We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as we expected”
Review of Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Inn
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed for just one night during our drive up from Los Angeles to San Francisco . The Inn certainly matched our expectations after reading the hotel's website and the guest reviews. The lady on reception was very helpful . The room was on the basic side but large and very clean .The breakfast was adequate for our needs . There is also a small heated pool which is certainly a bonus when travelling with children. The position of the Inn is great - straight across from the board walk and small rocky beach. Overall, the hotel was good value - certainly for an overnight stay during a California road trip .

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpudG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkEads, General Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

We thank you for your great review of Castle Inn. We are so pleased we met your expectations and that you enjoyed the trip to Cambria. The coastal road trip is a beautiful experience and we are happy to have provided you a comfortable stop on your journey. We are pleased to provide a great value for those staying on Moonstone Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (559)
There are newer reviews for Castle Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Cambria. Reception staff were very helpful and pleasant at all times. Our room which had an ocean view was upstairs and was a good size. The shower room was very small but everything was clean. The breakfast room was quite small with only 3 tables but it appeared that most people came and collected their breakfast and took it back to their rooms. Food was adequate. Nice pastries but no toaster.
There were two restaurants within walking distance but for other places to eat in the town you would need to use a car.
Lovely walks along the boardwalk in front of the hotel. Overall a pleasant stay and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 789JulieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkEads, General Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Thank you for your review of Castle Inn. Providing a budget friendly option for travelers wanting to stay on Moonstone Beach, this is one of the original motels built. Clean and comfortable and a great place for families traveling to Cambria, this motel even has a heated pool. Of course, we love hearing that our staff was helpful and that you enjoyed the overall experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This hotel was cheaper than some of the others I looked at in Cambria.
The check in was excellent and Dawn was extremely helpful advising us on where to go for food etc.
The hotel itself was like a motel with the rooms off the parking lot. We stayed in an upstairs room with an ocean view. I would say that it is probably not worth the extra for that kind of room as we were not really in the room apart from sleeping.
The room itself felt older than some of the other hotels i stayed in on this trip. there was a slight musty smell in the room and the bathroom was a little dated. Nevertheless it was clean and well maintained. The fire place in the room was a nice touch and we kept it on through the night.
I would probably book this hotel if i was to go to Cambria again as it helped to keep down the overall cost of our trip. It was a nice touch that a continental breakfast was included before we left for Hearst Castle.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardHoskisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkEads, General Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Castle Inn is the affordable choice on Moonstone Beach Drive. And it is actually one of the very first motels built here. We acquired it recently and have been renovating and remodeling to bring it up to our standards. Clean, comfortable, and budget friendly, this is a wonderful choice for families. We thank you for your review and look for ward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We took our 75 pound "pound puppy" for an experiment in staying with our dog. The room was nice, a pillow, dog bowls and treats waiting for us. The place is on Moonstone beach boardwalk.There was a decent continental breakfast. Nice sitting area, the old fashioned kind. Adirondack chairs on the lawn facing the ocean. Nice pool which was closed for the off season.

DO NOT MISS: Fiscarelli Ranch. Take Windsor to the end of the road. Board walk along the cliffs for strolling, about a mile long. Dogs on leash. Better yet, go left instead of right and you have 2 thousand acres of trails, forest and incredible ocean views. All of this and dogs are find off leash!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfp21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkEads, General Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Thank you for your review of Castle Inn. We are happy that you and the 'puppy' had a pleasant stay with us. We are pleased to be able to offer an affordable option for travelers wanting to stay right on Moonstone Beach. And the pool is a wonderful addition for the kids. Fiscalini Ranch Preserve is indeed a special spot with over 400 acres of hiking and walking trails. And yes, if your pet is voice-controlled, they are welcome to run off-leash.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed at The Castle Inn for 2 nights in August 2012 having booked it at the last minute while in Monterey on our way down the west coast from SF to LA. As it was still holiday season we were lucky to get accommodation at such short notice, something we would not do again i.e. we would pre-book on-line after conducting a thorough research of other accommodation in the area. Cambria is a lot busier than it looks on Google Maps, being close to the must see tourist attraction Hearst Castle and wonderful surrounding countryside.
The Inn/motel accommodation proved to be basic but very clean and tidy, ideal for a short stopover. Breakfast was quite meager compared to other hotels/motels we have stayed at in the USA.
If you are looking for a longer stay then there is better accommodation to be found.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room with a view towards the sea
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelandLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This is part of a small group of hotels in Cambria and is not the best in the group whilst the rooms were clean there was an unpleasant smell lingering in them which I found most off putting. The beds was not overly comfortable a good mattress topper would have helped enormously. The bathrooms are very small but clean and the shower worked well. The breakfast room has too few seats but the breakfast is plentiful and has a reasonable selection.
The staff we met were all very helpful. Overall it wasn't a bad experience if they could do something about the smell (harsh cleaning chemical?) and improve the comfort of the beds a little it would have moved the rating to good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HillWalkerCanterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We had a wonderful experience here! While the hot tub jets were not working, everything else was wonderful.The location, staff, breakfast, and cost were worth staying there. You are right on the shore for less than one hundred per night, and you are only minutes from Hearst Castle!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsCrossen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.1 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,976 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
817 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn

Address: 6620 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1812
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: £88 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It was one of the very first motels built along the Cambria coast when cattle still roamed on Moonstone Beach Drive. The property boasts one of the best geographical locations on the beach. Right in front of the lodge are amazing tide pools to discover sealife, gorgeous lookouts, Leffingwell Landing Park and a wide-open beach upon which to stroll. The grounds at the Inn are broad and situated with comfortable sitting areas for enjoyable ocean viewing and people-watching. All of the guestrooms offer views of the ocean, but the upstairs rooms provide an excellent vantage point to watch the daily sunsets. The rooms at Castle Inn are simple but more than adequate to provide a wonderful stay at the beach. It is our intention to make the property one of the best values along Moonstone Beach and a great option for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Inn By The Sea Hotel Cambria
Castle Hotel Cambria
Castle Motel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing