We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, basic, location, location, location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Inn
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean, basic, location, location, location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed overnight. Nothing fancy but clean enough (slightly musty ?) and can't beat location. Right across the street is lovely boardwalk and the ocean. Continental breakfast - Kashi oatmeal, cereals, boiled eggs, assorted pastries, fresh whole fruit, coffee, milk, tea. Enough to hold us until lunch and appreciated that the cereal offerings were of the healthier variety. Front desk very helpful for dining options according to what you are looking for. Great stopover on the way to Hearst Castle next day. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letsgovaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    229
    61
    11
    7
See reviews for
146
248
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

While our room was clean and gave us a place to rest our weary heads for one night, my husband and I were disappointed in our room overall, especially for the price. We paid $180 (after taxes, etc.) for a no-ftills room that would have been fine for $100.

That being said, it was nice to walk across the street and be at the ocean's edge with harbor seals and very friendly squirrels. And we had a great dinner in a delightful restaurant nearby called Old Stone Station.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank cmcgrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

My husband and I spent one night at Castle Inn on our happy motoring trip down the central California coast. The trip up Big Sur was warm and sunny, until we reached the top. After that, it was so foggy, you couldn't even see the ocean, and by the time we got to Cambria, it was drizzling and chilly. So we checked in, and drove over to a pleasant restaurant in the more southerly part of Cambria, which is divided into two parts. The place had a heated tent in the back, and served good lamb curry, among other interesting fare. We spent some time in an interesting gem/rock shop across the street from the restaurant. Then we went back to the hotel and caught the elephant seals on the webcam--it was fun to be able to really watch them loll around and play with each other. Castle Inn's beds are OK, it has great water pressure, excellent shower, and a pool and hot tub we didn't use. Breakfast was bad, but they gave it a go, and everyone who worked there was very pleasant. We were particularly impressed with the Russian receptionist, who did a great job keeping all the balls in the air, and keeping her cool, when three groups of people were checking in , and the phone was ringing off the hook.

Next day, the weather cleared up, and we took a hike at San Simeon State Beach--Beautiful, but watch for ticks and tons of poison oak. We took a look at the visitor center at Hearst Castle, and decided that looking at some rich guy's house wasn't our cup of tea, so headed over to the Sebastian General Store, which was, unfortunately, closed on the day we were there(Tuesdays)--but we did see the milkshake blender, and the fabulous menu. Sebastian Store is a must-do for those who like to eat great old-fashioned fast food. The beach there is real pretty too, with a nice pier.

There are many hotels on the Moonstone Drive strip, and I can't vouch for the others, but Castle Inn suited us just fine.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have ocean views and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank arachne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed here because we had a Living Social deal and for the location. I have stayed in a lot of hotels and prefer not to stay inside the room because I love exploring. I'm giving it 4 stars because the staff were very friendly, professional, and accommodating and also for the price. The breakfast was appropriate and a lot better than other hotels. They had Peerless regular and decaf coffee (very important)hot cocoa for the kids, milk, orange jc and hot and cold water. They had olallieberry pastries with other selections,2 choices of Kashi oatmeal (maple and apple cinnamon), yogurt, fruits and hard boiled egg. I eat light breakfast and for me it's a lot but for my kids and hubbie, just enough. Some hotels will just give you cheap sugary muffins and coffee for complimentary breakfast!
It is also a stone throw away from Moonstone Beach Bar and Grill which is a very good place for family and a great view of the beach and sunset! The room had a fridge, tv, bath soap and the usual stuff. It'a also about 6 miles away from Hearst Castle.
The manager offered us some board games like pictionary quick draw which we borrowed and had a nice family game on our second night.
It has a small swimming pool outside and deck chair out overlooking the beach where you can hang out. It is right across the boardwalk to go further into the beach where one can view the rocks and harbor seals especially in the morning where one can practice yoga amidst nature.
The only negative I can say is the shower door dripping water on the floor wetting the bath mat and we had to put more towels on the floor. The bed was not comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have more ocean view and we stayed at room 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LolloSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

This place wasn't fancy, but it was exactly what we wanted for the price. Close to restaurants, we loved sitting in the Adirondack chairs and watching the sunset. The continental breakfast, again, wasn't fancy but it was just enough for us, filled us up and coffee was good too. Stayed here for our 6th anniversary two weekends ago.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shareesmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn Valley, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Very clean and comfortable, right across the street from the ocean! Great value.

Room Tip: Room No. 2 has a window view of the ocean right across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pragjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
156 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

The inn is across the street from the ocean. our room on the second floor had an excellent view. The room also had a fireplace and a very comfortable bed. Our reception was quick and friendly, as was our departure. Lastly, the price was quite reasonable for the area. Hearst Castle is just up the road a few miles. We would gladly stay again.

Room Tip: The corner room on the second floor is the only one with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rlwlawrisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkEads, General Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear rlwrisk,
It was a pleasure to welcome you to Castle Inn. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and would consider joining us again. We do look forward to that opportunity to welcome you back.
Thank you too, for sharing on TripAdvisor.

Warm Regards
The Staff at Castle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.1 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.4 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn

Property: Castle Inn
Address: 6620 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1812
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It was one of the very first motels built along the Cambria coast when cattle still roamed on Moonstone Beach Drive. The property boasts one of the best geographical locations on the beach. Right in front of the lodge are amazing tide pools to discover sealife, gorgeous lookouts, Leffingwell Landing Park and a wide-open beach upon which to stroll. The grounds at the Inn are broad and situated with comfortable sitting areas for enjoyable ocean viewing and people-watching. All of the guestrooms offer views of the ocean, but the upstairs rooms provide an excellent vantage point to watch the daily sunsets. The rooms at Castle Inn are simple but more than adequate to provide a wonderful stay at the beach. It is our intention to make the property one of the best values along Moonstone Beach and a great option for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Inn By The Sea Hotel Cambria
Castle Hotel Cambria
Castle Motel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing