We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Inn
Nearby Hotels
Sea Otter Inn(Cambria)(Great Value!)
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pelican Inn & Suites(Cambria)(Great Value!)
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
FogCatcher Inn(Cambria)(Great Value!)
US$209
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cambria Pines Lodge(Cambria)(Great Value!)
US$161
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceanpoint Ranch(Cambria)(Great Value!)
US$162
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites(Cambria)(Great Value!)
US$200
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Dolphin Inn(Cambria)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sand Pebbles Inn(Cambria)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (586)
Filter reviews
586 results
Traveller rating
228
267
69
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
267
69
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadirondack chairsfront lawnacross the streetmoonstone beachocean viewcontinental breakfasthard boiled eggsroom was cleanyogurttide poolson the rockswould stay here againnice poolsmall roomnice place to stayboard walkmoonstone bar and grill
Filter
Updating list...
451 - 456 of 586 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Our family of four stayed here for just one night, but thoroughly enjoyed it. The situation is great,and the room was spacious and nicely decorated. I did a lot of research before choosing this place (motel/hotel - who cares as long as it gives you what you want?) and was pleased with my choice. The only negatives were that the pool surround is sore on the feet, and the hot tub needs replacing - not exactly major concerns!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This is a good motel - but after reading all the amazing reviews we were expecting an amazing hotel suite overlooking the sea and were quite disappointed at first.

It has a great location across from the beach. You can see seals on the rocks and other sea life in the tide pools. When it is sunny it's wonderful to walk or run along the beach on a lovely wooden path. We also enjoyed it when it was foggy.

The "Sea View" room (photo below) you may be paying more for is from a motel room, on the 2nd floor with a walkway in front of it (if you leave your drapes open to see the view people will be walking by and seeing you.) I would not pay more for a "sea view" room - just go down to the sea.

Room are very clean and have very nice bathroom amenities. The continental breakfast was quite nice and you can take it up to your room.

Wifi is free - but reception was very poor in our sea view room.

There is a pool - not very useful in the fog.

Price seemed expensive for a motel ($150), but we didn't compare it with the other motels in the area. We booked in the last minute. You can either stay on this motel strip along Moonstone Beach, or up in town away from the sea. I would definitely choose by the sea and then drive up to the town shops and restaurants.

and yes - the pizza parlor in town saved us as it did many others who went out later to eat. It is pretty good pizza.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oran A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This not the best but not a bad place to stay in Cambria but is the least expensive. The room was clean but not fancy. There was a small refrigerator in the closet. Because of the mild temperatures in the area, there is no air conditioner but there is a ceiling fan. This was not an issue as it was somewhat chilly in June and I suspect that it never really gets hot there. It is right across the street from the ocean and you can sit on the front lawn in large chairs and watch the sunset. The pool is small but adequate. The spa is very small and the water was not hot enough. Every morning they give you a free continental breakfast which is good. It is enough to hold you until lunch. None of the rooms actually face the ocean so don't be fooled by the term ocean view. It is more ocean side view. Ask for a room on the second floor. It is a newly renovated property and is more of a motel than a hotel. People walk outside your room so expect some noise if kids are around. For this reason, you need to keep the blinds closed most of the day and cannot leave your windows open at night. Wi-fi is free which is nice. I would stay here again as it is good value for the money-$550 for 3 days. Other hotels in the area can cost you $100-$150 more a night. There is no onsite restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lance2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The Castle Inn is directly across the street from the boardwalk steps right down to the beach, you could not ask for a better location.
The room itself is just average, nothing fancy. But it was clean and was just a quick one night stop on our way up the coast to San Francisco so it was not that big of a deal. The only real down side was that the bathroom was really small and no countertop space at all. It was also a little noisy at night with people coming back to their rooms from a night out.
The continental breakfast was as expected; cereal and Danish but did have yogurt which was a nice touch.
All in all it was a great rate for a one night stop for a family on a budget.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the 2nd floor.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank librarygrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We came in late on a Tuesday night and got a decent room. The price was $130 for a queen bed.
check in was easy
breakfast was good
we will stay here again
Cons....town shuts down early
Eat at the Main St. Grill in Cambria! Ate at the pizza place down the street from the grill. Pizza was good.

Room Tip: Come early to get a good room. People were lined up to get a room. We got the last one and the prices were about the same.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank builderswife5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews