We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OKAY!”
Review of Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Inn
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Snellville, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just OKAY!”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The location of Castle Inn is absolutely gorgeous! We found the place to be clean, but outdated, old smelling and very noisy due to thin walls. If a decent Internet connection is a must, don't count on it working here. Given the four stars that others have rated this place, I expected a lot more.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kladry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    252
    64
    15
    7
See reviews for
162
291
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

The location is fantastic. Most
rooms have an ocean view, & there is a boardwalk with beach access and tidepooling along with seals right across the street. The staff was friendly and the rooms were spacious and clean. Do be aware that they don't communicate late check in procedures ahead of time on their website or with an answering machine message. They had taken care of everything and were very accommodating, so it was not an issue. However, we did not know this and were concerned when we could not get anyone in the office to discuss our late arrival. The office closes at night, but directions are left for checking in next door. This certainly was not an issue once we arrived, & I definitely recommend them- just be aware, so you are not worried about getting in. We will definitely be using them again! It is a great value and easily accessible.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NORO97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Our family of four (kids aged 12 and 16) enjoyed our stay at the Castle Inn. The hotel is a motel-style property with a couple dozen rooms, accented with bright flowers and red chairs out front for lounging, and situated right across the road from a pretty boardwalk, rocky beach with tidal pools and seals, and a sandy beach. You could not ask for a better location - you are steps away from the ocean.

The room itself was a reasonable size for our family, had spots for our several suitcases, and included a small fridge in the closet. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was nicely kept, although a little small for a family of four. It had a pedestal sink right next to the stool, and a stand-up shower, with not much extra elbow room for getting ready in the morning. However, there was plenty of mirror space in the room itself, so we didn't have too much of a problem. If our kids could have showered at night, that would have made the morning a little easier - as it was, we just planned ahead and gave ourselves extra time. The bathroom would be perfect for a couple.

I would warn that the walls are a little thin - we had already gone to bed a little after 10:00 when the people next door came in. There was quite a bit of noise as they went in and out, presumably brining in luggage, and then we could hear a rumble of talking until almost 11:00 - not enough to distinguish words, but the voices were low in pitch and definitely kept me from falling asleep right away. They were not talking loudly, but the sound carried.

However, the location can't be beat and the staff was helpful in giving us a map of the area with some restaurant suggestions. They also post the high and low tides, as well as sunset, which was nice. There is a small pool, but we did not end up using it on this trip.

Overall, this is a nice spot and a very reasonable rate for California.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family4RdTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,283 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 602 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Opposite beach on relatively quiet road (although highway 1 not that far away night road noise was not a problem). Rooms have feel of recent upgrade. Room was spacious and comfortable. Plenty of parking, easy check in and good free wifi. We had upstairs standard king room and were not affected by noise from plumbing or elsewhere. Comfortable bed and 2 good night's sleep. Have good self serve continental breakfast. Walking distance to good bar/grill or 5-10 minute drive to downtown. Beach boardwalk across road. 10-15 mins drive to Hearst castle. Very good value.

Room Tip: upstairs on 2nd floor is fine but no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emanpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I again went back to this hotel for a one night stay on the way back from SFO. Booked 2 rooms with 2 queen beds. While checking in, Patty the staff at front desk recognized me from last visit and upgraded me to 2 King rooms on the first floor, which were at much higher price. She also remembered my request for microwave last time and arranged for one. She just made our day, she was an example how a hotel staff make your vacation special. Cambria has already become one of our favorite spots, will surely go back again and stay with them. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: look for room 22, 28 and 30.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sourav R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We were in Cambria for a wedding. Chose Castle Inn based on Trip Advisor comments. It was fine - nothing special except for the location - right across the road from the beach. Harbor seals were all over the rocks and the tide pools were fun even if not heavily populated. We sprang for an ocean view room which was lovely. The beds are fine, room is clean. The motel is a bit run down in places but nothing horrible. "Full continental breakfast" includes pastries, hardboiled eggs, cold cereal, yogurt, coffee/tea. Pool area is very appealing. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug89523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkEads, General Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Castle Inn was one of the first motels on Moonstone Beach. We have updated and renovated and continued to refresh the rooms over the past year since we acquired the property. This property is very budget friendly and the pool is a wonderful addition for families traveling with children. Thank you so much for your lovely review of our newest addition to the Cambria Inns collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortuna, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed one night here and overall, we had a pleasant experience. We stayed in Room 2, upstairs overlooking the ocean. Positives: friendly check-in person, great view and location, safe feeling, clean room, basic continental breakfast, pretty flowers outside, nice Adirondack chairs. Drawbacks: sound traveled through door from stairs and walkway outside to a large degree, mattress very uncomfortable as it was very thin and firm and had no padding, bathroom tiny. If we stay in Cambria again, we would try one of the other places in hopes of a more comfortable bed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkEads, General Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Thank you for your review of Castle Inn. We are pleased that you are happy with our staff and the cleanliness of our hotel...we value customer service and our guests' happiness. This is one of the very first motels built on Moonstone Beach Drive and we have been busy doing renovations and upgrades since recently acquiring this property. For affordability right on the beach, nothing beats it. For a more luxurious stay, we suggest Blue Dolphin Inn or Sand Pebbles Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.1 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,883 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn

Property: Castle Inn
Address: 6620 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1812
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It was one of the very first motels built along the Cambria coast when cattle still roamed on Moonstone Beach Drive. The property boasts one of the best geographical locations on the beach. Right in front of the lodge are amazing tide pools to discover sealife, gorgeous lookouts, Leffingwell Landing Park and a wide-open beach upon which to stroll. The grounds at the Inn are broad and situated with comfortable sitting areas for enjoyable ocean viewing and people-watching. All of the guestrooms offer views of the ocean, but the upstairs rooms provide an excellent vantage point to watch the daily sunsets. The rooms at Castle Inn are simple but more than adequate to provide a wonderful stay at the beach. It is our intention to make the property one of the best values along Moonstone Beach and a great option for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Inn By The Sea Hotel Cambria
Castle Hotel Cambria
Castle Motel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing