We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Great Location”
Review of Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Inn
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Great Location”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Castle Inn is really just an average hotel in an incredible spot. When you arrive at the hotel your immediate thought will be of the 60's hotel. The lobby is everything that you would think of, a bit dark and the front desk is great. I do really like the hotel, but I really want you to know what you are getting yourself into.
We got the room in the back under the stairs and I was a little bit scared, but the room was not bad. The rooms are clean and look fine. The bathroom is really small and the shower was really short. Were people just really short 50 years ago? We liked the breakfast in the morning and it was enough to keep us going until late lunch.
The location of the hotel is great and you can walk to the restaurant just down the street and the beach just across the street. The beach across the street is a great mix of beach and rocks. There are seals, crabs and squirrels all over the place and it is really fun for the whole family.

Again, good hotel and great location. Watch the video on hovidre.com if you want to see more.

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs in the back if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RussD7s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen F, General Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for your comments and constructive criticism. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you do return. The hotel is under new ownership so our guest comments are extremely important to us. Many improvements and upgrades are planned for the future. Please watch for specials and promotions available on our website.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    246
    63
    12
    7
See reviews for
155
272
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed at the Castle Inn just after Labor Day so the $109.00 rate seemed like a fair price for the lovely location (right accross the street from the ocean, boardwalk and sunset view), the clean and comfortable room, and decent continental breakfast that included excellent coffee. We had a lower level room which did not face the ocean, but it was convenient to have our car right outside the door. The bathroom was kind of small but very clean and adequate. For dinner we walked next door to the Moonstone Beach Bar and Grill and had a fantastic Grilled Yellow Tail dinner.
The Castle Inn was a perfect stop for us on our road trip up Pacific Coast Highway. We would gladly go back again and spend more time there.

Room Tip: The lower level room was convenient to our car and felt very safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen F, General Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us during the Labor Day Weekend. We appreciate your comments and constructive criticism. We are always looking for suggestions on what we can improve upon. Please stop in and say Hello next time you find yourself visiting beautiful Cambria!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, La
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

A nice, clean, safe place with the Pacific just across the street. Great board walks to use to see the sea otters and seals. It does not have A/C, but does not need it, just open the windows and enjoy

Room Tip: second floor is best view of the sunset over the Pacific
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boardroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen F, General Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for your staying with us. I was glad to see that you have stayed with us multiple times in the past and that we met your expectations. You were lucky to see the seals, they can be so hard to view because they are not always so abundant. We look forward to a future visit from you and hope that you enjoy the holiday season.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludhiana
Level Contributor
356 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I booked this Hotel after researching on TripAdvisor and i am glad i booked this hotel. It was my Birthday and the stay here was most enjoyable of my entire trip. check in was fairly quick and i was given room on the top floor with Sea View. It was a Big Room with a Big Bathroom and very modern. there is a small swimming pool if you dont like to go to the sea, nice lush garden right along the sea with relaxing chairs, so you can have a little sunbath.
Breakfast is available on ground level in a nice little room. it was minimalist yet good enough.
there is a small trail along the beach in front of the Hotel where you can have your morning/ evening walks. it is just so wonderful. spent just one night wished i had spent a couple more.
Will be Back Definitely.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharnjit_Sondh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen F, General Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us for your Birthday Celebration. I am glad that you enjoyed your accommodations and our friendly staff. I would have to agree that the walk along Moonstone Beach during the evening is one of the most spectacular things to do in the area. I appreciate your comments and hope that you stay with us again soon.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harleston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
384 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 602 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed here on our trip south along highway 1, the rooms were OK, the location is very good right on the sea front. Breakfast is a continental help yourself affair.
Think the reason I have marked it low was the price $170 A night, steep for this time of year, so not real Value for Money. If the price was lower then maybe a rating higher.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night on our trip up the coast. We got in later than we had planned and ask the staff for dinner suggestions. They gave us great info and our dinner was delicious. The hotel room was very clean and had everything we needed. The breakfast included some pastries, cereal, juice and hard boiled eggs. It was all we needed. The boardwalk on the beach is right across the street and was a great morning stroll before we got back on the road. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PolsonPics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen F, General Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay on Moonstone Beach and your walk along the boardwalk. This is such a gem that we have in our community and no matter what time of the year it is, you can always enjoy what the area has to offer.
We hope you return again soon!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brea, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I stayed here mid-week during a very busy time of year. As other viewers have mentioned the girl at the reception desk performed her duties and that was about it. I had requested a room with a view and got it. I was on the bottom floor which was fine, heard a little noise overhead the second night.
The best part of this hotel is the location right on Moonstone beach with the lovely walking path. Moonstone Bar and Grill quick walking distance away, sat in the late sun enjoying dinner and wine. The hotel also has the nice area to sit out front and enjoy the view or just read a book.
The breakfast was standard fare with excellent coffee the usual pasties, cereal, fruit, yogurt and hard boiled eggs.
Shower head was a little low as someone mentioned, but plenty of hot water and towels. Bed was very comfortable, and room was quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBTravelMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen F, General Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay on Moonstone Beach. I hope that you return again in the near future. The best time of year here, weather wise is October and November. As you can imagine our summer months can usually mean ‘’FOG”. There is the “Scarecrow Festival” in October, a collaborative community event that locals enjoy too.
Please come and explore Cambria during the Holiday Season. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.1 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.3 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
798 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#7 of 12 in Cambria
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
1,825 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn

Property: Castle Inn
Address: 6620 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1812
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It was one of the very first motels built along the Cambria coast when cattle still roamed on Moonstone Beach Drive. The property boasts one of the best geographical locations on the beach. Right in front of the lodge are amazing tide pools to discover sealife, gorgeous lookouts, Leffingwell Landing Park and a wide-open beach upon which to stroll. The grounds at the Inn are broad and situated with comfortable sitting areas for enjoyable ocean viewing and people-watching. All of the guestrooms offer views of the ocean, but the upstairs rooms provide an excellent vantage point to watch the daily sunsets. The rooms at Castle Inn are simple but more than adequate to provide a wonderful stay at the beach. It is our intention to make the property one of the best values along Moonstone Beach and a great option for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Inn By The Sea Hotel Cambria
Castle Hotel Cambria
Castle Motel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing