We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable”
Review of Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Inn
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Our family of four stayed here for just one night, but thoroughly enjoyed it. The situation is great,and the room was spacious and nicely decorated. I did a lot of research before choosing this place (motel/hotel - who cares as long as it gives you what you want?) and was pleased with my choice. The only negatives were that the pool surround is sore on the feet, and the hot tub needs replacing - not exactly major concerns!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

This is a good motel - but after reading all the amazing reviews we were expecting an amazing hotel suite overlooking the sea and were quite disappointed at first.

It has a great location across from the beach. You can see seals on the rocks and other sea life in the tide pools. When it is sunny it's wonderful to walk or run along the beach on a lovely wooden path. We also enjoyed it when it was foggy.

The "Sea View" room (photo below) you may be paying more for is from a motel room, on the 2nd floor with a walkway in front of it (if you leave your drapes open to see the view people will be walking by and seeing you.) I would not pay more for a "sea view" room - just go down to the sea.

Room are very clean and have very nice bathroom amenities. The continental breakfast was quite nice and you can take it up to your room.

Wifi is free - but reception was very poor in our sea view room.

There is a pool - not very useful in the fog.

Price seemed expensive for a motel ($150), but we didn't compare it with the other motels in the area. We booked in the last minute. You can either stay on this motel strip along Moonstone Beach, or up in town away from the sea. I would definitely choose by the sea and then drive up to the town shops and restaurants.

and yes - the pizza parlor in town saved us as it did many others who went out later to eat. It is pretty good pizza.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oran A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This not the best but not a bad place to stay in Cambria but is the least expensive. The room was clean but not fancy. There was a small refrigerator in the closet. Because of the mild temperatures in the area, there is no air conditioner but there is a ceiling fan. This was not an issue as it was somewhat chilly in June and I suspect that it never really gets hot there. It is right across the street from the ocean and you can sit on the front lawn in large chairs and watch the sunset. The pool is small but adequate. The spa is very small and the water was not hot enough. Every morning they give you a free continental breakfast which is good. It is enough to hold you until lunch. None of the rooms actually face the ocean so don't be fooled by the term ocean view. It is more ocean side view. Ask for a room on the second floor. It is a newly renovated property and is more of a motel than a hotel. People walk outside your room so expect some noise if kids are around. For this reason, you need to keep the blinds closed most of the day and cannot leave your windows open at night. Wi-fi is free which is nice. I would stay here again as it is good value for the money-$550 for 3 days. Other hotels in the area can cost you $100-$150 more a night. There is no onsite restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lance2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The Castle Inn is directly across the street from the boardwalk steps right down to the beach, you could not ask for a better location.
The room itself is just average, nothing fancy. But it was clean and was just a quick one night stop on our way up the coast to San Francisco so it was not that big of a deal. The only real down side was that the bathroom was really small and no countertop space at all. It was also a little noisy at night with people coming back to their rooms from a night out.
The continental breakfast was as expected; cereal and Danish but did have yogurt which was a nice touch.
All in all it was a great rate for a one night stop for a family on a budget.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank librarygrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We came in late on a Tuesday night and got a decent room. The price was $130 for a queen bed.
check in was easy
breakfast was good
we will stay here again
Cons....town shuts down early
Eat at the Main St. Grill in Cambria! Ate at the pizza place down the street from the grill. Pizza was good.

Room Tip: Come early to get a good room. People were lined up to get a room. We got the last one and the price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank builderswife5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

PROS:
(1) Location (across the street from the ocean and minutes from downtown)
(2) Friendly and helpful clerk
(3) Pet friendly (but there’s a $25 per night pet fee)
(4) Tidy, utilitarian, and comfortable room
(5) Free breakfast and WiFi
(6) Reasonable price ($144 per night)

CONS:
(1) No bathtub (just a shower)
(2) No DVD player
(3) No hot food for breakfast (continental only)
(4) Thin walls / poor sound insulation

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Gaakin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The location of Castle Inn is absolutely gorgeous! We found the place to be clean, but outdated, old smelling and very noisy due to thin walls. If a decent Internet connection is a must, don't count on it working here. Given the four stars that others have rated this place, I expected a lot more.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kladry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
935 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn

Address: 6620 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1812
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: £83 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It was one of the very first motels built along the Cambria coast when cattle still roamed on Moonstone Beach Drive. The property boasts one of the best geographical locations on the beach. Right in front of the lodge are amazing tide pools to discover sealife, gorgeous lookouts, Leffingwell Landing Park and a wide-open beach upon which to stroll. The grounds at the Inn are broad and situated with comfortable sitting areas for enjoyable ocean viewing and people-watching. All of the guestrooms offer views of the ocean, but the upstairs rooms provide an excellent vantage point to watch the daily sunsets. The rooms at Castle Inn are simple but more than adequate to provide a wonderful stay at the beach. It is our intention to make the property one of the best values along Moonstone Beach and a great option for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Inn By The Sea Hotel Cambria
Castle Hotel Cambria
Castle Motel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing