We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and inexpensive”
Review of Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Inn
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Riverside County
Level Contributor
240 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Clean and inexpensive”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This not the best but not a bad place to stay in Cambria but is the least expensive. The room was clean but not fancy. There was a small refrigerator in the closet. Because of the mild temperatures in the area, there is no air conditioner but there is a ceiling fan. This was not an issue as it was somewhat chilly in June and I suspect that it never really gets hot there. It is right across the street from the ocean and you can sit on the front lawn in large chairs and watch the sunset. The pool is small but adequate. The spa is very small and the water was not hot enough. Every morning they give you a free continental breakfast which is good. It is enough to hold you until lunch. None of the rooms actually face the ocean so don't be fooled by the term ocean view. It is more ocean side view. Ask for a room on the second floor. It is a newly renovated property and is more of a motel than a hotel. People walk outside your room so expect some noise if kids are around. For this reason, you need to keep the blinds closed most of the day and cannot leave your windows open at night. Wi-fi is free which is nice. I would stay here again as it is good value for the money-$550 for 3 days. Other hotels in the area can cost you $100-$150 more a night. There is no onsite restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lance2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    246
    63
    12
    7
See reviews for
155
272
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The Castle Inn is directly across the street from the boardwalk steps right down to the beach, you could not ask for a better location.
The room itself is just average, nothing fancy. But it was clean and was just a quick one night stop on our way up the coast to San Francisco so it was not that big of a deal. The only real down side was that the bathroom was really small and no countertop space at all. It was also a little noisy at night with people coming back to their rooms from a night out.
The continental breakfast was as expected; cereal and Danish but did have yogurt which was a nice touch.
All in all it was a great rate for a one night stop for a family on a budget.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank librarygrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, california
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We came in late on a Tuesday night and got a decent room. The price was $130 for a queen bed.
check in was easy
breakfast was good
we will stay here again
Cons....town shuts down early
Eat at the Main St. Grill in Cambria! Ate at the pizza place down the street from the grill. Pizza was good.

Room Tip: Come early to get a good room. People were lined up to get a room. We got the last one and the price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank builderswife5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
168 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

PROS:
(1) Location (across the street from the ocean and minutes from downtown)
(2) Friendly and helpful clerk
(3) Pet friendly (but there’s a $25 per night pet fee)
(4) Tidy, utilitarian, and comfortable room
(5) Free breakfast and WiFi
(6) Reasonable price ($144 per night)

CONS:
(1) No bathtub (just a shower)
(2) No DVD player
(3) No hot food for breakfast (continental only)
(4) Thin walls / poor sound insulation

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gaakin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snellville, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The location of Castle Inn is absolutely gorgeous! We found the place to be clean, but outdated, old smelling and very noisy due to thin walls. If a decent Internet connection is a must, don't count on it working here. Given the four stars that others have rated this place, I expected a lot more.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kladry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

The location is fantastic. Most
rooms have an ocean view, & there is a boardwalk with beach access and tidepooling along with seals right across the street. The staff was friendly and the rooms were spacious and clean. Do be aware that they don't communicate late check in procedures ahead of time on their website or with an answering machine message. They had taken care of everything and were very accommodating, so it was not an issue. However, we did not know this and were concerned when we could not get anyone in the office to discuss our late arrival. The office closes at night, but directions are left for checking in next door. This certainly was not an issue once we arrived, & I definitely recommend them- just be aware, so you are not worried about getting in. We will definitely be using them again! It is a great value and easily accessible.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NORO97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Our family of four (kids aged 12 and 16) enjoyed our stay at the Castle Inn. The hotel is a motel-style property with a couple dozen rooms, accented with bright flowers and red chairs out front for lounging, and situated right across the road from a pretty boardwalk, rocky beach with tidal pools and seals, and a sandy beach. You could not ask for a better location - you are steps away from the ocean.

The room itself was a reasonable size for our family, had spots for our several suitcases, and included a small fridge in the closet. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was nicely kept, although a little small for a family of four. It had a pedestal sink right next to the stool, and a stand-up shower, with not much extra elbow room for getting ready in the morning. However, there was plenty of mirror space in the room itself, so we didn't have too much of a problem. If our kids could have showered at night, that would have made the morning a little easier - as it was, we just planned ahead and gave ourselves extra time. The bathroom would be perfect for a couple.

I would warn that the walls are a little thin - we had already gone to bed a little after 10:00 when the people next door came in. There was quite a bit of noise as they went in and out, presumably brining in luggage, and then we could hear a rumble of talking until almost 11:00 - not enough to distinguish words, but the voices were low in pitch and definitely kept me from falling asleep right away. They were not talking loudly, but the sound carried.

However, the location can't be beat and the staff was helpful in giving us a map of the area with some restaurant suggestions. They also post the high and low tides, as well as sunset, which was nice. There is a small pool, but we did not end up using it on this trip.

Overall, this is a nice spot and a very reasonable rate for California.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family4RdTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.1 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.3 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
799 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#7 of 12 in Cambria
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
1,838 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn

Property: Castle Inn
Address: 6620 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1812
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It was one of the very first motels built along the Cambria coast when cattle still roamed on Moonstone Beach Drive. The property boasts one of the best geographical locations on the beach. Right in front of the lodge are amazing tide pools to discover sealife, gorgeous lookouts, Leffingwell Landing Park and a wide-open beach upon which to stroll. The grounds at the Inn are broad and situated with comfortable sitting areas for enjoyable ocean viewing and people-watching. All of the guestrooms offer views of the ocean, but the upstairs rooms provide an excellent vantage point to watch the daily sunsets. The rooms at Castle Inn are simple but more than adequate to provide a wonderful stay at the beach. It is our intention to make the property one of the best values along Moonstone Beach and a great option for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Inn By The Sea Hotel Cambria
Castle Hotel Cambria
Castle Motel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing