We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming way to visit the Hearst Castle area”
Review of Olallieberry Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Olallieberry Inn
Ranked #1 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2006

We had a charming time during our overnight stay at the Ollieberry Inn. The hosts were very personable and prepared a fabulous breakfaast!! It was apparent they truly enjoyed playing host and were sincerely interested in each of us.

The rooms were pleasant and authentic....definitely felt the age of the home....a bit pink for us!!!!!

Thank Carchase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 324 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Ontario, California
1
Reviewed 11 June 2006

This is a quaint bed and breakfast on the quiet end of Cambria amongst splendid grounds and nestled along the Santa Rosa Creek. Having never stayed in a bed and breakfast before, we were unsure what to expect, however within minutes of our arrival and being greeted with such a warm smile by Marilyn, we were right at home! We stayed in the Cambria suite which is set next to the main gathering room. The bathtub was wonderful - big enough for two and there was a fantastic fireplace in the room (both providing for a romantic experience.) We also enjoyed the comfortable bed and nice thick towels (not what you typically get in most hotels!) In the gathering room, we feasted on a selection of local wines and incredible appetizers before we set off for a fabulous dinner walking distance from the inn. In the morning, we were greeted by the smells of a home cooked breakfast with fresh breads, granola, fresh farm eggs, creme brulee french toast and fresh squeezed orange juice - our hats off to the chef, Larry! The staff went out of their way to make us comfortable - down to remembering our names and asking of our excursions! Marjorie even made our dinner reservations for us! The grounds were superb and gorgeous and the sounds of the frogs could be heard in our room. To top off our whole experience, we received unbelievable massages from Marilyn that were first rate! We highly recommend the Olallieberry Inn and have already made our reservations for next year when we will celebrate our 14th wedding anniversary! Our only complaint: They made our trip so incredibly wonderful, we didn't want to go home!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2006

The rooms in this well-maintained B&B are comfortable and well-furnished. What makes the Olallieberry a place you'll return to is the gracious and professional team of innkeepers, the lovely gardens, the scrumptious breakfasts, the conversations at the evening cocktail-and-appetizer hour, and the days that go by at whatever pace you choose.

The inn is located right on the edge of Cambria's main street of shops and fine restaurants, all within walking distance. Free wi-fi access is available for hopelessly addicted email monitors. The innkeepers know the area well, so reliable advice about restaurants, shopping, and sightseeing is available at breakfast every day.

Hearst Castle is a short drive up the coast and other coastal cities spread out in either direction. Air service in San Luis Obispo, 35 miles south, connects to LA and San Francisco. We were there in early June, 2006 and had a wonderful three-day stay.

Thank Warren509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2006

Kim & I recently spent a weekend at the fantastic Olallieberry. Aside from learning what an olalliebery is, we loved the great hospitality provided by Marilyn, Larry & Marjorie. The room ("Room at the Top") was excellent, the breakfasts and afternoon snacks were wonderful and the location-- walking distance from the shops and restaurants was great! Of course, we fell in love with Cambria- the weather was gorgeous (and we live in San Diego)- all the restaurants were top drawer- we had dinner at Hoppe's and Sea Chest. We could have soaked up the atmosphere for a few more days but had to get back to work...Humbug! Marilyn- great massage. Marjorie- great explanations and you DID know all of our names. And Larry- the secret weapon- what breakfasts- wow!
Thanks- we'll be back!....................................Kim & Jim Taylor, San Diego

Stayed: June 2006
Thank fireandrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San Jose, California
1
Reviewed 23 May 2006

We’ve stayed at The Olallieberry Inn several times and continue to find it full of warmth, charm, and friendly people. The atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming – just what we want when we need to get away from the hustle and bustle of city, work, and everyday obligations. We enter a Victorian world of quiet, peaceful relaxation. Innkeeper Marjorie treats her guests as if they are family, always striving to ensure an exceptional stay. Whether we venture out to one of the Hearst Castle tours, a visit to the Elephant Seals, or a walk on the beach, we return to a retreat that is like another world. From the light and airy décor of the Angles Nook’s to the stylish furnishings of the Creekside suite, the Olallieberry Inn has it all.

We wake up to a wonderfully decadent breakfast and share our adventures with other guests in the great room. When the weekend is over, city, work, and everyday obligations are still there – just a little easier to endure.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2006

There are many places to stay in the lovely town of Cambria California. I specifically chose the Olalliberry Inn because I wanted to enjoy a luxiorous LONG and relaxing gourmet breakfast with my spouse. Yes, the Inn is lovely and the room was wonderful and clean, but the one highlight I was looking forward to was very disappointing. Yes, it was indeed a gourmet breakfast, however I would have loved to savor every morsel instead of rushing through this 3 course fare in 20 minutes so that the host could clear the table for us to fill out a Bed and Breakfast survey! I've stayed in other B&B's where the host sits with you and you really get the opportunity to enjoy a lavish breakfast and talk with the other guests. Not this time. Every time we finished a course it was quickly removed from our table and the host practically stood over us and I could feel the tension and the rush to get the breakfast over and done with so that we would not leave before filling out the survey that would eventually help the Inn to win another award. Yes, the host was very clear in pointing out that the they had won several awards for their breakfast. I wish they would at least be more modest and attentive to the relaxation desired by their guests, especially to savor a wonderful feast, insteading of eating and running as we all do on daily basis...

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Romanchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2006

A great bed and a great breakfast, what more can you ask for in a B&B.

The innkeepers and staff here are very competent and the food is extravagant and very fresh and gourmet.

I always make sure a B&B takes the Breakfast part seriously and the Olallieberry is probably the best on the entire US west coast.

Beds are very comfortable, staff provides daily housekeeping and the backyard alongside the creek is about as relaxing as it gets for a glass of wine, a good book, or some friendly conversation.

The Cambria area has great restaurants, hiking, coast beaches and walks, it's truly a relaxing place.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.5 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,321 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
464 reviews
1.5 mi away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
872 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.2 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olallieberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olallieberry Inn

Address: 2476 Main St, Cambria, CA 93428-3406
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range: £138 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Olallieberry Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9-room bed & breakfast in historic 1873 home. Located in the East Village walking distance to unique shops and fine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Olallieberry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing