the sheets were stained and the towels had holes in it. I felt we overpaid for the room we got. I booked and paid for the room through some online company and I was charged again upon my arrival. They immediately rectified that but there was a $50 difference. So if you want to stay here, call the hotel directly to book the room and MAKE SURE YOU ASK FOR THE NEW ROOMS!!! And yes the people at the restaurant next door can get loud.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yadi2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    161
    54
    18
    6
See reviews for
122
356
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

I am a self-confirmed travel snob. As a wedding & event planner, I really work hard and when I travel for leisure like to splurge on a nice place to stay. We had originally booked a Garden View room at a competitor's site down Moonstone Drive in Cambria and had to cancel since it looked like our travel plans were going to change. When they were back on again, the only place available was the Cambria Landing and Jacuzzi Suites. We were on a major budget and it was a holiday weekend. All the other places were averaging $250/night with a two night minimum. Something we simply could not afford to do on this trip, but really needed to get away. Enter Cambria Landing. We found a "partial ocean view" for $130/night and NO night minimum! I did some research and the reviews were "ok" - nothing negative. I was concerned that they did not show a photo of the entire property and was worried it may be cheezey and old.

When we arrived, I was nothing but pleased. They had re-done the building and it was visually pleasing- modern - but clean and nice. We had the friendliest welcome and they hand you a bottle of wine or champagne with every check in. And our room? The "partial" ocean view was spectacular and we could see the majority of the beach and ocean from our room and hear the surf pounding at night. The gas fireplace was lovely at night -it puts out a ton of heat and the flame never changed from blue, really, but it was still nice. There are no screens on the windows, but we opened them anyway to listen to the ocean at night. The room was spacious, everything was clean, up to date and the bathroom was clean and modern, too. They also deliver a continental breakfast to your room. You fill out your little sheet as to what time you'd like it and hang it on your door and they deliver it the next morning right on time. There were two muffins (heated), a caraffe of coffee, milk, sugar, two glasses of orange juice and two bowls of freshly sliced apples and bananas.

In this economy, one really is looking for value. What I loved about Cambria Landing was that it was modern, clean, friendly and the price point was exceptional. They didn't get greedy like a lot of their competitors who tripled their rates and demanded a two night minimum. In this economy, people need choices. This really was exceptional value. Being right across from the beach, we enjoyed a night walk under the stars and moon and the last morning of our stay went for a nice long walk on the wooden plank sidewalk on the beach. The inn's location is perfect and right next to a great restaurant (although the restaurant makes you order everything a la carte and is quite pricey - that's a whole separate review).

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BohemianCowgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We have travelled much of the world, and Cambria remains our favorite spot on earth. We have stayed at several different places on Moonstone Beach, but by far our favorite is Cambria Landing! No where else can we get the ocean view, the private open-air balcony, the bottle of wine upon arrival, the romantic fireplace, and the excellent restaurant right next door! Our favorite rooms are on the top floor facing the ocean (the ones on the first floor are great too) but the new suites and room 9 (which has an open balcony), are also total winners. The brand new big screen T.V.'s in each room are also a lovely touch ( if you can ever take your eyes off the GORGEOUS scenery!) There are 2 nice, clean, steamy hot tubs at the back of the property, and how great to unwind in them with a nice glass of wine at the end of a day of hiking the beach and/or visiting the drop dead beautiful wineries within a few miles. Cheryl, Joannie, and Marsha at the front desk are so totally nice and accomodating, and the staff that delivers breakfast to your room each morning and keeps the rooms clean have been there forever. We have recommended Cambria Landing to many friends and they always return as in love with it as we are! Each time we pull out of the driveway (and last week was NO exception) and head for home, we immediately begin planning our next stay! What a place!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salliebp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCal
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

We really enjoyed our 1 night stay at Cambria Landing. We took Hwy 1 up to Monterey for a couple of nights, then Hwy 1 south, with a stop in Cambria. We had a 2nd floor partial ocean view room and we were really pleased with the room, the view and the service. They gave us a bottle of wine at check in and were very friendly. There was a nice fireplace in the room, which was nice, as there had been a light rain all day during our trip down the coast. That didn't keep us from stoping along the route and seeing the amazing Big Sur views, so we were pretty damp when we checked in. The hotel was going through some remodeling, but that didn't disrupt us at all. The hotel left the unoccupied rooms doors open, so we were able to check out the other rooms, which was fun. We were slightly disappointed with the breakfast, which consisted of a generic tasting muffin, a bowl with one apple and one banana sliced, and a very small glass of OJ for each of us. One thing that was very nice was they had hot water and hot chocolate or tea in the hallway all day and night and coffee all morning, which was very welcome. We ended up going to Lynns for breakfast, which was very good, but a bit expensive, and we took a couple of the ollaliberry muffins to go - those were amazing. We'd definitely stay at Cambria Landing again and wish we could have spent at least one more night here!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalGirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2010

Perfect location with great ocean view and a bottle of wine at check-in. We called to say we would arrive early and they went out of their way to have our room ready. It looks like they are doing some remodeling. I hope so. The carpets need to be replaced, as do bedding, drapes, etc. We well check before we stay there next year.
Ask about the rooms before you make a reservation.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CA2wheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Valley, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2009

My wife and I just spent our 1st anniversary at the Cambria Landing Inn and we loved it. The staff was extremely friendly and the bottle of champagne was a nice touch. We stayed in Suite C, which was large, had a great view of the ocean and a huge clean jacuzzi tub in the room. The bed was comfortable and the fireplace was romantic even though it didn't put out much heat.
I must say, after reading some of the reviews on TA I was a little hesitant, but since there was no vacancy at many of the other inn's on Moonstone Beach Drive I decided to take a chance. Yes, the decor is a bit "90'sish" but it really wasn't bad at all. If you are looking for a Four Season's style room, than this is not the place for you. But it is perfect for the atmosphere that is Cambria.
We toured the other rooms in the main building and I can see why some would give this place bad reviews. I would definitely stay here again, but only in the Jacuzzi Suites (Suites A through F). Be sure to bring a few candles and some bath salts and bubble bath for the jacuzzi and you'll be all set!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kandzmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
335 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Holiday weekend so not sure we got the best price-BUT the location is GREAT- Moonstone Beach Drive which is across the street from the ocean and some rooms face the ocean! Staff was very friendly and the bottle of wine was a nice add on ! Fresh coffee, juice, fruit and hot muffins arrived at our door at our requested time which was also nice !! Room was a bit older, the bed seemed a bit worn, the comforter needed to go and the whole room seemed a little dark. We also did not understand why the window does not have a screen- wanted to leave it open to hear the ocean at night but seemed a bit uncomfortable to leave it open with no screen. The gas fireplace is great as even in MAY the evening was chilly ! Bathroom seemed spotless so I would not hesitate to stay again- however my husband and I are very allergic to cats and the room was causing us a bit of a problem with our allergies...Brick walls so we did not hear a thing from other rooms- another plus !! No in room microwaves but hot water on second floor. Also staff offered to microwave for us but that felt a bit uncomfortable. Second floor balconies have a better view to see the crashing waves so it might be worth it to stay on second with an ocean facing room.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BackRoadsUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,636 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Landing Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Landing Inn & Suites

Property: Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Address: 6530 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1810 (Formerly Cambria Landing Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#7 Family Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambria Landing Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plan Central Coast romantic getaways with Cambria Landing Inn & Suites, your picturesque home base while you explore this breathtaking area, which includes the iconic Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery and an assortment of wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Cambria Landing Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Landing Hotel Cambria
Cambria Landing b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing