We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A diamond in the rough!”
Review of Squibb Houses

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Squibb Houses
Ranked #18 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 August 2008

We were looking for a place to spend the night after visiting Hearst Castle and, after stopping at a couple hotels to check for vacancies, we happend to stumbled upon Squibb House. We were very lucky! Swibb House is very well located, the room is cute and comfortable, we got complimentary wine tastings. The breakfast is included and served to the room. The price for all this was reasonnable for the area. It was one of the nicest room we has in our California trip!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arvida_mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for Squibb Houses
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2008

Wow, great service. The owner and his personnel provided fantastic hospitality, the amenities were perfect, and as a bonus, the town is just a great place to get away, relax and eat excellent food!

I highly recommend it. I can't wait to rent the house again!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lepe100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2008

My family just spent two wonderful nights at the Squibb House. We could not have been happier with the rooms, staff and overall visit. We were there for my daughter's wedding at Robin's and it was the perfect place to stay, the rooms were charming and the house and gardens are beautiful which added so much to the wedding photographs. I highly recommend the Squibb House, (and if you are thinking of a wedding at Robin's it is a lovely way to add to your experience).

Stayed: June 2008
Thank FuntripperSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2008

I stayed in The Squibb House the last weekend in June of 2008 and I had such an incredible time. I came to this site to write a review because I just had to tell everyone else how great it was. I am VERY surprized to read some of the reviews and I have to seriously think that they must have stayed at a different Squibb House. The house and staff were excellent. The grounds were so beautiful. The bed was amazingly comfortable. I thought about asking the management about buying the bed, sheets, comforter and quilt I slept so great. Included in your stay is the free wine tasting accross the street which I highly recommend. The house is located in the heart of Cambria. The stores, restaurants and markets are extremely close. The breakfast was fabulous as well!!! There was so much of it that I asked them to cut it in half the second morning. I believe that they get the pastries from the Bakery store on the corner. For our drive home I purchased some more for us to enjoy. My overall rating is beyond excellent. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank strawberry1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2008

The house and grounds are beautiful, but manager promised things owner refused to follow through with. I was lied to every step of the way, and then they charged more to my credit card two weeks after my departure. On top of that, the bed was so uncomfortable, we did not get any sleep and kep rolling into each other. I would never even recommend my enemies stay there. My entire experience was completely unprofessional, and I work in the hospitality industry.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank serendipite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2007

This really is a nice, quiet place in the old East village at Cambria. The rooms are comfortable but there is no radio or TV only piped music that can be turned on or off in each room and the small communal lounge. We were the only guests on our first night and were able to look at all of the rooms. None of the staff or the owner live on site. We stayed in the Garden Room that has a private porch to the side of the house.
The only serious criticism we have from our two-night stay was of the breakfast. It was to be placed outside our door at 8am, we think it was there way before that because the water for tea was only lukewarm and the coffee was not much better. There were no facilities in the room for us to heat our own drinks and the kitchen was locked. There was a small basket of miniature croissants and cakes and a thimbleful of jam and another containing some sort of spread; could have been cream cheese. For the price of the room this was really not good enough and we did make a verbal complaint to one of the staff but it had no effect while we were there.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David Price
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2007

We spent only one night at the Squibb House. It was a Tuesday night and the facility was not heavily booked. There was only one other couple there. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The room was average for a B&B. For the price we paid for a mid week stay, we should have received a significantly better breakfast. Breakfast is delivered to your door in a basket. For each person, our breakfast consisted of a small glass of orange juice, a cup of coffee, a tea cup of cold cereal, a small stale croisant, 1/2 slice of blueberry bread, 1/2 cube of butter, a very small amount of marmelade, and a small peice of some type of danish pastry, also stale.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prsd54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,208 reviews
2.5 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
424 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
1.9 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,033 reviews
1.9 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squibb Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squibb Houses

Address: 4063 Burton Dr, Cambria, CA 93428
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range: £144 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Squibb Houses are two bed and breakfast houses on the same property in East Village, Cambria. Walk out your door to galleries, shops, cafes, and the best restaurants in our quaint town. Free wifi and private parking is available on site. The Black Barn, built in 2016, features four spacious rooms, each with a fireplace, a private bathroom, a seating area, and balcony or patio. Common areas include a living room with beautiful windows, tall ceiling, a dining room, and a front patio. The Squibb House, a Victorian built in 1890, features five rooms. The rooms include a private bathroom, fireplace, and a seating area. Common areas include a living room. Breakfast is served family style in the Black Barn dining room. Guests will find a gift shop located next door with handmade furniture. Hearst Castle is 8.1 miles from the property. Highway 1 to Big Sur, Carmel and Monterey is 1 mile from the property. The Wine country in Paso Robles is 25 miles and Morro Bay is 20 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Squibb Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing