We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the J. Patrick House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
J. Patrick House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #4 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved the J. Patrick House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2005

Th J. Patrick House is a cute bed and breakfast Inn on a hill overlooking Cambria. The owners Ann and John are interesting people and fun to get to know. My wife and I stayed in the Claire room which is a beautiful, and has alot of privacy because its the only room in the main house. The breakfast each morning was yummy. The wine hour was nice cause we met lots of interesting people from all over the country. One of my favorite things was the killer chocolate cookies that were served each night to our room with milk.

Helpful?
2 Thank ngood0472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    63
    18
    11
    0
See reviews for
22
280
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Woods, MI
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2005

We recently spent one night at a wonderful B & B, J. Patrick House in Cambria CA. What a lovely experience. Starting with the thoughtfullness of the owners, Ann & John, to email us a reminder that we were staying on Valentine's Day and making us a dinner res. it was just very, very special. The hospitality and food is fantastic, rooms comfortable and ambiance in the main house lovely. We highly recommend this spot if you are in the area to see the Hearst Castle or tour wineries. Also, Cambria boasts lovely shops, galleries and good restaurants of all price ranges!

Helpful?
1 Thank 934Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2005

The hosts are extremely nice, and thoughtful details like wine welcome, cookies before bed, delicious breakfast and even outdoor amenities to clean your car windshield were exceptional. However, we picked it for the online photos which didn't do justice to the level of B&B/country kitsch. TONS of floral patterns, teddy bears, figurines with fairy wings and artwork of the Thomas Kincaid variety make this a dream for the traditional B&B crowd, but just not for us. We'll try the lodgier or beachier options next time.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2005

Our 42nd Wedding Anniversary found us at the J. Patrick House Bed and Breakfast. What a great choice! I ordered special flowers and a unique gift basket to surprise my wife - both were perfect. We spent four days and three nights and had the time of our lives. The staff, the accomodations, the service, and the food were exceptional. I whole heartedly recommend the J. Patrick for the perfect get-away and Cambria itself will not let you down. We went to Hearst Castle, saw the Elephant Seals, and browed the antique and art shops. There is no disappointment here. Go and have an unforgettable time.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontana, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2005

I'd never been to a B&B and was excited and "socially" nervous at the same time. John and Ann are so down to earth right from the time you walk in the door. Our fellow "inn-mates" were very nice and had wonderful stories to share. There was the group of 6 all celebrating anniversaries from 25 to 53 I think! A neat couple from Hawaii, newlyweds, and even from South America somewhere!!! We were there for our 10th and it was the best time.

From the no lights upon arrival to the ever so mentioned homemade cookies before bed....excellent! The breakfast - delicious (I've even copied some recipes at home for my family), wine and cheese hour...not stuffy or uncomfortable whatsoever....rooms are warm and comfortable and you can open a window and hear the fountain...it's very relaxing....no T.V....but we managed to find stuff to do!!!

Some things we like to do around town: take a walk down at Moonstone beach....see the elephant seals....enjoy the beauty of the hills....take a drive on Santa Rosa Creek rd....wine tasting...stop at the Herb/soap shop (by Robins) and take in the smells....get some rosemary olive bread from the French bakery....some lunch stuff at the market and drive up to Ragged Pt for lunch. Eat dinner at Old Stone Station - yum!

There is no way a person would be unsatisfied with this place. Everyone from the ladies who made sure our room was nice and clean to the owners, are just so "real" and make the experience something to remember! I'm telling you when you get back you'll be pleading with your friends/family to go there!!! Contact me if you have any questions/comments

Helpful?
3 Thank LeighShanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2005

We were there to celebrate our 20th anniversary. And J Patrick House far exceeded our expectations. The setting is so beautiful, the room was very romantic, the food was superb. The owner's are delightful as well as very helpful in helping to decide and plan places to go, and to make reservations. We have decided that this is going to be our "get away" location from now on.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2005

We arrived on a wet and windy day with four friends, to find the inn warm and inviting. The lights went out, but the fire glowed and the candles and lanterns came out. It seemed to enhance the ambience as we talked and ate hors d'oevres and drank wine.

We were there for our 25th wedding anniversary, and there was a 10-year couple and two sets of newlyweds, so this place is known for special occasions. And do they treat you special! The gourmet breakfasts were wonderful, and we slept soundly with the killer chocolate chip cookies in our tummies.

John and Ann are wonderful innkeepers and owners, and Brittney and Bentley the snauzers were welcoming and definitely a part of the crowd.

Helpful?
2 Thank swede1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.1 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,464 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.4 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
2.4 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
1.7 mi away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J. Patrick House Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J. Patrick House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: J. Patrick House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 2990 Burton Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-4002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — J. Patrick House Bed and Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your J. Patrick House Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
j. Patrick House b&b
j. Patrick House Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing