We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable - Elegant - Gracious”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cambria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fog's End Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
brookfield
1 review
“Comfortable - Elegant - Gracious”
Reviewed 30 November 2008

My husband and I were so impressed with the accomodations that this "family-owned" bed and breakfast provides. From the moment we arrived and received the warm greeting from this gracious couple until they waved goodbye when we left, we knew that this was someplace that we will definitely make a point of returning to soon. Not only were the rooms warm and "welcoming" but also elegant.. We enjoyed cocktails and appetizers while we visited and were given information and directions to the places we wanted to visit. Fresh eggs (they have chickens!) as well as herbs from their garden were used for a luscious and bountiful breakfast in the morning at our convenience.

  • Liked — The gracious hosts, excellent food, and clean,beautiful rooms
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank devittBrookfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2008

We have stayed at many bed and breakfasts through the years, but Fog's End ranks at the top for all the things we look for at a B&B. All the rooms have hardwood floors and are beautifully and tastefully decorated with turn-of-the century charm, and the large living room has a fireplace, plenty of comfortable seating, and a lovely view. Inside the built-in china cupboard are both a wine cooler and a small refrigerator, which we found very convenient.

Our large bedroom was really special, with an extremely comfortable bed, a lovely antique armoire, two sky lights to view the starry night, and a terrirfic bathroom with a large glass shower with both a rain shower head and a shower wand. (Wonderful for two!)

Breakfast is my favorite meal, and they were excellent! (including fresh eggs,if they're on the menu, laid daily by their brood of four beautiful hens!) Adding to the experience, the breakfast room is made entirely of glass and hasa picturesque view of vineyard and hills. The wine and cheese served late afternoon or early evening also added to our wonderful experience.

Also, Cambria is in an excellent location. Fog's End is just a 5-minute walk from the historic part of Cambria with its many charming, quaint shops and tempting bakeries. Cambria also has a little theater where plays are presented on a regular basis. Cambria itself is just six miles south of Hearst's Castle, and short day trips both north and south provide plenty to do, including watching elephant seals, walking on the beach, strolling through art galleries and charming towns, and wine tasting at local wineries.

Saving the best for last, the host and hostess, Jan and Jim, are two really delightful people who made us feel very much at home. This was our first trip to Fog's End, but not our last. We loved it!

  • Liked — the breakfasts, the rooms/house, the location
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Fancyfree45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walla Walla, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2008

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in December, and it was absolutely wonderful. The quality of the accommodations for the price was fantastic...we loved having a huge bathroom with super-deep clawfoot tub. The house is a remodeled old farmhouse and the interior looks like it was lifted from the pages of a Pottery Barn or Restoration Hardware showbook. It was very quiet and relaxing, and the included breakfast was more than just good- it was homecooked greatness! The location is on the edge of town so you feel like you're out in the country. Perfect for a romantic getaway.

  • Liked — The location and the property itself.
  • Disliked — No TV or radio in the rooms
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleInWallaWalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2006

We were one of two couples staying with Jim and Jan at the Fog's End, so it was very quiet. The home has recently been renovated - I think Jan said they are just over one year old.

Our accommodations were very comfortable, and the breakfast yummy! We would definitely stay there again.

A nice feature is that the Fog's End doesn't have a two night stay minimum.

Thanks Jim and Jan!

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 June 2006

We recently stayed at the Fog's End in Cambria. The hospitality was wonderful and the home was lovely, peaceful and very quiet. Cambria is a cute, oceanside town with great shopping and great food. Jim and Jan and their two dogs were charming and fun to visit with. If you enjoy a true B&B experience, I highly recommend Fog's End.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.6 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,095 reviews
2.7 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
384 reviews
2.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cambria Palms Motel
Cambria Palms Motel
#12 of 12 in Cambria
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Olallieberry Inn
Olallieberry Inn
#2 of 24 in Cambria
301 reviews
2.1 mi away
Moonstone Landing
Moonstone Landing
#3 of 24 in Cambria
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fog's End Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fog's End Bed & Breakfast

Property: Fog's End Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2735 Main St, Cambria, CA 93428-3411
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to town on 8 acres. 7465 ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing